We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Eetcafe de Spieghel
Ranked #15 of 52 Restaurants in Damme
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to eat here after spending the day in Knokke... It's a nice brasserie, with friendly service, but considering the basic (and boring) menu, it was just way too overpriced. We won't come back here for that reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EffiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    49
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Andries, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good and cosy !”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Certainly one of the better and certainly cosy places to have a good meal at a reasonable price ! Very friendly sevice, typical plates for the region.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Brasserie 2.0”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A beer, a glass of wine a tasty dish, flemish soul food at it's best, and when you are in Damme it has a nice view over the City hall too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Igor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hillariously unfriendly”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

17.00

One couple sits at a table.

The waiter tells us they are all booked. At 17.00. Fine with me - I hate to eat in restaurants that do not want me as a customer

I don't care whether there was any reason in what he told us, but the restaurant seriously does not want your business.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fgbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good food, but unfriendly staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I don't know if we happened upon De Spieghel after they had all had a row with someone, but although the food was good, not one member of staff cracked a smile or uttered a friendly word in the whole time we were there. A really miserable looking bunch of waiters I have yet to meet.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelwise207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe de Spieghel also viewed

Damme, West Flanders Province
Damme, West Flanders Province
 
Damme, West Flanders Province
Damme, West Flanders Province
 
Damme, West Flanders Province
Damme, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Eetcafe de Spieghel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing