We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Auberge du Pecheur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Pecheur
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were guests at a very lavish wedding held at this hotel. We didn't stay but experienced their catering. The standard of food was superb, the oysters remarkably fresh, the champagne superb and the service very good indeed.

On a sunny day the location is delightful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    71
    50
    28
    7
See reviews for
29
72
1
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked a dinner in The Green Brasserie during a recent stay at this hotel. The quality and choice of food was very good but the evening was spoiled for us by poor service. We do not like to be fussed over by waiting staff but neither do we like to be ignored. The brasserie was about half full and there were at least 6 waiting staff buzzing about. What they were doing escapes me as they seem to have perfected the art of ignoring the customer. By the end of the meal we had got so fed up it was laughable. An expensive meal spoiled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The modernized rooms in this hotel, especially in the annexes, are comfortable, elegant and well-designed. The setting close to the river is beautiful. The cuisine is good. The receptionists are bright and helpful and other staff do their best. Why then the low rating? There are four reasons.

(1) Most of the ground space of the hotel and the lawn and terrace featured on the website are given over to banqueting and conferences much of the time. They are inaccessible to hotel guests when being so used. At other times, the hotel lacks public spaces for guests and most of the ground floor consists of empty suites with the tables set ready for the next conference/banquet.

(2) A busy main road, with no pedestrian crossing, runs right next to the brasserie's outdoor terrace, and between the hotel's different quarters. It is hazardous crossing this road, the traffic noise is ever present, and the exhaust fumes do not add to dining pleasure.

(3) When a wedding or other event is being held, the service in the brasserie deteriorates sharply. Although in principle the hotel claims to have separate staff and kitchens for its different sets of guests, in practice the brasserie is deprived of much of its staff when they are needed elsewhere. The waiting time between each course is interminable. Young and inexperienced waiters are slow and make mistakes with orders. Even if there is no wedding, the staff is inadequate when the restaurants are busy and the waits are long.

(4) The management has proved totally unresponsive to legitimate complaints.

Despite the hotel's positive features, these drawbacks give a stressful and disappointing flavor to what should be a thoroughly pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building. Take care when crossing the main road to go back to your room in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sint-Martens-Latem hotels

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Quite by chance we came upon this delightful hotel. Situated near Ghent in beatiful surroundings we booked for a weekend.
It happened to be a very, very warm weekend! The room ( a junior suite) was very well appointed with a wonderful view over the river Leije. All kind of boats passed by what made it all very entertaining. The airconditioning ( much needed) worked perfectly; good beds, top quality linens.
Slippers in the bathroom but no robes! The hotel does not provide them.
The food in this one-star Michelin guide restaurant is highly recommended; we had lunch and dinner there and even the breakfast ( one day served on the lawn next to the river) is delicious
A most enjoyable stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This restaurant was simply breathtaking. Beautiful views and stunning flower arrangements everywhere. The food was ok but not as impressive as the atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This place is extra special the staff are very attentive and the room we stayed in had a nice view of the river and countryside.We ate in the Brasserie off the relax menu and the food was superb and not to pricey for the quality.Would have liked to have seen it in better weather as it rained all the time.

Room Tip: Try to stay in main hotel as some rooms are across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We made reservations at the brasserie Green, and had the Bib Gourmand menu with the lobster! Well lobster? The oversized scampi was served with plain rice...! the starter was a canneloni of salmon,with 1/4 of an asperagues and a tiny piece of apple, dessert was nice! But the food we had in a neareby restaurant was much appreciated since we were hungry! The only thing that was sufficient was the bill!!!!!!! never again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faustocoppi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sint-Martens-Latem
1.8 mi away
Hotel Torenhof
Hotel Torenhof
#1 of 2 in Sint-Martens-Latem
93 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#18 of 37 in Ghent
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
564 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
5.4 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 37 in Ghent
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Pecheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Pecheur

Property: Auberge du Pecheur
Address: Pontstraat 41, Sint-Martens-Latem 9831, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Sint-Martens-Latem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sint-Martens-Latem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Pecheur 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Auberge du Pecheur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Pecheur Belgium/Sint-Martens-Latem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing