We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm staying here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I spoke with Catriona for the first time when calling for directions to Brenton Hill from the National Road after a tiring four hour drive.

She was excited to have me and my young son Jamie at their establishment and made us feel instantly at home.

Andy had been working hard to ensure everything was perfect for a music afternoon they were hosting the following day. We had a beer(s) together on the veranda as the sun slipped down. It felt more like old friends catching up rather than a first meeting.

We were shown to our spacious and well appointed room overlooking a well kept garden and onto the magnificent vista of the Knysna lagoon and the town itself.

Quiet. Peaceful. A wonderful place to rest.

Nothing was too much trouble. Next time we'll stay for longer than two days with our new friends. I've recommended Brenton Hill to friends and family traveling up the Garden Route looking for value and old school hospitality.

Thank you Andy, Cat, Ella and Ozzie (and your Mom who is absolutely amazing and makes a helluva pasta)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesStewart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you!

I do hope you keep your promise of staying longer at Brenton Hill 'next time'! - It was such a pleasure to have you staying with us.

We are always glad to hear that our guests are happy and I will make sure my mother gets the message about her pasta!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Brenton Hill.

Warmest regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

If we could visit one place again it would be Brenton Hill self catering. The most beautiful spot with views that left us breathless. Fantastic, spotless accommodation. Great atmosphere created by Cat and Andy who run this amazing place. And children welcome and loads to do!

Cannot recommend highly enough.

Thank you so much for a wonder week!!

Mr and Mrs Neill

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Many thanks for such a lovely review.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both and your beautiful family!

I am glad to hear that Brenton Hill would be your first choice if you come back to Knysna and we really hope you do one day - our kids are still talking about you all and putting pressure on us to visit you one day!!

Once again - thank you for taking the time to review Brenton Hill.

Kindest regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

First impressions weren't bad, the location seemed nice and the views were pretty enough, but we soon realised that Brenton Hill was far from idyllic. The accommodation was fairly basic and in desperate need of updating. There was a small communal pool on the owners property, but as the owners and their children were always in it, we didn't feel particularly welcome to use it. Brenton Hill is miles away from anything and there was a constant shortage of hot water. Adequate if you just need somewhere to get your head down for a night, but certainly not somewhere I'll be visiting again! Dull and dreary, give it a wide berth..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 127Angelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent accommodation. Spacious rooms and great service. Appartments offer lots of privacy. Hosts were very friendly. The view on the bay is excellent! we enjoyed our stay very much. Excellent accommodation. Spacious rooms and great service. Appartments offer lots of privacy. Hosts were very friendly. The view on the bay is excellent! we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: any apartment will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review of Brenton Hill Self Catering.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here and very much hope you visit again to enjoy the beautiful views of Knysna!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 10 nights whilst enjoying the surrounding area of Knysna. The rooms were spotless with the most stunning views of the lagoon and mountains. Each room was well equipped with everything you need for a great stay. It was perfect for our children as there was a beautiful pool and lots of space for them to play safely. The owners were friendly and helpful at all times.
In short I would recommend this guest house to anyone who wants to stay in Knysna. It was close to the main town but better than staying in the town itself as there was so much space and such a great vibe!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a fab view, great beds and plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31Caz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely time. You were such great guests - making use of the facililties at Brenton Hill and spending much time exploring our beautiful town and its surrounding areas.
Your children were a pleasure and there were a few tears shed by mine when you left - they had such fun together!
I very much hope you will come back and visit us agin one day.

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 4 nights here and it was perfect in every way. The position, the views and the comfortable rooms.
It was great to be able to just chill out and do our own cooking for a short time while mostly staying at B & B's on our holiday.
Beautifully quiet and yet not to far away from anywhere, some great walks nearby and wonderful wildlife from the bedroom window.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankthewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Brenton Hill. It was a pleasure to meet you and we very much hope you will visit us again one day!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Spent 3 nights at this excellent gem of a place. Stunning views,spotlessly clean and very friendly staff and owners. A perfect place to get away from the rat race for some chill time yet close enough to the tourist attractions.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Brenton Hill and want to say thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated and we very much hope you will return for more 'chill time' in the future!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brenton-on-Sea hotels
0.8 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton on Sea Chalets
Brenton on Sea Chalets
#3 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $92 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing