We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come hungry!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Etrave

L'Etrave
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Audierne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Come hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had the grilled lobster with cream sauce and a Pouilly Fume. When we were there (Sept.2013) this and other lobster menu choices were only available for two persons; we did not suffer from this restriction. The portions were very generous. We are not normally heavy eaters but the quality of the lobster and the delicious cream sauce kept us happily eating for at least an hour.
The dining room is light and airy and looks out over the water. Service was prompt and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wineo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    48
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit here and it lived up to expectations.
Lobster dishes are absolutely fantastic and could possibly be the best for many many miles around.
Service good and friendly.
Well worth a trip!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant at "the end of the world"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Far west in the département Finistère (finis terrae = end of the world) close to the beautiful Pointe de Van you'll find this great place. Be sure to make a reservation, the restaurant is almost all the time fully booked and you would miss a great experience!

The menu for 55€ (September 2013) gives you the choice between a very good tatare de Saint-Jacques or a dozen super fresh oysters, or homemade fois gras, followed by the one of the best lobsters grilled with cream sauce, a selection of cheese and a choice between two desserts. Kitchen is excellent, service very charming and quick, beautiful view from some tables. Worth almost any detour and after lunch you can make beautiful hikes along the coast-paths.
Simply a "must" when you are in Finistère!

In fact the restaurant is not in Audierne, but close to Cléden-Cap-Sizun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Eat the fish!.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went for lunch, based on the TA reviews. You do need to book – the place is in the middle of nowhere but is still packed (lunchtime in August).

90% of the diners had “homard” bibs on when we arrived. The formule with a half lobster is 54 Euros, which is not unreasonable, for 3 courses. I ate the Langoustine starter, which was huge, with 5 giant Langoustines.

The homard main was voted fantastic, by the other diners. My lamb main missed (overcooked). Basic rule in fish restaurants – “eat the fish”. My mistake. Desserts were excellent.

Not cheap – wine was reasonably priced however. Would be back tomorrow if possible! Eat the lobster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaucene, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Classically French and a bot formal, but with wonderful views over the water and deliciously prepared fresh fish. The staff were friendly and efficient, the wine list adequate. Some of the food items were quite pricey but it is possible to leave without a huge dent in the wallet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etrave also viewed

Audierne, Finistere
Audierne, Finistere
 
Audierne, Finistere
 

Been to L'Etrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing