We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Retreat, But Not Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chambolle-Musigny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Charming Retreat, But Not Perfect”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Duvine Adventures bike tour through Burgundy. This property certainly makes for a memorable stay in the region if you want to feel like you are back in time. What makes this place special is its charming old world architecture, remote location, and welcoming concierge staff. We had one of the largest (if not the largest) accommodation called "the apartment". It was made up of 2 very large rooms: a master bedroom with a king sized bed, a sitting salon, and a nice sized master bath. The rooms are outfitted with flat screen tvs, and there is free wifi (plus a computer in the main lobby area). We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and overall feel of the chateau, but we felt the mattress on the bed was a bit lumpy and hard, the linens and pillow quality mediocre as well, and we were shocked to have a wool blanket (as a spread) on the bed in the midst of summer There is also NO a/c so we had to sleep with a tower fan blowing on us and the windows open. We got a few mosquito bites as a result. Also, housekeeping left a bottle of cleaner one day in our bathroom.So I gave the property 4 stars since you can tolerate these things and focus on the property for its charm, prime Burgundy location, and accommodating concierge you will love this place.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in summer make sure you have a tower fan in your room and that you can open you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyclechick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
80
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved Chateau Andrea Ziltener, and the drive from Beaune through all the little wine villages was the perfect snapshot of the Burgundy region. The staff is welcoming and helpful with suggestions on dining and routes. A beautiful place to stay if touring this wine region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaS808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Fantastic experience for a short week end. The chateu is very charming from the common areas, the garden where you can eat or simply sip some of their wine,the rooms which are all different and cosy. Must say that the bed quality could have been better.
The bathrooms and the room were immaculate.
The 2 lady managing the hotel were simply outstanding, full of advice and a very good humor.
Room service for breakfast is a good option.
Perfect place for a romantic escape three hours from Paris. Very good restaurants closeby of few minutes driving.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website gives a peefect idea of the rooms layout. Corner suites on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giamma879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Couldn't fault this hotel, room was excellent and the staff were superb, especially Oliver who couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maur2043630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Borders, UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had the apartment "Romanee Conti" which has a fine bedroom with massive king bed, a fine, high-ceilinged living room, luxurious bathroom, with separate lavatory. Wifi worked perfectly in the room. It faces on to the patio, which is convenient for walking up to the car park and for parking temporarily near the room to load luggage. We had no problem keeping windows open. Everything was quiet and peaceful EXCEPT that the church is adjacent to the property and its bells are very loud and persistent. They start at 07.00 with a full peal, and continue through the day, but go to sleep at a sensible hour so that you can too. The staff (normally singular) is extremely helpful, but is completely overloaded if guests have simultaneous problems to solve.
There are only two restaurants in the village and the hotel has fallen out with one of them. It's sensible to order a taxi to eat at one of the surrounding villages. The return trip to Gevray Chambertin, where we ate at Chez Guy, was 30€, and well worth being able to drink freely of the excellent wines on offer.
You should be ready to accept that a meal takes 2-3 hours. There is no McDonald's in the area. See restaurant reviews - this is about the hotel.
Breakfast at Zilteners is extended, good quality,continental, but, if you are patient, you can order eggs and stuff at no extra charge to the, already hefty 18€.
Altogether a positive, but not inexpensive, experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed two nights at this lovely hotel as part of a bike trip. It is well decorated, lovely staff and comfortable rooms. Our only complaint was that our room opened to a patio (so you could not leave a window open). The location was great for biking and visiting vineyards. Bathrooms were marble and well appointed. The breakfast selection was great and tasty. The rooms are not air conditioned and while it was fine, it may be a little too warm in the heat of summer. The wifi worked great in public areas as did cell service.

Room Tip: don't take room Musigny unless you want patio access (and can't leave windows open)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is a must if you have decided to explore the fascinating wineyards of Burgundy. It is a very fine hotel, elegant and classic, with antique furniture, and modern facilities. No kitsch. The Wi-Fi did not function in our room. The manager explained that there were some technical problems with the provider, and tried to resolve the problem herself. She did not succeed.
The breakfast is at a long common table which facilitates contacts wit other people, who can give you some tips for visiting wine cellars or the museums in Dijon. The choice of the breakfast buffet is limited but enough, especially if you have decided to walk during several hours in Dijon or Beaune.
The staff is very pleasant and is ready to solve potential problems. As the hotel has no restaurant you have to make a reservation elsewhere. The staff helps you to find some good restaurants. Do not try the “Chateau de Gilly” (restaurant Clos Prieur) in Vougeot, it`s expensive and the food ranks not higher than average. Castel de Très Girard in Morey-Saint Denis is a better choice, but try to have clear wine preferences, as the sommelier will not reveal that the Burgundies of 2006 and 2004 are moderate or even less than that. Try to find a 2005.
To conclude, this hotel is a very good choice if you have decided to spend one or two days in the middle of the “Grand crus” vineyards in Burgundy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambolle-Musigny
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
550 reviews
2.9 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
191 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Vougeot
Hotel de Vougeot
#1 of 1 in Vougeot
170 reviews
15.3 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
536 reviews
13.8 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle

Property: Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle
Address: 6 rue Traversiere, 21220 Chambolle-Musigny, France (Formerly Chateau Hotel Andre Ziltener)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Chambolle-Musigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chambolle-Musigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau du Petit Musigny a Chambolle 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Château Du Petit Musigny in Chambolle-Musigny is one of the most beautiful residences in Burgundy. The careful renovations of the venerable buildings that were carried out in the original style, and the uniquely beautiful location at the Route des Grands Crus are a credit to the significance of this estate. In addition to being a popular meeting place for wine lovers from all around the world, the château, as a hotel, offers stays in a stylish environment. A total of 10 apartments, luxury suites and Chambres Deluxe are available, whose luxurious interiors meet the highest requirements. The charm of past centuries is beautifully complemented by the convenience of modern amenities. It is a place where people who like to indulge in life can enjoy themselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Chambolle Musigny
Chateau Du Petit Musigny a Chambolle Chambolle-Musigny, Burgundy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing