We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esvres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de la Villaine
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at the chateau. Joke and Adriaan really are lovely hosts and clearly love what they do. We shall be recommending their chateau to all our friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again for all of your advice on what to do in the region and the little extras like helping with the printing of our boarding passes gggrrrr! Frustrating! Ha!
We enjoyed sharing a drink with you at the end of our stay and meeting your lovely sister.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rechelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
143
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We travelled throughout France for 4 weeks, and stayed in many chateau offering optional breakfast, this was one of the nicest, the people were friendly, the facilities were very nice, the breakfast was good and very inexpensive compared to others - and it was beautifully located.
It was nice to open your big windows and look out over the lawns of the chateau, pop down for breakfast and start your day with a quick walk around the lawns. It was also nice to come back to the chateau and sit under the trees in the garden and have a drink or just read your book and enjoy the ambience. We were also there for a dinner, with a number of other guests, it was a very enjoyable evening, very good dining, book in advance if you want to enjoy this. The only possible would be that there is a bit of maintenance on the grounds and terraces that would be a bonus, but a highly recommended stay!

Room Tip: This is a beautiful location for the Loire, and they were very helpful with what to see depending up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our first time visiting France by car and it was all a bit of an experiment. The Chunnel, the French motorways and staying in a B&B, all new to us. We had chosen La Villaine mainly because of the reviews posted below and I can wholeheartedly say all the lovely positives about Adrian and Joke and the chateau are all true. The hosts are wonderful. Warm, friendly and very helpful. The house itself is beautiful and the rooms excellent. The house is situated on the outskirts of the village of Esvres which is lovely and very accessible to loads of beautiful Chateau's, and little markets. The main town of Tours is half an hour's drive away and also well worth a visit. We paid for dinner on two nights and 35 euros for a home cooked four course meal was excellent value. In addition there was a 5 euro charge for wine. This included wine before dinner in the salon, where you met the other guests, and then a different wine for each course which complimented what we were eating. Adrian made sure that our glasses were always topped up! All in all a very good place to stay and thoroughly recommend. Now we know how the whole driving through France system works, we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We booked quite late and therefore the only room available was the big family room in the attic. Ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having always wanted to actually stay the night in a castle/chateau, this did not disappoint. Our room was massive with a lovely bathroom, a very large antique double bed, massive bookshelf befitting of a library and opened out onto a courtyard overlooking the grounds. So the room and the scenery were spot on. Upon arrival Adrian brought us a cup of tea and asked us if we would like any suggestions as to where to visit. We were then given tailored suggestions as to which places to see over the next three days. Adrian's advice was right on the money. Local markets a must if you are a foodie!
Joke cooks meals a few times a week and these are not to be missed. Like all good cooks, Joke will not share the entirety of her ingredients/recipes, but I had a lot of fun trying to guess. There was a nice warm family feel about staying here and I even enjoyed a good little banter with Joke. In fact I believe I am owed an apology as I have now indeed written this review!! :-)
Chris & Emma

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We came here five years ago on our honeymoon and loved it so much that we returned five years later for our anniversary. The Chateau is lovely and the grounds are beautiful but the best thing is the kindness and welcome of Adrian and Joke. They gladly share their knowledge of the area to enhance the time spent there and made us feel like welcome friends rather than just guests. We had a wonderful dinner cooked by Joke with well chosen wines and great conversation. This is a very special place, which we think of with fondness and affection.

Claire and Doug Cooper

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hosts of the chateau are the most wonderful and welcoming. I was traveling alone and I was so happy to find this place and spend two nights exploring the Loire Valley. I received excellent recommendations about renting a bicycle and then further useful information about which chateaux to ride to. The room and bathroom was spacious and comfortable and I slept quite well. The floors do tend to creak a bit, but that contributed to the homey feeling and most travelers use their ear plugs as needed. Dinner was available the night I checked in and it was most memorable. A beautiful terrine, delicious duck with vegetables along with wine and dessert. I really felt like family. The only difficulty I had was finding the chateau because the address was not in my GPS system. Luckily I had printed a map with an extreme close up and that helped my get across the small and most picturesque river, proceed up the hill and find the little driveway. This location was very convenient to Villandry (the best gardens!), Azay le Rideau, Langais, and d'Usse. It is about 30 minutes from Chenonceau.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegaspali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four lovely days at this wonderful chateau in mid June. The chateau is charming, set in beautiful grounds. Our room the Comtesse, was large, with a large bathroom, and our own patio that looked over the grounds. I can't say enough about Adrian and Joke, they are fantastic, and made our trip! Adrian did everything from programing our GPS so we could find our way "home," to giving us exellent advice such as: There's a market tomorrow in Loches I think you would like, and then you can see Montressor, before you go to Chenenceau, etc. It was great to get this advice, we would never have known about the market, or necessarily have picked Montressor which we loved. Adrian did this everyday suggesting places, or routes to take, even providing us with an umbrella!
We stayed for dinner every night that they served it. Joke is a fabulous cook, I don't know how she does it all. Every night she serves a four course dinner, that is completely delicious! Dinner begins with an aperitif in the living room, and proceeds to the dinning room. Everyone sits at one large table, and there was lively conversation, with stories from Adrian and Joke about buying and renovating the chateau, where everyone went that day, etc. Dinner would last till about 11:00 each evening. Then, in the morning, Joke serves breakfast, including preserves that she makes. They are both warm, lovely people that totally care for their guests. We just loved our stay there, and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esvres
4.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
4.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
466 reviews
13.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
429 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
292 reviews
13.5 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Villaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Villaine

Property: Chateau de la Villaine
Address: La Villaine, 37320 Esvres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Esvres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Esvres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Chateau de la Villaine (4 rooms) is located in the Loire Valley within half an hour drive from Chenonceau, Amboise, Tours, Villandry, Azay le Rideau, Langeais and Loches. Within one hour you can reach Chambord, Cheverny, Blois, Chaumont, Ussay, Saumur, Fontevrau and Chinon. You won't find a more central location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Villaine Hotel Esvres
Chateau De La Villaine Loire Valley, France - Esvres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing