We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and comfortable place to stay”
Review of Castle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnau-le-Lez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Cottage
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“welcoming and comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Castle Cottage for the first two nights of a two and a half week stay in France and had a lovely time. This was an ideal place to arrive at. We loved the house (which Dominique, the owner, had built) and the gardens, situated in a quiet area outside the centre of Montpellier. Dominique is a wonderful host and was very helpful in directing us to places to eat, and things to see, her hand drawn maps were very helpful in guiding us to the tram station and other local amenities. My French is not the best so it enormously reassuring that Dominique spoke very good English.
The accommodation is a large family home and this is reflected in the decor and the furnishing; it is homely and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the room had a balcony overlooking the garden which provided a good vantage point to sit with a bottle of red and watch the sun set.
Breakfast was on the patio; juice, bread cheese, home made preserves plentiful excellent coffee and cake! Lovely

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcmywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We returned again to Castle Cottage this year, to find it delightfully unchanged. Dominique, makes you feel at home straight away. The real delight of this bed and breakfast is the wonderful secluded garden, populated by tortoises, with a swimming pool hidden away amonget the trees.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and clean. We had a lovely large bathroom with a spacious shower and separate lavatory. Breakfast's are served on the terrace and include cakes and baguettes, with a selection of jams some made from fruit from the garden. If you are looking for a secluded restful place to stay on Montpellier's doorstep then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 146Simpsons146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We've just spent a week at Castle Cottage and found it a great place to stay. We were given a warm welcome by Dominique the owner. It's clean and full of character - not in the negative sense. Our bedroom opened on to a terrace over-looking the garden where we were able to have breakfast when the weather was fine. There's a lovely swimming pool at the bottom of the garden.
We went to the Montpellier by train from Bristol, UK and didn't hire a car. From Castle Cottage it is easy to get into the centre of Montpellier by tram (pleasant 12 minute walk to tram stop). We were also able to get round the area (Nimes by train, Aigues-Mortes by bus, the beaches by bike) with ease and cheaply.
I've read some of the other reviews and would like to comment on some of the negative impressions: there is a dog, but he's friendly and intelligent (for a dog) and we had no problem with hairs. As mentioned we found the place very clean. There are also tortoises, but these add character. They are in the garden and can't climb the stairs onto the terrace. The parking is not inside the gates but it is off the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The house is nice. The cleanliness is a serious concerne. Everything is covered with dog fur or the garden is weed around. The owner is a pain in the ... as she is always around. No chance to privacy is zero. The toilet smells. I am sure there are far better value hotels or stays for 100 euro. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zicdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnau-le-Lez
1.6 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Clos de l'Aube Rouge
Le Clos de l'Aube Rouge
#2 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Appart'City Confort Montpellier Millenaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Montpellier Centre le Millenaire
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage

Property: Castle Cottage
Address: 289 Chemin de la Rocheuse, 34170 Castelnau-le-Lez, Montpellier, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Castelnau-le-Lez
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Castelnau-le-Lez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing