We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Escapade

Hotel Escapade
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Escapade
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Good family "no frills" hotel with a great location just minutes away from the beach. They have family rooms with confortable beds. Clean bathroom just refurbished and good breakfast buffet. Friendly multilingual staff. Free parking. Free wi-fi. Just the right place for a family week-end-break.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldHopperEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Lovely hotel, really relaxed athmosphere. Hotel has an old Belgian feel, small dark corridors but once we got to the room, opened the door and saw all the light it took our breath away. Corner room with 4 windows and sparking white bed linen, bathroom was big and very clean. Most comfortable bed we have slept in for a long time. At breakfast the following morning we were met by a man with the biggest warmest smile we had seen. Breakfast buffet was fantastic from fresh fruit , yogurt, cold meat and bread rolls to cook your own bacon and eggs. The hotel is situated very close to the beach and located in a beautiful town.Beautiful park for kids with lots of buggies and bikes to hire. Overall a fantastic 2 nights spent in a lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Belgium.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballycarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

If you're looking for a great place to stay near the North Sea in Belgium, head for De Haan. Long, wonderful beaches, plenty of great food. Easy to get to via rail and tram.
Close to Brugge for a day trip or two.

While you're there, stay at the Escapade Hotel. One-half block from the sea. Across the street, a great little supermarket, a laundromat and a nice little shop with post cards and the little keepsakes we all buy when traveling.

The Escapade's rooms are comfortable and very pleasant. The service is perfect. There's a lift if you'd rather not climb the stairs...but you may want to. Downstairs, a restaurant with a great menu of absolutely great food. Make reservations when you arrive, word is out about the restaurant. Eat inside or in their nice little patio.

The Escapade is run by the folks who own it and you can sense their pride in "getting it right" as soon as you arrive.

It's only a pleasant 5-block stroll from the tram station near the center of this La Belle Epoque community.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Well situated, very close to laundromat. beach, bus stop, shops. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was smallish but clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. There is an elevator and a cosy nook by the bar. It's the sort of place where one feels at home. The buffet breakfast has a wide range of options, and we would recommend the restaurant for dinner as well. Loved the place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I enjoyed my stay with my son in this hotel so much I kept on coming back. I have stayed there 3 times and have not been disappointed yet. This is a great family run hotel with clean and well decorated rooms. The breakfast buffet is a great treat, with something for everyone, a wide selection of bread, rolls, pastries, sliced cooked meats, cereals, self service hot food (eggs, bacon, toast).
All the staff make you feel very welcome, and although I did not speak any of the local languages (flemish, french, dutch) they all spoke good english and were most helpful.
The location is just 2 minutes from the beach and a 5 minute walk to the tram station.
De Haan is an ideal base for anyone visiting Belgium, it is a good place to escape the crowded noise of the big city, however if you like the nightlife Ostend and Blankenberge are easily accessible by the tram

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DariaInfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel's major advantage is its location near the boardwalk of De Haan - the beach can be reached by a mere two-minute stroll. Well, De Haan is not a huge place anyway - you could probably cross all of it on foot within 15 minutes.

The hotel itself has obviously seen some major refurbishment recently: the bathrooms are quite modern and comfy, our bedroom was bright and the furniture relatively new. Rooms come with fridges (not minibars) and safes.

The Escapade is apparently almost exclusively run by the owners and family members; so do not expect to receive professional hospitality as in a four-star property. The definite plus is the general friendliness and helpfulness which makes you feel right at home and a little bit as if you were part of the family.

Breakfast buffet is great, a nice variety of cold cuts, cheese, juices, eggs, bacon, and cereals. Do not miss the restaurant which is attached to the hotel and run by the same family. In the season, try the North Sea mussels w/ fries. Steaks and soup of the day are also very nice.

If I had to choose one negative aspect I'd say that EUR 95 per night is a little bit too much for a double room in October, even if it's very close to the beach. Still, I do not regret the expenditure in view of the Escapade's general coziness and good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We spent 2 nights at this 3* hotel and loved it. It is situated about 100m from the beach on a quiet street. There was limited OSP. The room was functional - no frills but spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable (typical european soft pillows). There is a small lift. The hotel is family run and it shows. Friendly from breakfast right through to dinner.
Buffet breakfast with fresh assorted rolls, pastries, cheese/meat, juices and cook your own eggs. Dinner was superb and very reasonable. Town has a lovely quiet family feel to it. Great place to unwind.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — dogs in the restaurant at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these De Haan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astel
Hotel Astel
#5 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Manoir Carpe Diem
1.1 mi away
Ibis de Haan
Ibis de Haan
#3 of 25 in De Haan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#6 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#2 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
16.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
#4 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escapade

Property: Hotel Escapade
Address: Koninklijke Baan 30, De Haan 8420, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Haan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Escapade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Escapade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing