We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super country hotel in Burgundy, France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Messageries
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

On our trip up up from Lyon to Dijon we got to Arbois and chanced upon the Hotel des Messageries. The hotel is ideally situated (due to the one way streets) slap bang in the centre of town, one can walk everywhere from there, has great character with an outside area to watch the world go by (with a cold 1664) and diagonally across the road is a restaurant serving top-class coq au vin. Fantastic young couple managing the place (left Paris for the countryside) - easy style and great humour. Rooms were clean, and even though on road-front we were not bothered by noise and there is a 1st floor lounge area. Breakfast was good. Contact the hotel at hotel.lesmessageries@wanaddo.fr or www.hoteldesmessageries.com

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We 3 senior Canadian could not have more pleased with our one night stay at Hotel des Messageries. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the parlor on the first floor close to our bedroom. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Their suggestion for a nearby restaurant was an excellent choice which we thoroughly enjoyed. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mochadick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel is under new management - a young couple with verve, humour and style. They were also friendly and dealt well with our special requests and so on. The hotel has great character and atmosphere (check out the guest lounge on the first floor, as well as the cafe/bar).

The location is perfect for quick walk to a range of restaurants, a supermarket, chocolate-shop, local products shop (including a guy whose wife makes the most unusual range of jam I've ever seen, including poppy jam). There are also walks direct from the town into the countryside.

We found the room with shared bathroom great value at 39 Euros for the pair of us. Breakfast was our only disappointment, but at 11 Euros it's not bad value and perhaps we were just expecting more because of the variety of food there in the area (some more wholefood cereals for example would have been good).

We pared on the street with no problems.

Would definitely return.

One final point. We booked on booking.com but the walk-in price was the same (39 Euros for the two of us in a twin room), so maybe well worth phoning the hotel to make the booking and to chat to the owners who I'm sure will do anything they can to meet your needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gleamingspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

hotel rooms had everything we could want -took 2 rooms - clean and comfortable.hotel manager assisted with great re--staurant and touring advice. Central location means wine sampling can be done without driving. .... overall hotel makes the Jura Arbois experience easy to enjoy -- thanks to them

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The previous reviewer has comprehensively captured both the charm and challenges of the Messageries. It has plenty of character, a nice breakfast and the secure parking is useful (I was surprised to hear the receptionist imply it would be too risky to leave my convertible car on the street but decided to play safe).

The only snag is the road noise late at night and again early in the morning when the deliveries start.

NB I arrived in Arbois on a Wednesday night and found most restaurants closed or full. Eat early if you want a meal in the town.
NB2 Try the local wine. It's unique!

Room Tip: Try to get away from the road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We recently stayed here while exploring the Region.Arbois is a nice and quiet town and Les Messageries is almost in the middle of it. A statue of Louis Pasteur is across the street. As mentioned before, the hotel shows its age(in the garage there is a sign that says since 1865!!)Reception was pleasant and helpful.The hotel has a nice bar, which however closes rather early in the evening. One is then "condemned" to sit on the terrace without service. The area around the terrace could use a "weedwacker".The locked parking garage just down the street for € 6 a day is a good proposition.Rooms on the street side can be a bit noisy.Hotel blends well into Region, decent quality/price relationship.Ooops, before I forget, the mattresses could use an update!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biancofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel des Messageries on a road trip in a group of bikers. The hotel is located in the centre of Arbois, close to the some very good local restaurants. The room I had was very nice and clean and also very much affordable. The breakfast buffet is good and a spacious, locked parking garage is available about 100 metres away, for parking motorcycles and cars. The service is excellent. One thing net everybody would expect is that the hotel does not accept any cash payment, only credit cards, which should not be a problem for most of us. On the other hand there is an ATM right across the street. This will definitely not be my last stay in the region and in the Hotel des Messageries.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mietzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbois
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Cepages
Hotel Des Cepages
#2 of 3 in Arbois
106 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
340 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel des Deux Forts
Hotel des Deux Forts
#1 of 3 in Salins-les-Bains
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel la Fontaine
Hotel la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Mantry
197 reviews
9.9 mi away
Domaine du Revermont
Domaine du Revermont
#1 of 1 in Passenans
247 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#1 of 5 in Lons-le-Saunier
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Messageries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Messageries

Address: 2 rue de Courcelles, 39601 Arbois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Arbois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Price Range: $103 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Messageries 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel des Messageries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing