We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menen
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Market getaway”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a base for our 4 day tour of the Belgium and France markets. We had seen various comments on Trip Advisor ranging from average to very poor, what a wonderful suprise when we arrived, we had a very warm greeting from the staff who efficiently handed out room keys to a very tired and hungry coach load of people. As an evening meal was not included the staff quickly gave out directions to several cafe's and restauants which were situated close to the hotel. When we went to our room we were doubly surprised at the size of the room , how comfortable it was and how modern it was , the decor of the room very welcoming and relaxing.
As we wanted to see the Menen gate, Ewald (one of the staff) gave us directions on how to get there easily , he even knew the train times for getting there and back.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would heartily recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
19
60
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here as part of the battlefield tour "All Quiet on the Western Front" for four nights We had already noticed comments on Trip Advisor about the traffic noise at night in the rooms at the front of the hotel, and also about the restaurant choice of prepacked meals in a vending machine to heat up in a microwave, both of which were evident when we arrived. However after a sleepless first night we asked if we could have a room away from the road but were told by the manager that they were overbooked but he would try to do something for the third night. When we arrived back after our first day we were pleasantly surprised to find that he had already found a back room and moved our things into there. In fact we slept so well that the next morning we overslept and only had 15 mins to dress , grab breakfast and get on the bus!

As for the food the breakfast was very good with cheese, hams, cereals and very nice scrambled egg. One evening they did seem to provide pizzas or burgers for some guests but if you want a proper meal you have to go out. The first night was Monday with limited choice of restaurants and after a long day travelling we had to walk 865 yards to the nearest restaurant(we were both counting and wondered why the other wasn't talking!) The food was very good but several things on the menu were not available.We did wonder how older or less able people would manage and several guests said they did not bother going out. Perhaps Leger should consider dropping people off at the restaurant in the bus.

We did have another problem with our first room as there was a smell of drains but the manager explained there had been work done on the drains outside the hotel and our room had not been used since , hence the smell. After running all the taps and flushing the loo the smell did in fact disappear so I expect that was a one-off.

The staff in general were pleasant friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable.

Our battle field tour was brilliant, more so as 16 people had cancelled the day before so there were only ten of us, and also as we were privileged to have Leger's chief guide Paul Reed , a miltary historian,who was a mine of information(no pun intended!), has written several books on the first world war and features on numerous TV programmes including the recent Tunnels of Death.

Overall a brilliant trip, with excellent bus transfers and very friendly drivers and staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back, way from the main rosd
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had read some of the poor reviews on TripAdvisor, and wasn't sure what to expect when we got there. I needn't have worried, The hotel is clean, the showers worked, just about, and even when there were three of us in one room (3 x single beds) there was plenty of room, and even though we only really used the place as a base for touring, we didn't feel at all cramped. We ere on the front facing side of the hotel, but it never got particularly noisy from the traffic. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, and fresh towels were provided each day. The breakfasts were what you expect, continental, but there was plenty on offer, and was continually replenished. The bar was comfortable in the evening, but only Stella on draught, and slightly pricey at 5€ a glass, but similar prices everywhere. There only seemed to be one (Very friendly and amenable) member of staff on in the evening, and he would occasionally be called away to the reception area for new visitors, but we always felt cared for.
In one of the quieter parts of Menen, you do have to walk for a good 300-400 yards to find a restaurant, but the Belgians are very friendly and welcoming.
On the whole, I would heartily recommend this hotel, it seems Best Western have taken over and made substantial changes, I certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are at the back, but I never had a problem on the front. It may be different in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCowley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed Last weekend With Ledger Battlefield tour . Hotel is clean Breakfast Ok and Staff very Freindly ( thanks sofia and uwald) and a good bed . Would stay Again. Thanks Ledger amazing weekend and special mention for Kieth our tour guide.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel recently as part of a Just Go Holiday. I was very pleased with it. Everywhere was clean and tidy and well maintained( see footnote). I paid a single supplement ,but was give a bedroom with 3 single beds, 3 leather covered arm chairs, TV and all other goodies!! They only have 3 single rooms I gather, so this could often happen. I was at the front of the building which was next to a fairly busy main street in the small town, which did not bother me, but some people may dislike this.. The rooms were mainly all on the ground floor so you could always ask for a back one which looks out onto the small garden and carpark.We were half board, so i can only comment on the breakfast, which was a generous buffet with plenty of choice.There was a small bar and some food was available here during the day, and the evenings. I do not think there was a great choice. There are plenty of eating places in the town which is not very big so you would not have to walk too far. Therer is a small fitness centre and a smalll lounge . Ypres is 15 mins away, Lille 19mins and Bruges 20 mins.It also makes a good centre for exploring the many WW1 cemeeries in the area. The price per room seemed to be 100 Efor a single room inc breakfast up to 130E for a triple room
FOOTNOTE one of our party had trouble with his shower. He asked themtwice to look at it, and they said i was then OK.but he could not get it to work as he wished.
Shower or operator?!!

Room Tip: A back bedroom would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed as part of Leger battlefields tour. Room had obviously been refurnished and nice big bathroom, but only a pavement's distance from a busy main road. Traffic going past late into the evening and started again early in the morning. Very difficult to get a decent night's sleep, I did ask to change rooms but unfortunately the hotel was full. Room and bathroom also warm, but too noisy to open the window. Breakfast standard continental buffet, only hot food was small sausages, but eat as much as you like - the toasted sandwich maker is still the toaster! Only saw 2 staff, both friendly and helpful with excellent English.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the front because of the noise, the back rooms, particularly in the wing ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Best Western Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Madam, Sir,
It is with great attention that we examined your remarks concerning your stay in the Best Western Ambassador Hotel Menin.
We have noted all your comments and we will work in the future to make the rooms in the front as quiet as possible.
We also thank you for having appreciated our breakfast and the kindness of our staff?
Best regards,
Jean jacques NOEL, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

With Leger Holidays on the 'All Quiet on the Western Front' tour. Leger use The Ambassador as their base hotel for this trip. The Hotel was excellent for the all inclusive price, the staff were attentive (even opened the bar later on for us). Good standard continental breakfast, rooms very clean - always. The town was the problem as it always seemed to be shut. Regardless, the Hotel is recommended as well up to standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Best Western Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear all
It is with great attention that we examined your remarks concerning your stay in the Best Western Ambassador Hotel.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Jean jacques NOEL, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menen
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alize
1.5 mi away
Lys Hotel
Lys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halluin
80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant des Acacias Lille Tourcoing
Hotel-Restaurant des Acacias Lil...
#1 of 2 in Neuville-en-Ferrain
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,267 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
297 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Kortrijk Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ambassador Hotel

Property: Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Address: Wahisstraat 34-42, Menen 8930, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Menen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located close to Kortrijk, Ypres (Ieper) and Lille. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and offers free parking spaces. The BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel Menen is situated within walking distance from the Market Place and the railway station. We welcome you in a stylish and calm environment and offer 30 very comfortable rooms, a nice bar, a beautiful reading lounge, a pleasant breakfast room with a view of the garden, a fitness room and parking. The BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel Menen is not only ideal for your business stay due to proximity of the industrial zones and expo's like Xpo Kortrijk and Lille Grand Palais, we are also ideal for tourist stays. You can go shopping in Kortrijk, visit the memorials in Ypres (Ieper), visit Bruges (Brugge), "the Venice of the North", or cross the border to visit the wonderful museums in Lille. The several golf courses are waiting for you and are less than 20 minutes away. And you will want to buy some chocolates, liquor or tobacco in one of the several shops in Menen open on Sundays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Menen
Menen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing