We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
5
25
7
3
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
25
7
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located one night waterbed brussels lunch centre
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

Not your typical hotel, more like a huge house.Clean and tidy with well presented rooms.Very nice and welcoming staff. Decent enough breakfast especially when Chris cooks the eggs All in all good value for money. Restaurant gets quite busy which is a good sign.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank str280577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016

Cant speak much about the hotel, though the old fashioned, quaint setup is a treat to see, reminding us of the old movies.
Breakfast is simple, and presumably family run, so personalized attention is possible.
No complaints though. Opt for the superior room.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mlprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in April with a friend, and found it to be ideal for our short, two night stay. The hotel is located in a pretty square and is only a couple minutes walk from the train station and high street where you can find anDespite this the area was really peaceful at night. Several people have mentioned a problem with the church bells that ring throughout the day and night, but this is honestly not a problem, and I found it quite charming! Our room was clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were equipped with tv, fridge and free wifi which all worked perfectly. The staff, despite not speaking any English were also very helpful and friendly.

My only negative would be the breakfast. There was a very limited selection with only a few pastries and rolls. No bread or toasting facilities, cereals etc. The bathroom was also a little outdated but all in all this was a great stay for the price and I will be returning If I am ever in Bornem again.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank LucyM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We travelled and based the choice on previous reviews chose this place. Our stay was four nights. When got in a waitress eventually gave us our keys and told us whereabouts the room was. We spent a few minutes looking for the room due to how the numbers are placed on the walls.

On arrival it was not evident how access to the hotel was gained.
A patron appeared, saw that we were trying to gain access indicated that we go through the restaurant. In the room there was no information about timings for the breakfast etc. The room was very hot; no air conditioning. We asked if there were any fans all our queries to the waitress as the owner who was present had no interest in speaking to us directly. We were told to open the window.
On our first night we had no sleep because of the church bells and as the room was so hot we had no choice other than leave the window open.
As we were there for four days we asked if there was another room the next morning. Firstly we were ignored eventually the owner in very few words said hotel was full. I checked various hotel booking websites and all has double rooms for Land van Bornem.
It was evident that the owners have no interest the residential aspect of the business that or they would prefer not to have "foreigner" staying there and expect any type of customer service. The waitresses are enthusiastic when serving those they know. It maybe because it is one of a few places to stay that the owners and staff can be rude and disrespectful as and when as their discretion pleases.
It may be of benefit to Owners and staff to invest in customer service training with an emphasis on diversity.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room over the main entrance, particularly room 4. The noise level from patron's, the church chimes,the traffic and the bin men are at levels that ensure sleep is routinely disrupted.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth19812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

My stay at this hotel was by fat the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The hotel is in a great location, near to the shops and other restaurants however this does not compensate for the unsatisfactory quality and unbelievably appalling service we received from the staff. Let me start off by saying that this establishment is a restaurant with rooms above. It is clear that the owner of he building focuses all attention on restaurant, if you wanted basic housekeeping in your room; changing sheets, fresh towels etc, you had to find someone and prompt them. The rooms were basic, they had no telephone or air conditioning, our window was facing the church which meant the church bells rang every hour even throughout the night! The bathrooms are dated, the entire hotel part of the building is in need of a refresh. The breakfasts were basic, there was a very limited selection of breads, condiments and meats and there were no staff around in the mornings to ask to prepare eggs or any hot foods. The dining room was ridden with flies, it was difficult to eat breakfast in peace without having to constantly waft flies away. The service from the staff made this the worse hotel experience I had ever had. We reserved a table in the restaurant on two occasions, on the first occasion we were ignored by the waiting staff who didn't even offer us a menu or acknowledge us as we waited for service; we eventually walked out of the restaurant and found somewhere else to eat. The second time we came to eat in the hotel restaurant the service was a little better, however the service was sloppy; the waitress failed to notice empty glasses and plates when she served us with our food. One of the dishes we ordered contained an ingredient not named on the menu, in fact we returned the dish as one of our party was allergic to the extra ingredient in the meal. We were still charged for the meal and told that because we ordered it we must pay. The attitude from the staff was condescing and insensitive, they showed no knowledge of basic customer service principles. Upon leaving the hotel we notified the staff member responsible, about our bad experience and instead of accepting it and apologising he was unprofessional and insensitive If I ever return to bornem I will definatley not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews