We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic & friendly B & B”
Review of Auberge De Klasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge De Klasse
Ranked #1 of 12 Veurne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having just returned from a long weekend in Veurne, near Brugge, we cannot recommend highly enough the fantastic B & B we stayed in. The Auberge de Klasse is well situated in the town on a quiet street and has been awarded the best B & B in Belgium. The en suite rooms are very tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds.
The owners, Albert and his mother, greeted us and served us with wine and homemade quiche. There is a comfortable living room, with free Wi-Fi, adjacent to the breakfast room. The breakfasts were superb with homemade breads, fresh fruit salads, hams, cheeses and eggs with fresh fruit juice, coffee or tea.
The garden is beautifully kept with comfortable seating to relax in.
Albert recommended and booked for us two very good restaurants in the town square, a short walk from his house.
Ann and Paul.
Somerset, England.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Auberge with a group of friends at the weekend. One of the couples in our group have been staying there regularly for a number of years and love it. We now love it too! All the rooms and the downstairs guest areas are immaculately decorated and beautifully furnished. Our host welcomed us with a drink and snacks and had booked us into what proved to be a really good restaurant. He was extremely helpful and attentive. It was obvious that he took great pride in creating a wonderful environment for the guests. The continental breakfasts were generous and delicious. We were free to use the 'salon' and kitchen/breakfast room downstairs at all times. The garden is delightful and hopefully next time we go the weather will be warmer for us to enjoy it properly. Definitely recommend this gem of a B&B.

Room Tip: They are all lovely, face the same way, slight difference in size which is reflected in pricing. Ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Reading these reviews, we were confident that we were in for a treat in Veurne. Our experience left us wondering whether the owner was having a particularly bad day or whether we should really trust such large numbers of uniquely positive reviews.
We booked De Klasse at short notice so were delighted when we were advised that they could accommodate us. Leaving Brussels later than planned, we texted to say that we would arrive later than planned and were advised that this was fine. Understanding that everything was in hand, we we took afternoon tea on the square before checking in. Unfortunately upon arrival at De Klasse we were informed that our room (the last available) had just been given to someone else.

When asked why the mobile number we provided was not used to confirm whether we were still on our way before reallocating our room, we were advised that this was not their job. We were told that the second best option on TripAdvisor was full (which turned out not to be true when we called five minutes later) and were referred to an alternative hotel that had a very poor rating. Although we stated that we would have to find a train back to Brussels if we could not find somewhere decent to stay, we were told that it was 'not their job' to phone a second hotel for us. This is despite giving our reservation away without checking.

Fortunately for us, we were able to find a very welcoming last minute option in Veurne.

Room Tip: Ensure you have been very clear about when you are arriving and phone to ensure your room is not giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent two separate nights here at the beginning and end of a trip to Germany. The house has been brilliantly restored to provide three bedrooms and a sitting room for guest use. Both the rooms we stayed in had comfortable beds, were a good size and had first rate bathrooms. The host welcomes you with a glass of wine on arrival and makes a top quality continental breakfast with freshly squeezed juice and eggs prepared to order. There's a well stocked mini-bar in the dining area and guests are welcome to sit in the immaculate garden. It's a bit pricey but well worth the money. Veurne itself is very pleasant with a good selection of restaurants around the town square - we were advised to try the Brasserie Lowie which was excellent. On both occasions we had no problems parking in the street directly outside the house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived at Auberge De Klasse by chance, exhausted, having travelled from Northern Germany through very heavy traffic. We were made so welcome and after a short walk into Veurne (for a lovely meal at one of the many restaurants) spent a very comfortable night in this wonderful old auberge. Breakfast next morning was really lovely, with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, soft boiled eggs and a variety of breads, cheese, meats and home-made jam - not to mention excellent coffee. A real find and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice house, very cute. The history of the house is quiet intresting and the welcome is greatful.
Three charming rooms and a special and home made breakfast set this house as one of my top B&B house.

Many thanks to let us know this.

Didier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Didier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This auberge truly is amazing. It is very cosy, you feel at home over there. The rooms are spacious, kitsch and absolutely fantastic. The beds were more than decent. I was dissappointed that I could not stay longer! The breakfast was delicious, and there was a lot of choce. The goods were high quality and fresh. The owner of the place is a very friendly man, and so is his mother. Them being so nice and sympa, made our stay only better. It was great arriving there, seeing as how they offered us a glass of excellent wine, which we enjoyed in their delightful garden while having an interesting chat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celidelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veurne
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Loft
Hotel De Loft
#1 of 2 in Veurne
55 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#3 of 15 in De Panne
252 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#5 of 15 in De Panne
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast The Old House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge De Klasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge De Klasse

Address: Astridlaan, Veurne 8630, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Veurne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Veurne
Price Range: $134 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge De Klasse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge De Klasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing