We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem.”
Review of L'Aquashow

L'Aquashow
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Audierne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come and discover the mysteries of the depths of the Brittany sea in our aquarium : conger eels, lobsters, rays and sharks, seahorses, etc. The Atlantic will surprise you! You can see over 150 species in 1,800m2, with giant tanks, a touch pool, a discovery zone, even a fish nursery, etc. Brittany's coast and ocean will keep none of their secrets from you. Wonder at our bird show. Within a beautiful park situated at the mouth of the Goyen river, birds are displayed flying freely, they may even skim over your head! This 45 minutes presentation is divided into four parts : birds local to the estuary, diurnal birds of prey, nocturnal birds of prey, and the Great Cormorant. (French spoken)
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found L'Aquashow amongst a pile of leaflets in the campsite information office, and having been to Oceanopolis the year before thought it worth a look. It's a much smaller outfit than that, but actually just as interesting.

The aquatic displays are well presented, and have good information accompanying them. The area where you can handle starfish and suchlike really interested our girls, as did the huge tank (and unlike other visitors we had no trouble with the steps) which captivated them for a long time.

However, the out and out star attraction was the bird display. Not just one or two birds, but eight different species, all given a very thorough introduction and display. The staff obviously have great appreciation for their performers, and demonstrated them beautifully. Our girls, 6 and 3, were fascinated, and really loved seeing the Owls particularly. The Falcons, Kite and Eagle were spectacular, and we were all highly amused by the Egret, Heron and Cormorants.

We have nothing but good things to say about this place, and it's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    123
    23
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem of an attraction”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fantastic attraction located in the town of Audierne. Well run, clean, friendly with lots to see in both the indoor and outdoor sections of the attraction. Highlight of the visit was the Bird of Prey show, although spoken all in french and we didnt understand a lot of it, it was absolutely facinating, it had our 6 and 4 year olds enthralled (along with Mum & Dad!!). The receptionist was keen to point out we could come and go once we had paid, so as we had a little wait between shows and took the opportunity to eat in the town centre and have a leisurely stroll in the sunshine. A must see attraction if in our around Audierne

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverpoolju2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful - so well done”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to this "show" not knowing what to expect - and we were amazed! What a beautiful, educational, well done presentation of birds of prey - most native to the region. The audience has a chance to get up-close and personal with handsome & majestic birds - all with different personalities - as Stephane - the host of the show - so cheerily explains. With a sense of humor and down to earth presentation you can tell the staff including Carine - a falconier - really care about these animals. Let me be clear - this is not a zoo for birds - they can and actually sometimes do fly away during a presentation -only to come back to their handlers. The native river and ocean fish tanks are also interesting & educational. Overall a fantastic experience - BRAVO!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canadaboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

When we got to reception the women cud barely sleek one word of English and didn't understand a word we said when we were inside looking at the fish they had a step /bench that you have to go down to look at the fish it was not sign posted and in the dark u could barely see it my 3 year old daughter fell down the step and dislocated her collarbone not once did any member of staff help or ask if she was ok we had to leave the premises to get her seen medically as they could not be bothered to help even though my child was screaming the place down .I would never recommend to go here as the staff are rude and not polite

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaPaul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre P, Gérant at L'Aquashow, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Google Translation
One of our objectives is to always improve the security of our gallery’s, and I can assure you that all our efforts are that this kind of accident never happens.
Like I explained in the answer to your email in which you informed us of your accident, the entire team was summoned to try to understand what had happened. Yet they assure me that on the day nobody had been informed of the accident. We have staff that is qualified in first aid and the emergency services (paramedics) are just next to the AQUASHOW. We also have all the necessary insurances to ensure full care of any possible accident victims. I can assure you that if a member of staff had been informed; we would have immediately rang the emergency services and would have helped your daughter.
All our team at the AQUASHOW is extremely sorry about your daughter’s fall in our park and will work to make sure that this kind of accident, thankfully rare, doesn’t happen again.

Cordially,

Pierre Poussard


Nous avons comme objectif constant d'améliorer la sécurité sur nos galeries de visites et je peux vous garantir que tous nos efforts sont faits pour que ce genre d'accident n'ait pas lieu.
Comme je vous ai expliqué en réponse à votre mail dans lequel vous nous avez informés de votre accident, toute l'équipe a été convoquée pour comprendre ce qui avait pu se passer. Or il s'avère que le jour même, personne n'a été mis au courant de l'accident. Nous avons du personnel diplômé en secourisme, la caserne des pompiers est toute proche de l’AQUASHOW et nous avons toutes les assurances nécessaires pour assurer l’entière prise en charge d’éventuelles personnes accidentées. Je peux vous assurer que si vous aviez informé le personnel sur place, nous aurions immédiatement appelé les secours et pris en charge votre fille.
Toute l'équipe de l'AQUASHOW est absolument désolé de la chute de votre fille dans notre parc et va travailler pour éviter que ce genre d’accident, heureusement rarissime, ne puisse pas se renouveler.

Cordialement,

Pierre Poussard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Reading the history of this place made our visit even more enjoyable. You can tell that the staff love what they do and that makes a big difference. Located in stunning harbour village, the fish are great and the bird display was wonderful. Really worth a visit - whatever your age.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peach040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aquashow also viewed

Camaret-sur-Mer, Finistere
Plogoff, Finistere
 

Been to L'Aquashow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing