We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you happen to be in Belgium - east of Brussels - then you MUST experience what we found... and we found it purely by accident :-)

http://www.labutteauxbois.be

This hotel is located literally "at the end of the road".
It's not cheap but wow, you deserve to feel the energy.....
The Reception team were really kind and as usual, if you talk nicely, friendly and smile, you get a bit more.... and we did.
They gave us a high floor corner room.... BIG and spacious with a view of the woods.... see the pictures, snow and all....
The dining room is fabulous with a centre fire place
Great sauna-pool-spa area and if you have the time for all the treatments, then all the better. We did not have treatments but I expect they are great, given the good energy of the place overall.

We were sorry to leave !

Have a good day !

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the bigger, better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be-Decent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Mr.

Waaw what a nice review!

We hope to welcome you some other time in La Butte aux Bois!

Have a nice day to.

Kind regards
Team La Butte aux Bois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    82
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
74
265
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this superb hotel just after Christmas. It was our first time and when we checked out, we immediately reserved for the same period in 2013. Splendid hotel, outstanding service; extremely friendly staff ; outstanding room and unbelieveable location and surroundings. The place for a relaxing short stay!
This hotel already received a Trip Advisor reward and we surely hope - are confident - that they will receive many more in the years to come.
One small negative comment : the wellness center is a little bit too small and if the hotel is fully booked it is difficult to find an empty spot around the pool-side. Sauna accomodation is not very big neither.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Mr, Mrs

Nice to read that you will come back next year! We look forward to it.

Kind regards
Team La Butte aux Bois!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilzen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have no words for this stay it was just incredible!
When we arrived we felt like kings and queens thanks to that blond receptionist. She was really great, we had a big laugh with her.. :-D
Our room was very very nice. 'La Source' is one of the best restaurants from Limburg, our meal was delicious. For breakfast we had lots of choice. After a nice day walking through the green environment we enjoyed the wellness in the Aquamarijn.
After those 2 days we had enough positive energy for a long time. Thank you staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessy B, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Cindy

Thank you very much fur these nice words. We hope to welcome you in La Butte aux Bois again.

Kind regards
Team La Butte aux Bois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good accommodation and very friendly people all over the hotel!
nice garden with beautiful view!
direct entry to national park of limburg for walking!
good restaurant with price-quality dishes!
within a circle of 50 km a lot of interesting visiting places!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynderswilfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Simply The Perfect Relax Weekend in an exceptionally stylish country estate within a green and tranquil environment, beautiful French country zen rooms, great all included breakfast (you can even bake your own pancakes;-), Pure indulgence and pampering at the 'Aquamarijn' welness centre, excellent regional gastronomic dinner at 'Het Binnenhof', superb creative & innovative dinner at 'La Source' providing a pure and perfect delight to the eye and the stomach, both dinners accompanied by the according & finest wines... and the cherry on the cake: always enriched by a hospital, friendly, charming & warmhearted service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessy B, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Thomas Mees

Waaw what a great review, thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you again in La Butte aux Bois.

Kind regards
Team La Butte aux Bois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Typical Limburg hospitality with professional, excellently trained and very friendly staff. Superbe location in the forest, great chateau, incredibly good restaurant (La Source) with a fantastic sommelier and dito wine cellar!

Highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessy B, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Enrique Cerveza

Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased to hear you had a good time in La Butte aux Bois.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards, team La Butte aux Bois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was a strange start. We arrived later then expected and we had reserved one of the packages that comes with the gastronomic diner included. The receptionist asked a bit abruptly, even before we were able to get the suitcases out of the car, to go directly to the restaurant "sito presto". Frankly we were a bit shocked by that attitude, we just had a long drive and wanted to unwind a bit before being forced to eat a 3 course dinner for which we were not ready. So we went to the restaurant and asked very friendly if we could postpone the dinner to the next evening and just have a snack on the terrace and enjoy the evening sun and warmth a bit. David who catered for this section was marvelous, and just overdid himself with kindness, professionalism and his "no problems, only solutions attitude". I think we must of hit a wrong button at that receptionist, even after that first encounter we had a second one, where again we felt a bit taken back by her attitude. The next day though all was fine and now I can really talk about the experience itself.

The hotel is 5 star, for sure, excellent rooms, good beds, linens, amenities, all is perfect. The surroundings are exquisite, beautiful garden, excellent quality of interiors and finishes.
The restaurant is really "wow" we had our diner on the terrace, Davis had made sure we were able to do so. We couldn't understand why so many people wanted to sit inside in a nice but crowdy room, while it was magnificent weather outside, not so much seen in Belgium actually.
We had breakfast in bed, more then perfect room service and also had a massage at the Spa.

That was for me the only exception on the otherwise 5 star quality of everything. I felt the the treatment rooms were small, and felt more like a dentist area then a Zen room to relax. Luckily we were able to get our massages outside in a tent instead of those rooms. On the other hand, the pool, the sauna and whirlpool were well laid out, big enough and good quality.

Would I recommend it? Yes for sure, it is pricey ! but for those who can find bargains, do it.
And again, David...thanks for your excellent service, our stay was a big plus thanks to you.

Room Tip: Room 107 gives on the front of the hotel, so for late sleepers it gets quite noisy here sometimes in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liteworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessy B, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Liteworker

First thank you for your review.
We're very sorry you had to experience your arrival like that, i'm sure it was not the intention of our receptionist to give you that feeling.
I'm glad to hear we offered you a good solution and i will give this review to David to read.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in La Butte aux Bois.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanaken
6.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,659 reviews
6.1 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
3.5 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken - Different Hotels
4.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,345 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie

Property: La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Address: Paalsteenlaan 90 | Lanaken, Lanaken 3620, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Lanaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing