We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend you to avoid this hotel and restaurant”
Review of Maison Jeunet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Jeunet
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A very average overpriced meal. We had the two recommended dishes, lobster and chicken with vin jaune. Very average.The wine waiter was fat, sweaty and not good on recommending wine. The room was OK.
Worse, my expensive car got damaged during the stay. The hotel offer secure parking. We gave the keys in good faith to the reception. The next morning the car was parked in the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank solstua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked a room in the "Le Prieuré Notre Dame", which is located 150 meters from the main hotel building. This is a magical place, a spacious room, a little kitchenette, spacious bathroom and shower and a lovely garden. The staff was very kind and patient.
Arbois itself is a little place, don't expect a lively place, however I liked it and what made our stay in arbois special was staying at this specific place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almoTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We were told our room looked over an attractive garden. In fact it was a scrubby bit of grass facing a dismal dirty wall of a derelict house.
The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were foam rubber.
The room had a separate toilet - but with NO hand wash basin!!!
There was a shower - but with no shower curtain (= flooded floor)!
There was a TV in the room - but the choice of channels was limited to French national progrmammes (despite the proximity of the Swiss border)!
All night long there was a disturbing sound of a motor (probably heating or air conditioning). Predictably, the sound of neighbours showers came through loud and clear!
When we were shown our room we were told we should only use the lift for carrying luggage. Not surprisingly in retrospect, there was no offer to help us to take our luggage to our room.
Disappointed by our room, we decided to look elsewhere to eat. I asked about a key to get back in when the door would be shut. Not possible!! I was told we had to be back by 11:30 (no night porter).
In the morning we took the breakfast - a few sad bits of bread and some coffee and a yogourt and a tiny piece of cheese - all for the princely sum of €16:50! The jam was ok - which is about the only positive thing to be said about the hotel.
Very much overpriced and giving French hotels a bad reputation they usually don't deserve.
No - definitely not to be recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 188048Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We booked a room in the "Le Prieuré Notre Dame", which is a 5-min walk from the main hotel. They are both close to the place de la Liberté (centre of town) and the tourist office, very central. The room was very spacious and clean, the bed was nice and firm (though a bit small), and they had put the TV in the cupboard, which we liked (we never watch TV and hate walking into hotel rooms where the TV is at the central feature of the room!). They charged 16 euros for a baby bed (very sturdy) and 12 euros for our dog. Parking costs 12 euros, which we didn’t take (and opted to park by the town church, right by the hotel). The three things we didn’t like were (a) the only heater in this big room was by the window, so when we shut the curtains at night, the room became very cold, so we had to leave the bathroom door open, so we could get some heat from the bathroom heater (b) the walls are paper-thin, I woke up from the sound of a neighbour’s nose-blowing (c) the curtain didn’t close properly.

The restaurant is a gem. Really expensive but the service is good, food inventive & of course very tasty. They even arranged for a baby-sitter for our toddler, which was very much needed as the three-course dinner (with lots of little things to eat in between the courses!) took nearly 4 hours! The only thing I didn’t like was the old-fashioned way of giving me the menu without the prices, which is silly because it was me not my husband who was paying that night…

It was a really special treat for us. I wouldn’t say it’s good value for money, it is expensive, esp. considering it’s in a small town, but the service was good, room nice & clean, and food impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We often drive through France on our way to & from the UK and are always on the lookout for nice hotels, and especially hotel/ restaurants to break our journey in. Jean Paul Jeunet is a small hotel in the centre of Arbois, a small town near Dole, in the Jura mountains. The hotel is very pleasant, with nice, if slightly small, rooms. The bathrooms are best described as French provincial (baths with extendable showers) but perfectly clean & adequate. The highlight of our stay was the 2 Michelin star restaurant. Food is absolutely exquisite, as one would expect from such a highly rated establishment, wine list incredible and service faultless. Next morning's breakfast was also wonderful with home baked pastries, and all the other bits & pieces typical of a real French breakfast. All in all we loved our stay at Jean Paul Jeunet . My only criticism is the price: while the hotel is fairly priced (110euros + breakfast), the meal was very expensive making our one night stay cost as much as an expensive weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 10, grande, mais sur le passage de toutes les autres chambres de l'étage, plancher craqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbois
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Messageries
0.7 mi away
Hotel Des Cepages
Hotel Des Cepages
#2 of 3 in Arbois
108 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel la Fontaine
Hotel la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Mantry
201 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel des Deux Forts
Hotel des Deux Forts
#1 of 3 in Salins-les-Bains
90 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maison Zugno
Maison Zugno
#1 of 1 in Barretaine
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Jeunet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Jeunet

Address: 9 rue de l Hotel de Ville, 39600 Arbois, France (Formerly Hotel Restaurant Jean Paul Jeunet)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Arbois
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arbois
Price Range: $124 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Jeunet 3*
Number of rooms: 283

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing