We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marilyn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de la Villaine
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had the most scrumptious 3 nights at the Chateau with our wonderful hosts, Joke and Adrian. Joke is an excellent cook who prepares evening meals for you if you request. The best food we have tasted in France! Thank you Joke. Adrian is a fount of knowledge when it comes to the Loire Valley region. He was always happy to suggest excursions for the day and then would patiently explain to two very non-speaking french Australians, how to navigate to the various tourist attractions and end up back at the Chateau at the end of the day! The Chateau is full of ambience and beautifully presented. Bedrooms are very spacious and each room has its own character with modern ensuites. One of the highlights of our stay was meeting other travellers over breakfast or dinner and making new friends while enjoying the wonderful wines sourced by Adrian, from the region, that are included in the evening meal package. We would highly recommend this accommodation to any future travellers.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank mazzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was the perfect B&B for our family of 4. The chateau and grounds are beautiful, without being too formal or stuffy. After our arrival the kids wandered the gardens while we sipped wine on the terrace. Our room was huge, with comfortable beds, fresh picked lilacs in the windows and a great shower. (The chateau has a special water filter.) The home made jams for breakfast were delightful. The highlight for us of course was the meal prepared by Joke. What an experience to dine with your hosts and fellow travelers from other parts of the world and share amazing food and wine. We relied completely on Adriaan's advice for our sightseeing. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with 2 twins and a queen. Plenty of room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Adriaan and Joke were wonderful and helpful hosts, giving special pointers on the area. Evening dinner was great, complemented by Adriaan's expert choice of wines for each course. Breakfast came with very personalised and friendly service unlike the usual buffet at some B&Bs. Grounds are a treat to walk around. Elegant and tasteful decor with large and comfortable rooms and personal touches throughout. You welcomed into a home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandP225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Beautiful rooms, great food and genuinely kind hosts. Our girls particularly enjoyed playing with the dogs. This is definitely a place with atmosphere you are unlikely to forget. It is recommendable for families as well as couples.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chateau de la Villaine is a lovely small chateau near Amboise in the Loire Valley! When we arrived, Adrian was working in the yard and walked up to our car to welcome us....like we were friends there for a visit! We immediately warmed to his friendly demeanor and took in our home for the next 2 nights.

We met Joke (his wife) when we went inside. Adrian helped with our bags..we were in an upstairs rooms with a huge terrace balcony overlooking the beautiful acres surrounding his home. We were offered a beverage of choice by Joke so we each had a glass of wine in their little sitting area outside under a tree. A welcome relaxation after our drive and touring of the day enroute to this bed and breakfast.

Our room was quite lovely and as I mentioned we were lucky to have reserved this room with the terrace, which I loved. They did turn down service, which was a surprise. The bathroom, complete with bathtub, was lovely and looked as if it had been renovated.

Adrian and Joke offer dinner (which is extra) on certain nights of the week. We enjoyed a Saturday night dinner with them which was really great. Joke did all the cooking and we dined with the other in-house guests who also opted to dine. Pleasant conversation, laughs, good wine and great food....just delightful. I recommend reserving at least one night to dine in with the owners and their guests.

Breakfast was included and place settings arranged and ready for us when we came down each morning. Adrian and Joke became like friends, discussing all sorts of things with my husband and I, and we really enjoyed their company.

From this location, we were able to explore Amboise Chenonceau, Chambord, Blois, and other chateaus and towns in the area. We spent a total of 4 days in the Loire Valley and opted to spend 2 west of Tours and 2 east of Tours, to save travel time.

This chateau is lovely and offers value compared to others in the Loire Valley. The owners certainly add to the charm!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Joke and Adrien are wonderful hosts, the Chateau is charming and beautiful, the meals were outstanding, and the whole experience was such a treat. We stayed for 2 nights and were lucky enough to have Joke's amazing dinner both nights (one of them on Thanksgiving), and this is really my fondest memory of our entire trip.

I can't thank Adrien enough for his patience with us before our stay through email communication, and in providing assistance once we arrived. Not having to worry about planning the details of each day in the Loire Valley was such a luxury! It really was like staying with good friends and we are thankful that we were able to be a part of this special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau in October as part of our 6 week travel throughout France, Italy and Spain for our 2 year anniversary.

Although a little difficult to find (it does not come up on the GPS!), once we found the chateau, we were so thoroughly impressed and felt like home.

Adrian was very welcoming and hospitable as was his wife Joke. Our room was spacious and clean with a large balcony. Adrian was very helpful recommending a restaurant in the nearby village of Cormery for dinner which was AMAZING.

Adrian also helped planned a 2 day "highlights" itinerary of the region which was perfect.

On our second night, Joke invited all the guests to dinner in the lovely dining room where she cooked a three course dinner for us. She is a wonderful cook and explained all the dishes before we ate. After travelling for so many weeks, it was lovely to have a wholesome home cooked meal. What made it more special was that we shared the evening with the other guests who were all lovely.

We want to thank Adrian and Joke for their hospitality and for making our stay in the Loire Valley special and we can't wait to return!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NayiriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Villaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Villaine

Address: La Villaine, 37320 Esvres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Esvres
Price Range: $124 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Chateau de la Villaine (4 rooms) is located in the Loire Valley within half an hour drive from Chenonceau, Amboise, Tours, Villandry, Azay le Rideau, Langeais and Loches. Within one hour you can reach Chambord, Cheverny, Blois, Chaumont, Ussay, Saumur, Fontevrau and Chinon. You won't find a more central location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Villaine Hotel Esvres
Chateau De La Villaine Loire Valley, France - Esvres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing