We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking little restaurant in a beautiful town”
Review of Restaurant Lowie

Restaurant Lowie
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Veurne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cracking little restaurant in a beautiful town”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love Veurne and have made it a regular stopping off place en route to and from the ferry back to the UK. It certainly is a lovely market square and there is plenty to do here for a day or so, although the main activity is in the centre and streets immediately off. We decided to dine at Brasserie Lowie and we were very pleased when the restaurant owener reserved us a table for four both inside and outside, so we could choose on the night. The weather was kind to us to we had the table outside and right on the market square, which becomes even more special as night draws in and the fantastic buildings are lit up.
The attention to detail here, and the ongoing service is very special. The two business owners, Carlos at front of house and Stephanie as chef, are young pleasant people and deserve to succeed in a town that has a lot of competition. We had snails, kidneys, steak, fish and numerous bottles of competitively priced wine. I requested freshly cooked 'chips' and Stephanie duly obliged - we were so impressed we presented them with a certificate from the Proper Chip Appreciation Society. A beautiful meal throughout, a cracking evening and a delight to have found new friends. We shall return soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    28
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thank you.... Stephanie and Carlos you have the most beautiful restaurant and are just fabulous people! Thank you for making our stay so wonderful with your lovely food and hospitality.... see you VERY soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“We felt like VIPs”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the proprietor of our B+B.
The food was excellent - including the best steak we've ever eaten. The manager/waiter, Carlos, couldn't have been more attentive. His wife, the chef, also came over to say hello.
We sat outside on a warm evening and a lovely touch was: at the very moment the sun disappeared behind the church in the square, I felt a blanket being placed on my shoulders. What a sweet, thoughtful gesture on the part of Carlos - he did it to all the ladies.
Oh, and Brasserie Lowie has the best location in Veurne too.
Carlos and his wife are a young couple, trying very hard - and succeeding - to create a special treat for their diners.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veurne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very good food & excellent service in a nice place ! The owners are a young couple with lots of experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great value and service. Varied menu and wine list. The proprietor was very attentive and friendly. Classy and stylish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lowie also viewed

Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 
Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 
Veurne, West Flanders Province
Veurne, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Lowie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing