We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good!”

Les deux grenouilles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Quite happily surprised to discover an excellent Japanese restaurant here in the suburbs of Montpellier. The focus is small plates featuring Japanese cuisine that is NOT sushi, and I am grateful for that. The gyoza, the miso, the edamame, the tofu - all standouts.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank iGoEverywhere52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2016

Nice menu with no sushis & makis - it's all about other Japanese plates and flavors. All choices come in small portions, like tapas, to have a bite here and there and taste as many different things as possible.
We had about 6 different plates each, and we're pretty full!
Many vegetarian options, greatly appreciated.
The only thing is that it's a little pricy. I had ordered a salad and asked that they do not include the crab, which was likely the most expensive thing in it and the price stayed the same which I found somewhat inconsiderate.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

A pleasant surprise to find some very authentic Japanese flavours in a village street - the miso soup took us straight back to our stay in Japan. Portion sizes good for tasting and sharing a variety of taste and texture. Great to find some craft beers on the menu too, although at double price, and a fine dark beer I tried. Enthusiastic service and a good buzz. An unexpected discovery.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank KatewithPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely Saturday evening with our 3 children, who all adored the food. We were able share the tapas-style Japanese 'assietes' which were simply delicious, if a little pricey. The staff were amazing, great with the kids, and patient with our poor French. The decor was impressive - minimalist, but ambient. Would recommend very highly and would hope to return soon.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SarahDublin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The menu is limited but enough to make everyone happy.

We tried 9 dishes and they were sublime. Even the kids (5 and 7) loved it. If you are in this lost corner of the south, this certainly worth a detour.

There is a extended choice of high class saké.

The price is very reasonable for a Japnese restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Genkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les deux grenouilles also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Castelnau-le-Lez, Montpellier
 
Castelnau-le-Lez, Montpellier
Montpellier, Herault
 
Castelnau-le-Lez, Montpellier
 

Been to Les deux grenouilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing