We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, fine service”
Review of Voltaire

Voltaire
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Heverlee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 14, 2018 via mobile

We went there on a Friday evening, and clearly you can see how popular the restaurant is.

The decoration was cozy, and the atmosphere was nice.

Food was excellent, the experience of eating there was quite unique. We ordered the 4 courses: appetite, main and dessert. Every course is tasty. Not sure if this restaurant is star-Ed, but he deserves a star in my view.

PS: would have been nicer when the waiter/waitress asked if we want a drink after we sat down, instead of we asked them after 15 mins we sat. (We were early arrived and made reservation as a group)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank dellair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Good food service by capable team. Two main courses were service late but lots of apologies and free coffee helped make up for it. I’d certainly use the place again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank brusselswanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

I really love this restaurant because the food is always good, the places are presented beautifully, portions are decent and value for money is unmatched in Leuven.
I recommend getting one of the menu's were you get French wines and water included in your meal. Servings of the drinks are really generous (like, REALLY generous) and the food will not disappoint you. I've never had a dish I didn't like.
Service is attentive although can be busy at times.
The interior inside won't blow you off your feet but the terrace is very nice to sit in summer (and shady, too).
All in all this is not a place were you come for the fancy trendy setting, you come for the food and you damn right will enjoy it!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim_is_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

This roomy restaurant with a delightful garden section set in the academic suburb of Heverlee, offers a traditional Belgian selection of meals. It is slightly annoying that if one person at the table takes the set menu, then the whole table must do so. It is probably related to their "unlimited-wine-with-the-menu" policy. For a set menu, the waiting time between dishes was too long, and the price too high for the kinds of dishes in that menu (an example: a crab croquette entree + a duck breast main + ice cream dessert for about 50 Euros). This is not Michelin star dining but well prepared home food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Nice food, very well presented and excellent service at your own pace, loved the paella, creme brûlée and nice coffee to end the meal

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Bie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voltaire also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Heverlee, Leuven
 

Been to Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing