We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brenton Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Hants
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just to say thank you for a wonderful stay - great room, lovely breakfasts and the hosts absolutely fantastic. Derrick and his Wife could not have done enough for us on our recent stay, my Husband had badly damaged his ankle and they did all they could to assist. Even putting the bed on bricks to help with the swelling - they booked restaurants for us and gave us great ideas as to where to visit and the lovely beaches to use. Have no hesitation in recommending them. -- By the way Derrick the Italian Restaurant was superb. Jenny and Roger

Room Tip: They were all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
It was such a pleasure having you both stay with us. I just hope your ankle is on the mend now Roger.

Glad you enjoyed the Tredici restaurant in Swellendam. Joan and I had the occasion to try it again last Saturday. All the best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadenet
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Once again we stayed in Brenton Beach House for a few days. Once again we feel like at home!
The rooms are quiet and comfortable, the main lounge is cozy enough if you need to read or browse the web.
Derrick is at work for the breakfast, thank you, "un régal...". Nowhere else you'll find homebread and omelette like that!
Golf, canoe, walk, visit, Derrick has the right advice on everything around Knysna!
And he knows a lot about restaurants here!
So if you come to Knysna, its the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
JJ, what a pleasure it was to have you guys stay here again. I to enjoyed your company. The golf was better than the previous visit but lots still to be done in that department. Hope to see you and Noel more often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinostheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

As the only guests we enjoyed the hospitality of Derrick during our stay in August. The extensive breakfast with the tasty home-baked bread were the best start in the day. Particularly in the nice entertainment with Derrick and advice for the day we felt as friends. In the Honeymoon suit we felt like at home. The situation of the house, the view of the ocean and the hearty admission by Derrick recommend this guesthouse.
It´s a good place to relax and to enjoy the Knysna area!

Room Tip: We had the best: Honey moon suit - best lookout, calm area
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Friedolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thanks Derrick for your wonderful warm and friendly hospitality. Brenton Beach House was just lovely, the setting,our room, the breakfast omelettes and the beach, just great. Also your advice on where to eat, what to see, and where to go were invaluable.Enjoy your golf Derrick, don't forget straight down the middle!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
David and Maria were wonderful guests and although their minds were not 100% on holiday mode :) I believe they enjoyed their stay here in Brenton on sea enough to want to come back. A pleasure guys. Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Fantastic location with world-class-sunset.
Derrick + staff are very hospitable and kind people, - they have a unik place.
Fine rooms and service. Breakfast excellent.
Surroundings by the house very special and cozy.
I will never forget the Unique sunset standing on a Beach with incredible structures - once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Host Derrick very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good and has a nice choice. Staff unfriendly, not one smile in 3 days and very busy with their own mobile phone. Rooms need renovation and not clean. No Wi-Fi in our room available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank André W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We welcome all reviews, both good and poor. It’s this tool that can enable our trade to improve.

However, we do need information as to which room you stayed in so we can check out what was possibly wrong there. Just for information, all the rooms were repainted and furnished this past winter including the installation of DSTV in all the rooms.

I will take to the 2 housekeepers and ask that they put on a smiley face for the guests. I have no problem with their work however and must say they worked damn hard this past season.

Thanks again for your input and hope to gather more info from you so as you rectify the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were so warmly welcomed and the place was very nice even some driving to do. Breakfast has earned it´s reputation. Derrick is such a pleasant person.
Dont forget the beach running option (infortunately I was sick so I could not do it) between Brenton and Buffalo Bay.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea view suite was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Property: Brenton Beach House
Address: 116 Watsonia Avenue, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing