We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet with Stunning Lagoon Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet with Stunning Lagoon Views”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Brenton Hill is a short drive from Knysna with it's wide range of shops, restaurants and other attractions. However the trip provides a lagoon side experience and rises to the vantage point that is the Guest House. Each bedroom has it's own private patio for those private moments though the public rooms are spacious, light and airy. We did not have the Honeymoon suite nor Mini Suite that would be ideal if we visit again with family, which we intend to do.
The views are stunning both night and day constantly changing with the tides. To wake up here is a delight.
Cat and Andrew made us most welcome. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Unfortunately we had only 2 nights to spend in Brenton hills . We wish we could make it longer! The rooms are spacious, clean & well equipped. Our hosts, Catriona and her husband, were so friendly and made any efforts to make our staying most pleasant.The view from the hill is remarkable plus the advantage of peaceful and very calm atmosphere. Most recommended!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank osnat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed here in December 2009 and also under the previous owners in November 2008. New owners Catriona and Andy Kent were very welcoming. Rooms are spacious, clean, and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. Good breakfast. Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

As my husband only spent two days here ( the rest in hospital) and I had 18 days last year he wanted to know what I was so impressed with - so we returned to SA and to Brenton Hill again this year.

He is now as sold as I was on the comfort and hospitality at Brenton Hill. We returned and were greeted as friends and not merely guests. Room 1, which we had last year had already been booked, so we had room 6 ( I think) which was on the other side of the bungalow, but just aslovely. The quality of the furnishings throughout is extremely high. The location is wonderful and very peaceful. Last year we had nothing to compare with, but this year we had four other B+B which were all good, but Brenton still stands out.

There were other couples there over New Year , mainly from Jo`burg, as this is the peak holiday time for South Africans, and they were returning for the same reasons as us - comfort and brilliant hospitality. It felt like a family gathering, no -one would ever feel excluded. Although most spoke Afrikaans, they were all kind enough to speak English when in our company, and if they "lapsed" Tertius and Sanette would translate.

I wish more people would write reviews, as there are many repeat guests, but maybe they want to keep this special place for themselves. Which ever room you have and whenever you stay you will have a genuine welcome and a peaceful and comfortable stay - but leave room for us - we want to return!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

This is a wonderful Guest House a short drive (15 minutes) from the heart of Knysna. Tertius and Sanette are very gracious hosts and give you a warm and genuine welcome. Guest rooms are huge and all have great views of the Lagoon. Beds are very comfortable.

A very extensive breakfast is provided and a good value honesty bar is hard to walk past!

A great base to explore the Garden Route and Tertius provides great recommendations for places to visit.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this place.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — Directions! I got lost trying to find it in the dark
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Dornoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We also stayed at this Guesthouse over Easter as a 3 day break during our drive around the coast from Cape Town to Durban. It was the perfect choice. Beautiful location, stunning views, lovely room and very personable hosts. Lots of places to eat within a short drive and a great base from which to explore this part of the Garden Route.

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere combined with the location
  • Disliked — I guess it could be a bit exposed if the weather was bad
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Highexpectati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We have just returned from a three week trip to Zambia and South Africa, during this trip we drove the garden Route and stopped off at Knysna en route. We had already booked our accomadation via contacting this property direct. We were not sure what to expect but when we arrived we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Brenton Hill Guest House is perched high on a hill in 22 hectares of beautiful tree covered land. Tertius and Sanette and their family made us really welcome, we even got an Easter egg as we were there over the Easter weekend. The food was superb and the room fantastic. We would certainly recommend this wonderful, quiet and relaxing house as a home away from home.

  • Liked — the peaceful relaxed atmosphere and the setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Elmosowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
5.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Property: Brenton Hill Self Catering
Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing