We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Basic Hotel”
Review of The Lodge Diest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge Diest
Ranked #3 of 4 Diest B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This Hotel is located in the centre of Diest, close to several restaurants and bars.

There are two 'halves' of the Hotel with different character. The old building has large character rooms with nice unique features and bathrooms. The newer building has standard hotel rooms with airconditioning , nice modern bathrooms and desk area. There is no restaurant or bar in the Hotel but there is a breakfast room that serves a continental breakfast.

The reception is not manned 24 hours and so if you expect a late arrival then you will need to prearrange an entry code and your key will be left out for you with directions to the room. This works well if you plan ahead.

The hotel is clean and comfortable and reasonably prices for either a business trip or short vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a character room then ask for a room in the old building. However these may not have air...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge Diest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Second year that we stay here during the annual Oldtimer Fly In. A really superb place with an equally superb atmosphere. The staff is so helpful and friendly. We feel very much at home. Did we mention the breakfast? Do yourself a favour and take all the time to enjoy this.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, relaxing and very comfortable. I had a huge room, a large bathroom and the 4 nights there in a king sized bed made me get the good night sleep you sometimes lack when on business. The only drawback is the limited reception service. None the less, business or pleasure definitely worth it. Parking is free about 50 meters from the hotel and this from 7pm to 9am, during the day you must pay. free Wi-Fi is an absolute bonus although i found it to not work great and connection quality was poor

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in 'the Lodge' in Diest during the Oldtimer Fly In at the Diest aerodrome in august 2010. Fortunately we got the nicest suite, and nice it was. Very well decorated and everything in it (except coffeemaking faciity, that could be an improvement).
Staff was more than helpful and very friendly. Breakfast complete and with no complaint at all.
Next year at the fly-in there is only 1 hotel for us to go to again: The Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We decided to go to the Lodge Hotel for Easter as a last minute decision based on the pictures. The hotel is located in a beautiful old building, whih looks like a castle. The staff was very friendly, the location was great (very central in Diest) and breakfast was fine. The room itself was basic. We had one in the new part of the hotel, where all the cheaper rooms are located. Dont't get your hopes up too much after the pictures on the website, as those are the rooms in the old (more expensive) part. The new part doesn't have high ceilings or anything. Location was convenient, a few minutes walk from the main market square and about 10 minutes from the Beguinage.
Parking is outside on the street, only a coupe of euro for the whole day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Very disappointing. We were treated well until we asked for a replacement travel cot for our toddler as the one we were given was broken at all 4 ends. We were told by the manager that there was no replacement and if we werent' happy, we should find another hotel. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the past 15 years and have never been treated this way. We had previously stayed in this hotel 10 years prior (before having children) and had a nice experience so were very disappointed to spend family time in such a negative light.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Speedy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diest
1.8 mi away
Hotel Prins van Oranje
0.2 mi away
De Franse Kroon
De Franse Kroon
#1 of 4 in Diest
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel De Modern
#4 of 4 in Diest
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Aangenaam Anders
B&B Aangenaam Anders
#2 of 4 in Diest
1 reviews
9.6 mi away
'S Hertogenmolens Hotel
'S Hertogenmolens Hotel
#65 of 173 in Flemish Brabant Province
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Diest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Diest

Address: Refugiestraat 23-25, Diest, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Diest
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Diest
Price Range: $110 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Diest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge Diest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing