We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel if your visiting Bruges, or for an overnight stop.”
Review of Hotel Orchidee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orchidee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Aalter is a small town just off the motorway to Germany. Convenient free parking in front of hotel. Lovely stylish clean and comfortable room. Comfortable bed, and great shower. Our only gripe (and it is slight) is that the breakfast didn't do the hotel justice, (though the coffee was brilliant)
Didnt try the Hotel restaurant, as many excellent places around the corner, including a bar with wonderful Belgian Ales on tap. We'd stay here again even if it were more expensive.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was excellent. Its a quiet area so no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justicewilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We wanted an overnight stop on our way to Germany and this hotel is only 5 mins from motorway. Our room was spacious and clean (except for some small stains on the chairs) with very comfortable beds, table & chairs, coffee/tea making facilities, a fridge, air conditioning (which we couldn't work properly, but that's probably just us), tv where we got BBC2 but didn't explore any more, and a spacious shower room with a brilliant 'drencher' shower, there was also a hairdryer. It was very quiet both inside and outside the hotel and we had a really good night's sleep after a meal in the restaurant which was reasonable. Breakfast buffet was good with fruit salad, breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, excellent coffee/tea, though only 'kids' cereals. Public free parking is right in front of the hotel and appeared very safe. Before our onward journey in the morning we ventured along a short road into the centre of the small town and found an interesting market there as it was market day (Wednesday). Everybody was very friendly and we would happily stay at the Orchidee again on a future through-journey or even for a couple of days to do some local sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stopped on way to Floriade in Venlo, Netherlands on border with Germany, very conveniently situated 5minutes off motorway. Free public car park in front of hotel. Room was clean, comfortable beds, powerful shower, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi. Breakfast was good - fruit, cereal, cheeses, meats, rolls, bread, pastries. Only down side was that the restaurant was closed on Sunday evening, not even bar snacks but a very good, reasonably priced Italian restaurant 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We were looking for an independant hotel for a night while travelling to southern Germany from UK, wanted to be easy to find and close to our route. Just couldn't find anything in our price range so opted for Hotel Orchidee which was close enough to easily get to Gent for half a day's sightseeing. The public car park was just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and felt very safe. Staff were great. Room was clean, comfortable, modern, quiet. After checking in we took some cycle brochures from reception, jumped on our bikes and followed completely flat cycle routes around the area for an hour or two, found some superb houses in a big forest. Later checked out the town, very small, several attractive bars on the square, can't remember the name of the one we chose to sample two or three local beers, good service again. In the end we decided to miss Gent on this occasion as we were afraid of getting stuck in Friday afternoon traffic round Brussels. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylviGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I loved this hotel. We stayed there about 4 times always for 1 night only when we traveled. Absolutely lovely hotel with good value. Rooms are modern, comfy and clean. Breakfast very nice- bufet. only one minus was that there was no tea/ coffee facilities in a room, Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as an overnight on my journey.

Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Public areas of the hotel modern and cheerful. Parking good. The room was bright, airy and large. One of the most powerful hotel showers I have come across! The room showed evidence of a lot of use, chair fabrics marked, a lot of marks on white walls.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveDPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Overnight stay at this hotel as a stop over on the way to Holland. We found the hotel easily and car parking is free with plenty of spaces. Receptionist friendly enough at check in. Room felt a little like a cell - probably due to the grey decor and the window was so high you couldn't see out of it and one of the walls could do with a good clean it was very scuffed. Very large bed that was comfortable. Good large bathroom/wet room. My main problem with this hotel as a non smoker is the smell of smoke everywhere. We had a drink in the bar and within minutes were engulfed in smoke, this unfortunately is noticeable in the rooms too and I had a bad night's sleep because of this. We didn't eat in the restaurant (although that is a non smoking area) as the menu seemed rather over priced for what it was. Buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank Cleobear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aalter
12.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,335 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 38 in Ghent
655 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Het Eycken Huys
Het Eycken Huys
#1 of 6 in Aalter
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apollonia
Apollonia
#2 of 6 in Aalter
15 reviews
3 mi away
Lomolen B&B
Lomolen B&B
#4 of 6 in Aalter
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidee

Address: Aard 1, Aalter 9880, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orchidee 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Orchidee is situated in the center of Aalter, provides modern rooms, a buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the building. All of the individually air-conditioned/heated rooms at Best Western Hotel Orchidee have a satellite TV , free safe, free coffee amenities, fridge and a work desk. Each of the rooms also have a private en suite bathroom with shower, toilet and wash table with all necessary amenities. The E40 motorway (Exit 11) is about 500 m away. Best Western Hotel Orchidee has a free and safe public parking in front of the hotel. Aalter Railway Station is less than a 15-minute walk away with direct services to Ghent and Bruges every half hour, with the car a 20-minute drive is all it takes to reach both Ghent and Bruges. The surrounding area is well suited for hiking and cycling tours, bikes can be rented in the local bicycle shop. In summertime the town square is filled with outside seating where drinks and food can be enjoyed in an extraordinary ambiance until late in the night. Guests can enjoy specialty beers and a selections of more then 70 kind of liquors and whisky's in the bar. This bar is frequently visited by the local population. There are various restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aalter
Aalter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing