We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of Mozaiek

Mozaiek
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Veurne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The family run restaurant is excellent. The food is just the best that Belgium had to offer. The atmosphere is nice and the service simply could not have been better.

10/20 on all counts and will visit again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    67
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The place to be if you want to have a fun evening with friends, or a cosy night with your partner. I've been there several times and I have never been disapointed! The service is fluent and realy nice. The kitchen is fantastic! it's basic cuisine with a modern touch. They always have diffrent suggestions that will suprise you in a fantastic way! When I'm on my next trip in Belgium, I will defenetly go back to this fantastic restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natacha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy simplicity, great food”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stopped in Veurne for a few hours and popped into Mozaiek for directions The staff was so friendly that they gave us a parking disk and told us to keep it. We returned for lunch and were rewarded by a delicious and plentiful meal. I ordered vol à vent and was told it came without pastry because no one ever ate it. I quite saw why. A lake of creamy sauce laced with perfectly cooked chicken breast and tiny sausage meatballs arrived and, even though it was far too much I could not leave anything so good on a plate. My husband had Belgian beer stew and felt the same. The restaurant has a casual style, a little twee with teddy bears in the window, but, hey, it's soon to be Christmas. The Flemish menu is challenging but there is a charming linguist on hand to translate and explain. Super!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anouchka43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch or evening meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant really is a good find, although it's menu is in Flemish the waiter explained it to us in English and was extremely helpful. I have visited 3 times and have ordered a different dish each time and all were better than the previous. My favourite was the spaghetti and Prawns Mozaiek which is a house speciality. The prawns were plentiful and fresh and the basil, tomato and mushroom cream sauce was freshly made and divine ! If you're anywhere near Veurne this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ogradysirishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No tap water. Poor”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the only restaurant on our holiday to refuse us a jug of tap water. This was despite spending €63 on a meal. The waiter came up with some nonsense about the tap water not being very good; so if we take him at his word then this is a place whose water supply fails to met EU standards for drinking water, which can't be good.
The pasta dish was gloopy, the shrimp croquette a mush with few shrimps in it and my beef carbonade another gloop of shin beef with connective tissue, thickened with cornflour.
Finally, the menu needs to specify the strength of the beers. I ordered a beer which turned out to 9.5% alcohol, which I then had to leave as I was driving.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALISTAIR D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozaiek also viewed

Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 
Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 
Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Mozaiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing