We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual hotel with character”
Review of Salons Waerboom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groot-Bijgaarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salons Waerboom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here as it's close to the office and convenient but it turned out to be a nice surprise. I got a room in the villa which is a separate building with apartments in so my room was huge and well equipped plus it was a lot quieter than being in the main building.
Breakfast was great with lots of options and service was perfectly fine. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Back to this hotel and quality is always quite high. People at the reception should speak a better French, while the two ladies at the info corner are very helpful, and speak English and French fluently. As a very important plus, you can have a voucher for 2hrs free at the nearby (500mt) waer waters, which is really a must, if you have time. Will be back also for this reason.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank tarheel12670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were here for a wedding, the wedding was very nice but for spending £100+ for the room out of town I expected more for my money. The room we were given had a nice bathroom but the rest of the room was pretty tatty, very old tv and curtains falling off the rails. The grounds looked nice though and the free time at the spa next door was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

the location is near brussels in a green area, but with traffic noise.
The welcome was quite friendly but when I asked for room service this was seen as a strange request. I asked to prepare me something vegetarian as there was no menu to choose from.
A small side salad arrived with two rolls and I remained hungry as there was no other food available in the area. Possibly I should have sat in the restaurant to have an actual dinner but this was not told to me so I didn't realise the room service would be so poor (and expensive). The building is beautiful as is the surrounding area. The room was rustic.
There was a lot of noise early in the morning from the cleaning ladies shouting at 6 am. Also my colleagues heard doors moving with a lot of noise at 11 pm.
Our meeting room was very good. Lunch and dinner were of good quality but small portions. Service could have been friendlier.
suana and pool are included, a fifteen minute walk but very big and pleasant.

I might stay here again but might also opt for a differnet location in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This property is lovely and has farms with horses right next door....but on the other side is a huge highway, which you can hear constantly. It is screened with trees and shrubbery, but the sound is constant, even though out of view.
That said, the hotel is a fun mix of old and new. We had a business event held there, as well as staying there two nights. The breakfast is fabulous, and dinners were awesome, too. The pricing is pretty expensive, but each and every menu item was perfectly prepared, whether lamb or fish. The staff assisting us with logistics for the business portion were very helpful and service for the refreshments was attentive without being fussy.
The room was spotless and provided kettle, teas, hair dryer and toiletries. However, it would have been nice to have an iron and ironing board, especially for business travelers holding an event at the property. Fortunately travel wrinkles hung out pretty well in a steamy bathroom, but perhaps we should have asked.....they may have had an iron available but we didn't ask at the desk.
The bed, however, was my big complaint. It was only slightly better than a futon, with many saggy and lumpy parts. The duvet and comforter was very nice, as it was cold during our visit and the room heating was strange and took some adjusting to get a happy middle temperature without running the fan constantly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKDogartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice hotel, refurnished barn with basic comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Restaurant is simple, limited choice and a bit expensive for what it is but good.
Location : The hotel is located in the country side, so very peacefull and nice break. for these who look for a central location to visit brussels, the hotel is far and requires taxi or a car
Room : overall comfortable, nice bed, small room with some having limited headroom. TV does not have BBC news or CNN or French channels. Complimentary bottle of water but no tea or coffee. No dressing goan. a bit noisy when neighbourgh speaks in corridors
Bathroom : nice and clean, however limited space and no bodylotion or other kit
Breakfast : a strong point : good choice of pastries, fresh orange juice, well cooked eggs, fresh fruits.
Services : now spa is available, free wifi
Quality of personnal : overall nice, but could be warmer welcome
Restaurant : good food, however basic, quite expensive and limited choice

Room Tip: Rooms located in the building outside the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am staying one night per week at the hotel in Brussels but since my regular hotel was full, i had to stay at the Waerboom. Though the outside environment is nice, the rooms are quite old fashioned, rustical and noisy. My experience at the restaurant was a disaster. There is no individual table for 2, I had to wait 20mn for the waiter to take my order, I order fish but I got pork... The breakfast buffet is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex13031974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groot-Bijgaarden
1.2 mi away
Gosset Hotel
Gosset Hotel
#2 of 4 in Groot-Bijgaarden
53 reviews
3.2 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Zen Your Life
B&B Zen Your Life
#2 of 2 in Groot-Bijgaarden
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Victory
Hotel Victory
#3 of 4 in Groot-Bijgaarden
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Salons Waerboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salons Waerboom

Address: Jozef-Mertensstraat | 140, Groot-Bijgaarden 1702, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Groot-Bijgaarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Groot-Bijgaarden
Price Range: $145 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic business hotel with access to 6000m² wellness resort WAER WATERS, free fitness, free parking, tennis and squash. Hotelrestaurant open in the evening from monday till friday. Easy access from the center of Brussels, Ghent and the North West of Brussels, nearby highway and RO, 15 min to Brussels Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing