We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”
Review of Q'Bo

Q'Bo
Order Online
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Heverlee
Price range: $18 - $22
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

The chicken was burned, they gave us too small portions for a too high price, too expensive. Although sauce was very nice.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank MB9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneleen P, Eigenaar at Q'Bo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Dear,

I am sorry that you feel that way.
About the price, we work with import products they are more expensive than the normal products you find in Belgium and everything is fresh. So we do have to charge ‘more’.
Depending what you find expensive, some people pay 16€ for a salad with tomatoes and mozzarella and are ok with that.

The other thing I am so sorry that you didn’t give us the chance to make you feel good about your main course. You finished the hole plate and then you told us the chicken tasted burned? I ate the leftover chicken from that pan and didn’t tasted burned the sauce was smokier than normal so maybe that’s what maybe made you doubt?

Next time in any other restaurant if you are not happy or you taste something you don’t like please tell the kitchen before you finish your plate and I am sure they will make you something new without a problem as we would have done that if we would have known.
But don’t give them a bad rating on Internet if they didn’t even got the chance.
King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2017

First of all we chose this place for our dinner for it's terrace. It was a hot day and we wanted to eat in a terrace. The evening was so complete with delicious cocktails, nice starters and beautiful main course. The desserts just made the evening even more special. It is a nice place to enjoy mexican food and for a terrace time.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shreeyashetye15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Positively surprised by this small restaurant! Great Mexican food, starters were great to share, choice of main dishes was limited (but I prefer freshly made food anyway over larger menu choice)
Chipotle and Fajita Special were delicious.
Suggest to reserve in advance, as the restaurant seating is limited.
We will definitely return!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank PeterDB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Let me start by saying outright: the food at Q'Bo is delicious. It's fresh, balanced and substantial. However, there were a few hiccups in our experience.

The menu lists margaritas for 6,5 each, or a carafe of the stuff for 16. There were two of us, so we decided to order a carafe, expecting it to be more than the individual servings. It turned out to make just two glasses. I mentioned this to the waiter, who apologised and went to the kitchen to discuss the matter; however, I heard the girl who was cooking claim that the carafe would serve three rather than two, and the waiter did not follow up with us in any way. That was disappointing; we should have been offered at least some more of the margarita, or to be charged only two margaritas and not the carafe. Either way, the drink wasn't very good; it clearly wasn't a traditional recipe, but rather tasted like a mix of cheap lemonade and (too little) tequila - not something I'd pay the same amount of money for either way.

We had a guacamole as a shared starter. This was absolutely delicious: fresh, delicate, authentic. It was a good size for sharing between two; however, the starters on the menu were all pretty expensive at €9 for the nachos or guacamole and €16 for the platter of mixed starters. All the mains were also around 16 each. The things we had - the veg enfrijolada and the special red chipotle - were absolutely delicious and tasted very balanced, however were served in the 'touristy-authentic' way: with salad and rice. While you are likely to get your food served this way in a Mexican tourist restaurant, it's not exactly traditional. Still delicious and filling, though.

Overall Q'Bo is a nice place to eat, the restaurant is cosy and pretty, the music brings you in the mood and the food is definitely great. However, the service wasn't great (to be fair, the waiter was really sweet, it seemed to be the kitchen lady who decided he shouldn't give us any compensation for the lack of drink we got) and it's a bit expensive for what you get. Still, next to La Cucaracha (from the same owners) the most authentic-tasting Mexican food you can get in Leuven.

Tl;dr: go if you crave Mexican and don't mind paying a bit; don't go if you're a Mexican purist, or demand impeccable service.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Q'bo offers excellent fresh Mexican food. The fresh Tacaos Primavera as a starter are a winner. You can order a bucket of Coronas. I do recommend to take two or three courses as a main course portion is not enough. That's the only reason why my rating is "only" four stars.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ToopTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q'Bo also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Q'Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing