We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a classic hotel”

Hotel De Watermolen
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Watermolen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasterlee
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a classic hotel”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stay regularly in The Watermolen; it's a great place for foodies: fresh ingredients, carefully dressed on your plate. Excellent kitchen at reasonable prices. Moreover really friendly and helpful service.
Sleeping rooms are in a separate building which is handy, always wireless internet available.

No fitness or swimming pool; It is a classic place on the countryside, nice and cosy. Everything goes quiet and that why people come here

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in may. We were surprised that there were only twin beds in the rooms, but the staff was very accomodating in sliding thebeds together and adding a center pad, which made things work just fine. The rooms are just fine and are very well kept. More important - you come here to eat first and foremost and the room, which was very reasonably priced, i nice to relax in before and after! We will review the restaurant separately, but tfood was superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiseagentandtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is great hotel off the beaten track in Kasterlee. It can be tricky to find, but payy attenttion to the road signs from the main road. There is a pleasant bar, and the food is excellent. The bedrooms are located in in a separate building, which makes it seem more peaceful. Staff were really friendly & helpful.
The bedrooms are fitted out quite well. There is free WiFi, but my temperamental lap-top would not connect.
Breakfast is a good quality buffet, with hot & cold options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

A business trip took me 3 days to De Watermolen. The staff is professional, adapts, is reliable and helpful. In the environment of Geel this is the best hotel i know. The restaurant and bistro is amazingly good, with swift service and impeccable quality and taste. Do enjoy the breakfast too. The rooms are a bit old style, but clean and well maintained: they offer quiet relaxation after a day's work. If one suggestion it would be to include the breakfast (15 euro) in the price of the room. I recommend De Watermolen for business travelers looking for an easy to reach, quiet, efficient and tasty stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesalian00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel 4 times now and it is always good. A small (ca 20 rooms) family run operation in lovely rural settling. The hotel and rooms are all very clean and the staff are friendly.

Although we go as a smallish group ca 20 we always get great food, however, I don't think is just done for us it is part of the "normal" service.

Lovely choice for breakfast cereals, fresh fruit, yougurts, ham, cheese & hot choice, eggs bacon etc.

Overall you can't go wrong here if you want a relaxing time in the country.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiterstadt
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I have stayed at the Hotel De Watermolen several times in the past and am never disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable with free WLAN and breakfast is always a treat with freshly squeezed orange juice and still-warm bread. I also thoroughly recommend both the restaurant for a more formal dinner and also the bistro menu offering a good selection of dishes. The food has never been anything but excellent and is definitely worth the price. The hotel is a watermill at the side of the river and it is a beautiful location. The gardens around the hotel are well cared for and I always look forward to my visits there. The only criticism I have is that the bathrooms in the bedrooms are past their best and could do with being given an overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyTwoShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasterlee
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Aldhem Hotel
4.9 mi away
Corsendonk De Linde
Corsendonk De Linde
#1 of 1 in Retie
28 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Verlooy
Hotel Verlooy
#1 of 2 in Geel
36 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Kempen
1.1 mi away
B&B De Casteleer
B&B De Casteleer
#1 of 6 in Kasterlee
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Watermolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Watermolen

Property: Hotel De Watermolen
Address: Houtum 61 B, Kasterlee 2460, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Kasterlee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasterlee
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel De Watermolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing