We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tradition”
Review of Hostellerie Le Fox

Hostellerie Le Fox
Ranked #1 of 125 Restaurants in De Panne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Very good service. Traditional cuisine with lots of fish. Excellent wine choice. The breakfast the next day was also very good. Much fruit.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 317 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2018

Very friendly welcome (and valet service). Staff is professional without stiffness. Somelier surely knows his job and is passionate about his wines (a list at reasonable prices). We went for the Primavera set menu and started with 4 appetizers of which the ceviche and the salmon could please us most. First starter is 'incontournable': the panko breaded shrimp croquette: perfection. The risotto with mustard, which came with the second starter: super. The second main course with chicken: cooked to perfection. We decided to add a nice cheese platter, chosen from the charriot with all Belgian products. We ended with a very good cassata. With the coffee came a variety of après desserts, many of which we couldn't eat anymore because 'to much'.
Mr. Buyens cooks to perfection, the products are high end, the cooking times perfect, the tastes blend wonderfully. But we missed originality, surprises or rock 'n roll attitude. All dishes are perfect and honnest but colored inside the lines.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

During our visit of De Panne we stayed for two nights at Hostellerie Le Fox. The Hotel offers only a few rooms for guests. Our room was located at the forth floor and offered a terrace with side sea view. The served breakfast was outstanding and covered a huge selection of fruits, granola, cereals, milk products, ham, chees and included a glass of Champagne. Even the regular coffee was perfectly prepared. One night we also enjoyed a great several course menu for dinner.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We had a very pleasant Sunday lunch at Le Fox!
At this place everything was very good: Reception, services, food !!!! and atmosphere.
This was the first time dining the 4rd time on the BONGO voucher system that we were treated like any other full paying customer. Even our dog was welcome! Great people - owners and waiters!
The set lunch menu with suggested wines was superbe in every dish - well deserved stars!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARTIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

The food is very good but very expensive. The restaurant has 2 stars rated Michelin, 1 is enough for me

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie Le Fox also viewed

De Panne, West Flanders Province
De Panne, West Flanders Province
 
Sint-Idesbald, Koksijde
De Panne, West Flanders Province
 
De Panne, West Flanders Province
Koksijde, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hostellerie Le Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing