We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, view and view..!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

+ The most important part of staying here is the VIEW..!!!!
+ The rooms are nice.. we had booked a 3 bedroom house.. there was an indoor parking garage for the house, 3 bedrooms on one level and living room, kitchen and dining on lower floor. All the rooms had magnificent views (except one bedroom). There was a balcony on both levels.
+ The breakfast was good. The manager prepared it for us himself.
+ The manager was helpful.. We had one of our balcony doors broken and he fixed it for us right away..
We enjoyed our stay here.. :-)

. nothing fancy in the rooms.. amenities were basic..

- it took forever to find this place. GPS was totally messed up and kept sending us to different places. We called them twice and finally found it.
- I know it's self catered but there was absolutely no option for dinner. We asked if some place can deliver here. The answer was no. It was raining and it was very foggy so we didn't want to drive out again. But we had to!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

It takes a bit of time to locate this place, but once you find it, you realize you that it was worth the effort.
The guest-house style hotel has rooms with balconies facing the lagoon. It makes for a stunning setting, specially when all the balconies have a charming wrought-iron table and chairs. Perfect place for a cup of tea as you overlook the waves crashing in.

The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are neat with good fittings. The breakfast is adequate. The hotel even provides you with a couple of bicycles, for going about town. This is a lovely pit-stop for spending a couple of nights, whilst on driving down the garden route.

However, make no mistake, if you are looking for a high end room-service/ bell-boy experience with all the frills of a luxe hotel, you are better off at some other place.

TIP: If you are lucky you can even spot dolphins playing about in the water from your balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights last November. We had the smaller rooms at the back of the house, which are not as spacious as the front room, but still a decent size. The balcony on the side offers a good view, but the view from the front of the house is simply amazing as it is set right on top of the cliffs.

Brenton on Sea is about a 10-15 min drive from Knysna, but for me the nicer location to stay. Would stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeWe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Brenton on Rocks, but could quite easily have stayed longer! We had a room on the upper floor with a stunning balcony overlooking the sea. It was just perfect. The room is big enough for 2 adults, with a seperate lounge area and TV, a great bathroom and a open, bright, spaceous bedroom.
It is a bit of a drive from Knysna, but we didnt mind, there is a small convenience store in Brenton and the hotel ran an honesty bar downstairs so we had some sundowner beers on our balcony.
I would recommend to anyone travelling to or through Knysna area.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are best, have better balcony and no noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The guest house is above average. Rooms are spacious but not the type you would want to spend lots of time in. Kitchen is rather small, it's semi self catering. Rooms and bathroom could be cleaner. We reported dirty linen and this was changed for us. Common areas were great to use- my husband and I had our own little barbeque. There isn't a quick access to the beach though as the area is very rocky. Sunsets are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reshma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our accommodation was gorgeous with the best view. Wish we had stayed more than one night to truly enjoy our surroundings. Smooth check-in / check-out by staff. It was very breezy but refreshing at the same time. Would stay again in a heartbeat but for more than one night. Carpark automatic lock up garage. Peaceful stay. We dined at Crab's Creek Pub and Restaurant that overlooks Knysna lagoon. We had generous delicious seafood entrees and couldn't finish our mains.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite, balcony, best view, privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Really nice accommodation with great sea views but our trip was marred by terrible room service. The dishes from the previous guests had not been cleaned properly, the tea, coffee and bathroom supplies were never replaced (I had to ask for these) and worst of all the maid had sticky fingers. By the end of our trip we realised our belongings had been rifled through and some of our food was taken. This was all discovered on our last day in Brenton so overall I am a bit disappointed. For a 4 star establishment I do not feel the service was 4 star at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJF002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentonboy, Manager at Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

We are a 4 star semi self-catering establishment, and only put amenities in the rooms upon arrival .
Our rooms are checked after they have been cleaned and before the guests arrive, nothing was found wrong when checked by our receptionist and no complaints regarding this matter was received during their stay.
We were not informed about anybody tampering with the luggage, the only complaint was on Sunday evening saying that a chocolate had been eaten.
The maids moved the chocolates and the luggage to service the room. Our staff is very reliable,
and we have not had any incidents.
The guest wrote in our visitors book that she had a wonderful stay and once again no mention was made of poor room service .
However there was a misunderstanding with the final payment and I am of the opinion that this incident caused her complaints.
We have resolved the problem and everyone was satisfied.
If the abovementioned problems had been brought to the attention of Management before writing a bad review, it could have been rectified whilst the guests were still staying with us.
We appreciate constructive and honest criticism, and endeavour to deliver high quality service
at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
99 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#21 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse

Address: 276 Steenbras Street, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $92 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you yearn for a piece of heaven on earth, a resting place built on rocks, with a heavenly view over a shining sea in which the dolphins play ? Brenton on Rocks is that place.Our choice of self catering accommodation includes Houses sleeping up to 8 people, family units, honeymoon suites and double rooms - all tastefully equipped with everything to make our stay comfortable and relaxing, including a fully licensed bar. What makes us different from the rest you think? We offer personalised, friendly service. We are more than just a Guest House, but rather a Home-away from home for all travellers. Additional services include picnic baskets, planning and booking of day trips and activities, free promotional footage/videos on-site, A-la-carte breakfast menu & Laundry service. Leon & David are looking forward to welcoming you to this charming establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing