We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely setting. Nice couple who run the place. Privacy. Quite. Loved it. You have to have your own vehicle and the town is not that far from Brenton Hill. You should also go to Buffels Bay from here. What a beach and amazing walking. We were the only people for hours on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at Brenton Hill.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and we hope to meet again one day.
Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled from Durbanville and stayed 4 nights. What a wonderful time we had at Brenton Hill. Big rooms and BIG views! Cat and Andy greet you like old friends, and when you leave you are old friends! An added bonus for us was that they were even able to arrange discounted golf at Pezula and Simola for us. We cannot wait for our next trip!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank marius s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and a huge thank you for such a lovely review. Since we are now 'old friends' we hope to see you back here one day!

All the best,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 3 amazing nights last month at Brenton Hill and it is without any doubt the best place we stayed in during our 2 weeks trip in SA! Catriona and her 2 charming children welcomed us as we arrived and were so friendly. My 1.8 years old boy, which is usually very shy, went to Catriona without any problem and ran after her children all smiling and giggling. for me it said it all, but there is actually so much more to say about this place as it is absolutely stunning. we got the last room in the hallway which i think is called "the eagle's nest" and we were amazed by its size and view!! outside there is a swimming pool and also a really nice place with facilities for children which i actually took my son to play at and he enjoyed it very much. i would highly recommend this place if you are travelling with children and even if not - it is so quiet and peaceful, definitely worth the 8-10 minuets drive to Knysna which is very noisy. we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: we got the last room in the hallway which i think is called "the eagle's nest" and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you! Your review was so kind and of course your boy was happy - he IS a happy boy!! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and I am just so pleased you all had a good time.
Should you ever return to Knysna we would be so happy to see you again.

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were travelling from Cape town to the Eastern Cape and stayed 2 night at Brenton Hills. The place was beautiful, and large enough for our family and a couple that was travelling with us. My only regret was that we did not have more time so that we could have stayed there longer. Andy and Catriona were great hosts and very helpful. thanks so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryH413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. I hope that next time you get to stay a bit longer - we would certainly be delighted to see you all again.
Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Brenton Hill is everything you could wish for, and then some! We are already planning our next visit, which will certainly be for more then five days. Many thanks for a lovely stay, Andy and Catriona!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

ha ha! You are of course right - 5 days is not long enough and we are delighted t hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much are planning a return trip. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed one night at Brenton Hill, once a 5 day journey along the Garden Route, from PE to Cape Town. We were travelling with 2 other couples, both from Canada, and this was a perfect location for a group travelling together. Stunning view over Kynsna, and only a 10 minute drive into Knysna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Brenton Hill - greatly appreciated and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves for the one night you stayed. I hope in the future you come back for longer.

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were part of a group of 8 and we had the place to ourselves. The accommodation was very comfortable and roomy, with various alfresco areas that we could use, including an honesty bar!
Best by far was the breathtaking view over the lagoon to Knysna.....our hosts friendly and helpful and everything within a few minutes drive with spectacular views at every bend....going to Knysna stay at the Brenton Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Such kind words - thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The view is still here so we look forward to seeing you all again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brenton-on-Sea hotels
0.8 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton on Sea Chalets
Brenton on Sea Chalets
#3 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $92 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing