We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way back to uk with our young daughter. Reception staff were very welcoming, it was our second visit. Room was well appointed and very comfortable after a refurbishment in April. Pleasant gardens to sit in and have a drink. So far so good. We then went in for dinner. We love cooking and eating good food and what followed was remarkable, beautifully cooked and presented by an interested restaurant team who went to great lengths to explain in great detail what we were eating and how it had been prepared. For example the main course was pigeon breast and I was soon told at what temperature it had been cooked and for how long. Our 5 year old daughter had her own menu and was provided with plenty of entertainment in the form of crayons and paper. When it was realised that she was only going to have 1 course the head waiter asked us if we would like service quickened up to accommodate her. This was done superbly and the three of us had a wonderful meal, finishing off with ice cream for our daughter which was presented with a lit Roman candle which she loved. At this point the rest of the diners gave her a round of applause and it wasn't even her birthday ! As we left the restaurant 2 members of staff stood by the door and asked us if we had enjoyed the meal to which there could only be one answer.
In short one of our finest dining experiences and worthy of a Relais & Chateaux member.
Breakfast was good and we look forward to our next visit.
Thank you

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    78
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
254
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

You won't be disappointed with this accomidation. The staff is very attentive to your every need and the grounds are magnificent. I also had the pleasure of dining here and the food was divine. I would highly reccomend staying here. I know I will again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I went to this hotel to celebrate a friend's wedding so my husband and I stayed there for the night to avoid travelling late at night and more importantly as we wanted to enjoy the week end. I'll comment only on the hotel. I afraid to say that we have been very disappointed for the following reasons: the booking was very old style,(i.e. the staff asked for a lot of paper work that sincerely was a pain and they also made a mistake at the end claiming we had not paid!), the room was very small, in a dependence far from the main building, the setting of the room was average, the curtains were thin and it was not possible to black out the light completely. The hotel's prices are quite high for the market so was expecting something better. We decided not to have breakfast but rather left... Would not recommend. Having said that, the area is lovely so worth sightseeing...

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

We feel very sorry, you haven’t had a good experience in our hotel.

To confirm your booking, we ask for a signature and a credit card confirmation. In our confirmation, we do inform our guests well, to avoid any inconveniences or misunderstandings.

We do explain the roomtype you have booked in detail on our website as in your confirmation ( square meters, setting, distance, facilities, building on the property etc. ), which makes the confirmation expansive but clear, since we have a lot of roomtypes in several ( castle-like ) buildings on our estate.

It is a pity, you did not mention your non satisfaction during your stay or upon arrival. The dedicated La Butte aux Bois – team is eager to exceed the guests expectations and could have offered an alternative to you and meet your wishes this way.

The villa was completely renovated and refurbished early 2013 and air-conditioning and an elevator were implemented. Each item in the room is thoroughly renewed such as the Loewe TV’s and the Nespresso machines. Other guests mentioned the fact that curtains could not black out the room completely as well. In the meanwhile, we changed all curtains ( 8/8/13) to avoid additional inconveniences.

Unfortunately, you did not enjoy our extensive breakfast, which we serve in our gardens, and should normally complete your stay.

We hope you had a great wedding and we suggest to book a room in the Manor, probably next time, since these rooms are larger and are situated closer to our restaurant, wellness center and front desk.

Best Regards,
Team La Butte aux Bois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is charming and beautiful. It is close to Maastricht, which is a little town worth a visiti. The food is good and the service is outstanding. The rooms are excellent and so clean. I would really recommend it if you are in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploringeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

So, here is my review.
Let me start of getting of the bad news first, not really bad, depending on your preferences.
I refer to the accommodation that we enjoyed.

We were upgraded to a large apartment style chalet over looking the small lake that the hotel has. The accommodation was large to say the least. Everything was clean and in good condition, they skimmed somewhat on the bathroom fittings eg sinks surround was plastic and not marble. Think this will start to deteriorate, and therefore a false saving in my opinion. Now, whilst I am an open minded sort of person, the fact is this chalet was all OPEN PLAN. Including a direct view from the bedroom overlooking the toilet area ( see my picture ).
Having said, the above, we found the staff helpful and our children did not feel out of place. The hotel is set in some very beautiful gardens. It would be lovely to sit out and eat/drink. We ate the first night in their Brasserie (Het Binnenhof )) , and I can assure anyone it was anything but a Brasserie. It was a delightful experience. I can highly recommend it.
The following evening we dined at the “La Source”. We were the only parents their with our children and we received wonderful treatment. Our food got a little muddled but we were presented with a small bottle of desert wine. Very unexpected.
You can use bikes which are available free of charge.
I can really recommend this place for a long weekend, including parents with kids.

Room Tip: So, here is my review. Let me start of getting of the bad news first, not really bad, depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel in the environs of Maastricht, look no further than La Butte aux Bois in Lanaken. Set on the outskirts of extensive parklands, this Relais Chateaux hotellerie is beautifully appointed with homely touches. Rooms are extremely comfortable, and mine even had a TV at the end of the bath. Deep joy! Bathing whilst watching the Giro D'Italia. Breakfast buffet is sumptuous and dinners and conference facilities are excellent, easily accommodating smaller meetings. Swimming pool and sauna excellent. Only negative is its popularity as a wedding venue can spoil the ambience if you are looking for a very quiet getaway, so check before booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When one returns to a formerly visited place there is often a feeling of "it used to be better". Not so in "La Butte aux Bois". For us it has maintained the perfection we are used to year after year. What struck us was the silence at night. A few things have changed since our last stay: there is fast and free WIFI, the gastronomic restaurant reveals a glimpse of the busy kitchen and the rooms have become even more comfortable. imagine watching the TV news on a waterproof TV while taking a bath.The hotel has a side building across the road and seeing the works there is a big renovation going on. On the practical side we always found ample parking place. The reception is stylishly manned. Well... manned by charming and helpful ladies. Both the casual Binnenhof restaurant and the gastronomic "La Source" are to be recommended and we are disappointed that Michelin has not yet given a "star" to Ralf Berendsen's cuisine. The restaurant is managed by a charming lady maître Bianca Harteman whose experience is as radiant as the oenological knowledge of sommelier Loek Bastin and his colleague Robert.
We are really looking forward to our next stay and congratulate the manager,Mr.Marc Alofs for maintaining the quality of "La Butte aux Bois". We just feel like returning to see friends.Their personal contact is precious.
There is a renowned Wellness in house but we have not used it.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building and in the annex, some 100 meters away. For best advice and cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrik_vankets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Mr Vankets

What a pity I have not been able to greet you this time, I was probably already gone when you arrived.

It's always nice to see you back in La Butte aux Bois!

I enjoyed reading this nice review and i will certainly pass it on to all my colleagues and Mr. Alofs.

We already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanaken
6.1 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
6.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken - Different Hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#3 of 11 in Genk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boomgaard
Hotel Boomgaard
#3 of 4 in Lanaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie

Property: La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Address: Paalsteenlaan 90 | Lanaken, Lanaken 3620, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Lanaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing