We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not awful, but almost”
Review of Corsendonk Viane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corsendonk Viane
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Turnhout
Lisbon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not awful, but almost”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This Hotel really has nothing much going for it, it's old and needs urgent refurbishment
The rooms... it depends on which one you get, some smell, some don't have heating, other have a strange noise, some have crappy beds, and others have low shower pressure... it's very hard to get one where everything works, but you can
The internet... depends on the floor, the room and the day, sometimes it works fine and you can stream from youtube, sometimes you can't even check your email
I never had the breakfast so I can't comment on that, but they've recently added a dinner service to the restaurant which is not that bad
On the plus side, most of the staff are nice and the location is also good

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmendeslx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    24
    22
    7
See reviews for
7
14
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
352 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a dull place. It gave me the impression that the hotel is on its last legs and will be closed down soon. There were large empty spaces on the ground floor, the corridors were not very clean and the room was in much need of some refurbishment/redecoration. The bed and the bathroom were more or less clean. Free WiFi internet worked well. The TV had a limited number of channels and had to be resetted with the main switch when I could not get it to work. Breakfast was not to standard for the € 15,- I paid. The bacon and scrambled eggs were cold and the "fresh" fruit was probably a couple of days old. Better go somewhere else for breakfast. All the time I was at the hotel I have only seen one person from the staff, at breakfast there was none. All-in-all there are probably other, less gloomy, places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turnhout hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Hotel is in need of refurbishment , rooms are basic, bathrooms need attention, lacking in basic comforts, breakfast is expensive. wouldn't use this hotel for future visit to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level Contributor
309 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

It's near the centre of Turnhout. Rooms are basic as is the bathroom. Not always the best sensation of cleanliness. Reception was kind.
Did not try nor breakfast nor restaurant. Would suggest going into the centre for food, much better quality and offer. Good free wifi ideal for working.
The TV was ok even though the remote control had a flat battery !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Design Hotel Corsendonck Viane in Turnhout.

First impression was very bad: carpet and walls in corridors and rooms are dirty and stained. The room was very, very cold. It seems that there is only power and heating when you put your room key in the little slot by the door. They give you only one room key.
Since it was so cold outside, I would have expected them to warm up the rooms before arrival of the guests; and give an extra room key to keep the room warm while away.

There is no room service on Sundays. The bathroom had only 2 bath towels. We asked the hotel on Sunday morning for more towels and they promised to send some over; however none came. We had to use the same towels 3 days in a row ... Saturday, Sunday and Monday. There is no shampoo/shower gel. Bring your own.

I booked a Junior Suite. The room we were given, was fairly big; however, I seemed to remember that there would be a separate bedroom. Back home, I checked the booking and it seems that although we booked a junior suite, we were put in a standard room.

Do NOT eat breakfast at the hotel. Price is EUR 15/person and is overpriced. The breakfast room in the hotel was very unpleasant with stains on ceiling etc.; the room was also cold, very cold; the scrambled eggs were very cold too and so was the bacon.
The next day, we had breakfast at the Lunch Garden of the Carrefour. We paid only CHF 3.50 and it was much tastier.

A few plusses:
The rooms are big
The beds are very good
Town centre and train station is walking distance

However, be prepared!
Ask for a second room key
Ask for extra towels, especially when staying during the weekend
Do NOT eat breakfast at the hotel
Bring your own soap and shampoo

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
338 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This review relates to the Design Aparthotel that is part of, yet separate of Corsendonk Viane Hotel. It is a couple of hundred meters away and run independently for the bigger part. I found it as a recommendation on the Michelin-website where you can trust hotel tipps almost as much as restaurants :-)

Arriving at the Aparthotel is really simple as it is not in the old City Centre, yet close. It is also close to the Station (walking distance). Parking is easy as there is underground parking and places in front of the door. There is a reception until 9 pm. and when you arrive late, you receive a code for a key safe from which you can obtain your key. I had a room on the fourth floor with a nice balcony, facing the sunset. The rooms are very large, have a small kitchen, tables, flat screen TV set, super beds and several closets. And air conditioning and Wifi - two access points on each floor.

It's a bit sad that there is no bar or at least a vending machine for drinks or snacks. Also, breakfast is a bit too Dutch-Belgian for my taste, but it is OK.

If you can't stay in Antwerp, this is probably the best you can find in a 40 km environment. Again, this only relates to the Design Aparthotel of Corsendonk Viane. I have not seen the main hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Basic hotel with basic functionality - like all 3 star hotels. Room is ok. Looks shabby and dusty. Breakfast is basic without frills. Staff are polite and helpful, but forgot my wakeup call. The town is pretty but empty (mabe because its December). There is a train station 10 minutes walk from the hotel that has a train to Brussels (slow train 90 minutes).

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — Bedroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnhout
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Ter Driezen
Hostellerie Ter Driezen
#2 of 5 in Turnhout
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.9 mi away
Corsendonk De Linde
Corsendonk De Linde
#1 of 1 in Retie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel De Watermolen
Hotel De Watermolen
#1 of 2 in Kasterlee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Joker Bed & Breakfast
De Joker Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Turnhout
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Priorij Corsendonk
Priorij Corsendonk
#35 of 107 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corsendonk Viane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corsendonk Viane

Property: Corsendonk Viane
Address: Korte Vianenstraat 2, Turnhout 2300, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Turnhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Turnhout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corsendonk Viane 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Corsendonk Viane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing