We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie Ter Driezen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Turnhout
Toronto
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of four days at the centrally located Hostellerie Ter Driezen during a business trip to Turnhout. The family owned/run hotel is well maintained, clean and warm. Rooms are well equipped with WiFi that works.. Common element areas are lovely and a pleasure just to sit in and enjoy. Breakfast is super. Freshly squeezed juices, fresh baked goods et cetera. The family members are onsite and are very helpful.
Really, cannot recommend this property highly enough.

Room Tip: Garden room wonderufl in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hostellerie Ter Driezen is a family owned beaufull villa in the center of Turnhout. All rooms a different, with their own classic style, very well maintained, and has a nice garden to enjoy a drink in the evening sun. The owners take care of you in a very friendly manner. Excellent continental breakfast with a great choice of freshly baked pastry and bread. Own parkingspace close to the hotel (you should reserve a space when booking your room).

Room Tip: During the summer-period, as for a room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed a number of times at this hotel when coming to Turnhout for business.
I really can't fault anything about it .... The bedrooms are cosy ( each one is different), very well equipped and very clean. The hotel lounge is lovely for enjoying a pre dinner drink before heading to one of the many restaurants in the town, it's has s great location just a few hundred metres from the main square, the breakfast is fresh and with a good choice and all of the staff are very welcoming and helpful.
It really is the only place to stay in Turnhout and I would definitely recommend.
It's true it's probably in the higher price bracket compared with other hotels in the area but it's a popular place to stay for those visiting the nearby JnJ site & Shire site so rooms can be in demand. There are times when unless you book early you won't get s room so don't leave it until the last minute to book. There are other alternative places to stay nearby but I think Ter Driezen is the best overall option in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Fully satisfied with the stay in this comfortable guesthouse in the center of Turnhout. You are greeted by the warm crackling of the fireplace and a friendly staff that will readily suggest the best place to eat according to your requests. You are then brought into the room: mine was made of a nice assemble of time weathered wooden furniture with an elegant / rustic touch. Slept as an angel; would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Beautiful historic hotel with antique furnishings. Quiet, clean, delightful! No restaurant on site but a few hundred metres from the spaghetti junction that is Turnhout City Centre (it has its compensations with the many bars and restaurants). The hotel is on a one way stretch if you are driving. We paid 158 Euros each, which I thought was excessive, and have recently stayed in alternative, just as good, accomodation in Turnhout. If you are driving, bear in mind that the car park for the hotel is down a very narrow driveway (I'm sure it got trashed here overnight but difficult to prove), a few hundred yards before you get to the hotel-if you drive to the hotel, you will be two far down a one way street. We sat with a drink in the living room-it was very comfortable. Good if you have the money and like history and convenience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Small, bang in town centre, family run, nicely finished - very quaint, very clean, comfortable. Little pricey for what it is but if you find yourself in Turnhout - this is the only place to consider . Book well in advance though as the alternatives are few and this is well known.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlinFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Metro
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The three-person Ter Driezen staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel, which used to be the mayor's residence, has three floors of rooms, all decorated differently; living room/lobby, dining room/restaurant, sitting room/bar and outdoor court behind the hotel, which is a nice quiet area to have a meal or conversation. I am NOT a pet person and they have a beagle, but the dog was kept behind a gate near the kitchen/outdoor court most of the time and I never heard it barking.

The linens and bathroom were very clean. The Internet connection was a little sporadic, but worked well most of the time. A lot of food was prepared everyday for breakfast. Though I didn't eat much, what I had was fine - eggs, cheese, fruit, espresso and juice. Throughout the day, food can be ordered for room service.

The hotel is just one block from the town square and there are many restaurants, shops, bakeries and pubs nearby. And, if the weather is good, it's about a 10-minute walk to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRNYCMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnhout
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel
0.3 mi away
Corsendonk Viane
Corsendonk Viane
#3 of 5 in Turnhout
69 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hostellerie Den Engel
Hostellerie Den Engel
#1 of 1 in Baarle-Nassau-Grens
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Kempen
6.6 mi away
Hotel De Watermolen
Hotel De Watermolen
#1 of 2 in Kasterlee
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Svilla
Svilla
#5 of 7 in Turnhout
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Ter Driezen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Ter Driezen

Property: Hostellerie Ter Driezen
Address: Herentalsstraat 18, Turnhout 2300, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Turnhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Turnhout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Ter Driezen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie Ter Driezen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing