We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but sometimes crowded”
Review of Stadscafe Turnhout

Stadscafe Turnhout
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Turnhout
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hoogstraten, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but sometimes crowded”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The service and food are great, the atmosphere is very relaxed, but during lunchtime on school holidays it can be very crowded, (due to the lack of other good places in Turnhout I guess)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tonneke_breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    53
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

They offer the 'regular' food, nothing fancy, nothing special at prices that reflect the location (Grand Place of Turnhout). Smoking ban (all restaurants and bars) have helped improve the place. Before the food, which is even today a bit bland, was more influenced by smokers than by the chef.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEATravellerFromEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlimmeren City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, nice setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For a decent meal or a drink, Stadscafe is the place to be. The service is good and the building has been renovated nicely. The only downside for some people could be that the restrooms are on the first floor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piepgriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
2,129 reviews
1,303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Very Nice Cafe”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I found this cafe near the middle of town. I took a peek at several other places around the vicinity and it definitely looked like the one that was the most inviting. The location was convenient as it was on the square across from the large church. I went in at about 1:30 assuming lunch would be winding down but it was still very busy. In fact, when I left, there were only a couple of open tables suggesting the place is very popular with the locals. There indeed were a lot of conversations taking place as it appeared to be one of those places where friends meet. The decor is quite modern and there is a sun room with a glassed-in area that is quite pleasant. The menu is continental and typical of local fare. I had the tomato soup and crab salad baguette. Both were quite good. The service was very competent and the waiter was attentive despite being busy. The prices were what I would have expected for the area and that type of place. My lunch was 13+ euros. If you are in downtown Turnhout, this is a good option to try. I was there in winter but I have to imagine it is at its prime in Summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadscafe Turnhout also viewed

Turnhout, Antwerp Province
Turnhout, Antwerp Province
 
Turnhout, Antwerp Province
Turnhout, Antwerp Province
 
Turnhout, Antwerp Province
Turnhout, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Stadscafe Turnhout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing