We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and location.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Certificate of Excellence
stoke staffs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and location.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for a short break with another couple, found this hotel on various sites and was close to the beach,so we booked it.
We couldn't have found better, just a few metres from the beach and in the town,with its cafe's and bars all around, this is ideally placed for all, including people who can't walk too far, with this in mind the coastal tramway is at the end of the street, which for €5 each gives you a day pass to travel through the coastal towns right the way to Oostende and further.

As for the hotel and staff.... Hotel is 'old style' but modernised to the highest standards, and the staff cannot be commended enough, Anne the owner and her brother could not do enough for the guests, and were on hand at any time.
We will certainly look to stay here again when traveling in this area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    104
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
59
178
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Hotel on the Sunday of the August bank holiday weekend on our way back from visiting friends in Holland. The lady who runs the hotel could not have been more helpful and friendly. We arrived in our classic Mini (which she loved!) and she came out to give directions to the secure parking facility a short walk away, which at €7 was a bargain. The hotel room wasn't the largest, but who needs a big room when there is so much to do nearby? Lovely bathroom, which we guess had been refurbished recently and decent breakfast. Great restaurants and bars within walking distance and beautiful beach. Fab value for money - will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

When I go back to De Panne, I will definitely stay here again. The welcome was friendly but professional. Parking was arranged when I booked and cost €14 for two days. Our room was clean, stylish with good quality fittings and a nice sized bathroom. It was very comfortable and well equipped. There was a wide range on offer at breakfast, with the scrambled eggs being a hit. The croissants were Heavenly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Royal Hotel is just a couple of blocks off the Zeedijke (the water front) and right around the corner from a selection of fine (and not so fine) restaurants. I give the hotel a 4 star thumbs up for the recently refurbished rooms, the very good breakfast, cleanliness and service. The young woman receptionist is a model of energy and conscientiousness. She speaks a number of languages and is attentive to little things (like making sure your luggage is taken to your room when you have to leave it in the closet because you arrived too early). Despite the constant ebb and flow of tourists that wash in and out of these hostelries this hotel manages to retain a personal touch, which reassures.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theinspectorishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here from 5th to 7th May. Lovely room & bathroom first class. Children may find the loo a bit high though. Staff very friendly. Great places to eat & some nice shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIH1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We needed a nice hotel with adequate parking close by, and Royal was just that. With metered parking lots outside the front door, it was a good choice.
The hotel had a reasonable sized room, very good shower, and was very clean. At 72euros for the 2 of us, it was good value I thought. Breakfast was also very good with a selection of fresh breads, cold meats, fruits, cereals and eggs to choose from. You are also on the main shopping street in the town and less than 100m from the beach.
There are a number of good restaurants to choose from very close by, some are expensive so do take time to checkout all the displayed menus before going in!!!

Room Tip: Cant advise about rooms as I only saw ours which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

spent sunday the 25/03/2012 at the hotel royal in de panne belgium
was very pleased with the standard of this hotel,clean and well modernly furnished room
large bathroom with full size bath and shower. the hotel is approx 75 metres to beach, and
a large choice of restaurants even nearer. BREAKFAST was a large choice of breads,cheeses, fresh fruit salad, scambled, boiled eggs, cold meats,etc
very nice staff will stay at this hotel again when next in de panne

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gene38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these De Panne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#4 of 15 in De Panne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#3 of 15 in De Panne
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#9 of 15 in De Panne
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cecil
Hotel Cecil
#6 of 15 in De Panne
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Zeelaan 178-180, Avenue De La Mer, De Panne 8660, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Panne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing