We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary there. We were upgraded to a spectacular room (Romanée Conti), we felt like kings. The chateau is very well maintained and staff was very nice and breakfast is varied. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papaulaborgne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am sure others have and will comment on the chateau's geounds and classy rooms, so I'll add other notes.

The small town of Chombolle-Misigny is absolutely charming. Within 100 meters of the Chateau there are two wine houses and a gormet resturant. Also walking distance to Martin-Denise.

The wines and the expertise on these wines available makes wine tasting an educationl experience.

The staff, however, makes this place way above average. From handeling dinner reservations to helping us sett up a picnic on the terrace, they did everything they could to make us feel special.

We also had the opportunity to watch the staff deal with a difficult customer (upset that all good resturants in the area only served French food) and the more difficult the customer became, the harder they tried to help.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As part of a cycling tour of Burgundy, had the opportunity to stay for two nights in this grand home/chateau in Chambolle-Musigny. Unlike a traditional hotel, this feels more like you are guest at someone's home. The rooms are grand and furnished in classic french style. The large marble bathrooms are wonderful and appear to be recently renovated. There was a lovely salon on the second floor (premier etage) which one night my fellow travelers and I shared bottles of wine and conversation. Breakfast is communal around a large dining room table. I understand the hotel is Swiss owned and the hospitality is reserved but attentive when needed. Olivier was especially welcoming and helpful. This is a great stop on a tour of Burgundy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The property and the rooms are beautiful and well-maintained. The breakfast is varied and plentiful. The location is terrific, right in the heart of the Cote de Nuits. Take a stroll through the vineyards of Chambolle-Musigny and beyond. Lots of picture-taking opportunities in the area. If there's one downside to this Chateau, it's the service, which doesn't quite live up to the price you pay for the rooms.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice. You can view them on the Chateau's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Comfort and excellent service in an historically interesting setting. Not lavish but almost everything that you need, and a great willingness to provide it. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable, well equiped and quiet. The breakfast is really excellent, by French standards. for those who do not like the authentic setting of eating at one big table, breakfast can be served in your room.
The wine tasting was interesting and well done. Tasting of a number of different wines from the local area of the same vintage was a much more enlightening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HP_London_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

PROS:
- awesome rooms in a nice chateau
- nice wine tasting with very interesting explanation
- good feeling about the place, almost like a family house atmosphere
CONS:
- minimalist service, like a luxury B&B instead of hotel (it's nice but you just need to know what to expect)
- wines are not made at the chateau so the visit of the cellar is pretty short
WOULD I GO BACK ?
Oh yes!

Here is why:
I have to say, I was a bit disappointed with the service at the beginning for a 4 star hotel. Nobody was there to help you carry your luggage to your room, there is no receptionist after 11pm (but you can access with a code anytime), there is no restaurant and advise about what to visit in the neighborhood was good but scarce.
But then we went to our room and that made up for everything. The room as well as the inside of the chateau are just superb, and that's where the 4 stars are! We stayed in a suite and the room is simply one of the best I've ever stayed. Large marble bathroom with separate toilets, huge bedroom nicely decorated.
As for the breakfast, you choose to either have it in your room, or around a large table set in the chateau's dining room so you share it with the other guests in the hotel. The food is on the table when you arrive and a waitress comes after you ring the bell and brings you a coffee or anything else. We were lucky to have a friendly couple having breakfast at the same time so we had a good moment chatting with them.

And that's when I got it!

This place is not a traditional hotel, it is like a luxury B&B where the service is minimalist but never far if you need more, where rooms are awesome and surroundings are very quiet.

Before dinner you can also visit the wine cellar and taste the beautiful wines that the Ziltener family makes. Unfortunately the wines are not made there so you won't see much of the cellar but you can have a nice tasting with good explanations.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank fr_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was supposed to be the top-spot of our driving tour of Burgundy – a luxury hotel in an 18th Century chateau on the route des grands crus in the world with wine tasting from the Ziltener’s own cellars included in the price. Sadly we left feeling that we had been duped into paying an excessively high price for very ordinary serviced and facilities. For It started well enough. A charming receptionist greeted our car and then showed us round the beautifully appointed, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms.
We had booked a junior suite a large bedroom with a four poster for us and a living room with bed-settee for our 18 year old son. Each had a HD tv. One could not fault the spacious marble bathroom. Each of the two rooms had its own HD tv and there was a Nespresso machine for our use. My wife, not a coffee drinker, asked if there were tea facilities in the room and was told that she could order tea from room service (at a hefty price). Why could they not just provide a kettle and tea-bags?
This was the first of the disappointments. Sadly, there were many more to come. It was a lovely day and I asked whether there was a garden where we could sit and read. The receptionist opened a door leading off the bedroom and showed us a gravel terrace at the back of the hotel with a lounger and tables and chairs. Unfortunately, this terrace was also used to serve food and for day-time visitors and hotel guests. It abutted the driveway leading from the hotel entrance to the car park, so was hardly very peaceful. This then was a “luxury hotel” which in high summer provided no garden and no quiet, private outside area for its guests. Then again, the receptionist had told that there was Wi-Fi available from our rooms, yet when we tried to get online, we found that there was no signal in the bedroom and intermittent service in the living room. This is a problem which could be easily remedied, but nobody had taken the trouble.
That evening, when we returned from dinner at a local restaurant we were surprised to find that our son’s bed had not been made up, but was still a settee. We found the manageress – apparently the only member of staff who lived in the hotel – and she told us that “the maid must have forgotten”. I helped her make up the bed and she then emerged from the bedroom with two pillows. We found out later that these had been taken from our own bed. The next day we asked at reception for two more pillows to replace these, but they never arrived. All the rooms were very clean, but there was a lack of attention to detail from the staff which suggests poor training – for example, only two bathrobes were provided for three guests and toilet paper rolls not renewed causing us to run out on the second day.
Breakfast was the next major disappointment. We had been told that we could have breakfast in the dining room on the terrace or in our room (at no extra charge). When we opened the door of the dining room we found that there were places for all the guests laid around one large table with all the food set out in the middle. At one end of the table there were four ladies drinking champagne and talking loudly in German, so we decided to eat on the terrace. When we looked outside, however, the tables had not been laid for breakfast. Then we saw some other guests take their own cutlery and crockery and lay their own places at these tables. There were no members of staff in the dining room at the time we entered and when they did appear, they made no attempt to help them or us move to the outdoor tables. So there we all were, each having paid over £200 a night each for bed and breakfast laying our own breakfast tables and then going back and forth to carry out food out from the dining room.
Worse was to follow. We had been told the day before that we could order whatever style of eggs that we wanted. My wife ordered a boiled egg and I asked for scrambled eggs. When these appeared, there was no tea-spoon for the boiled egg and no salt. Perhaps we were expected to collect them from the dining room and take them outside? In the event my wife found one of the staff and asked for them. When the salt cellar arrived, we found that it was empty. Up we got again. We also had to ask for croissants as there were none left on the dining room table. We were brought one only and told that this was the last one left – Price of breakfast 18 Euros (£14.50) for processed fruit juice, fresh fruits, bread and croissants (if you get up early) and a very small selection of cold meats and cheese.
On the second morning we gave up the idea of breakfasting al fresco and our 18 year old gave up breakfast altogether. Nevertheless we were charged for 3 breakfasts on our bill which was changed by the manageress when I complained. As I was leaving I heard her ask a member of staff whether it was true that only two of us took breakfast.
Anyone planning to stay here should note that, despite mention of a wine bar in the brochure and on the website, there is no hot food, except eggs at breakfast. All that is on offer during the day and evenings is cold meats and cheese to accompany wine drinking. And even this is not guaranteed. When we asked whether we could eat at the hotel on Sunday evening, we were told that this would depend on whether there was any bread left!
How this establishment can get away with charging such exorbitant prices for such limited facilities and such amateurish service is a mystery. Perhaps some guests are deceived, as we were, by the blurb on the website and some glowing reports on Trip-Advisor into believing that this was a luxury hotel offering its guests the highest standards of care. However, it may be explained by the fact that many of these guests the appear to be rich Swiss Germans (like the owners) who may be prepared to pay through the nose for the privilege of staying in lavish rooms and drinking fine wines and not be bothered by the lack of professionalism among some of the staff.
Finally, a word about the wine tasting in the Andre Ziltener cave beside the hotel. This was a very positive experience. We were treated to some magnificent wines by a charming and knowledgeable student from the UK who was on a work placement as part of his French degree. However, I would take issue with the statement by another correspondent that these wines were good value. Like everything else at this establishment, the prices (particularly of the lower grade wines) were inflated.
I would certainly not recommend this hotel, except perhaps to wine buffs with plenty of money to throw around. For the price they charge for bed and breakfast, you could stay full board in four star luxury hotels with an excellent restaurant, as we did on other nights during our holiday in and around Burgundy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hilldweller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateau-ziltener, Directeur général at Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Clients

Firstly I want to thank you for giving us the chance to optimate our service by telling us on which part we have to improve. Secondy I'd like to give you some answers to your complains.

1. Our terrace

We have got our wine-bar for guests who just want to drink a glass of wine and if it's nice weather every client is welcome to have a seat outside. About the noise caused by cars driving up to the parking, we have only got 10 rooms so it must have been at a time where several clients have arrived.

2. Breakfast

Many guests like the breakfast at that big table because of it's familiarity. I'm very sorry to hear that the staff member did not make an attempt to help you by herself, but I'm sure that she would have helped you get the cutlery and crockery out if you would have told her, that you want to eat outside. And of course it would have been possible to have breakfast in your room with no extra charge.

3. Food offer

We do mention our winebar on the website and brochure, but we don't mention anything about hot meals, because we haven't got a restaurant. We do serve little snacks and the traditional machon (cold meat and cheese) with our wines if asked. This is on request because we have to order the products freshly. The Waiter did offer you to have it the next day but unfortunatly you were not interessted.

Our goal is to make all our guests happy during their stay at our hotel and we are very sorry we couldn't do so when you were here due to lack of communication.

Mme Schwarz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambolle-Musigny
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
616 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#1 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Vougeot
Hotel de Vougeot
#1 of 1 in Vougeot
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Grands Crus
Hotel Les Grands Crus
#3 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle

Address: 6 rue Traversiere, 21220 Chambolle-Musigny, France (Formerly Chateau Hotel Andre Ziltener)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Chambolle-Musigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chambolle-Musigny
Price Range: $259 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château Du Petit Musigny in Chambolle-Musigny is one of the most beautiful residences in Burgundy. The careful renovations of the venerable buildings that were carried out in the original style, and the uniquely beautiful location at the Route des Grands Crus are a credit to the significance of this estate. In addition to being a popular meeting place for wine lovers from all around the world, the château, as a hotel, offers stays in a stylish environment. A total of 10 apartments, luxury suites and Chambres Deluxe are available, whose luxurious interiors meet the highest requirements. The charm of past centuries is beautifully complemented by the convenience of modern amenities. It is a place where people who like to indulge in life can enjoy themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Chambolle Musigny
Chateau Du Petit Musigny a Chambolle Chambolle-Musigny, Burgundy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing