We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for 3 couples!”
Review of Obertrauner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Obertrauner Hof
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Obertraun
Certificate of Excellence
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for 3 couples!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

What an ideal location, across the lake from busy Hallstatt! Our rooms were clean, comfortable and very quiet. We all had a balcony, with a beautiful view of the mountains. Our hosts Debbie & Trevor could not have been more welcoming or helpful. It was Trevor who suggested we get an early start the next morning, as he had checked the weather and views would be better earlier in he day. He was right on! We had a fabulous day on the mountain, as well as touring the Ice Caves and by the time we returned to our hotel the clouds had covered the mountain. Dinner at REBA on the ground floor of the hotel was absolutely the best! 4 course, beautiful presentation and 5 star delicious! The chef and his wife were delightful. Trevor and Debbie went above and beyond by graciously accommodating us with an early breakfast the day we, sadly, had to leave on an early train. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at Obertrauner Hof for only 1 night...but we wished we stayed longer. My family of 4 stayed in their family suite (1 bedroom with a double bed and 1 bedroom with 2 single beds) and the kids loved having their own room. The rooms were clean and roomy with lots of storage and had a great view of the mountains.

Debbie and Trevor were absolutely wonderful hosts. Debbie was welcomed us when we checked in...she was very helpful with information about the sights in the area. Trevor offered to drive us to Hallstatt's Salt Mine Cable Car station on his way to run some errands which saved us lots of time and money.

As well, the restaurant at the hotel, REBA, was fantastic. The food was delicious and not Austrian which was perfect for my family since we had been eating Schnitzel for 4 days straight in Vienna :) The owners, Fay and Rob, were fantastic - very warm and welcoming.

On our last day in town, we spent more time than we planned at Dachstein Mountains. Therefore, we were in such a rush to get to the train station on time for our trip to Salzburg. Rob and Fay were great and helped prepare a very quick and delicious dinner for us before we headed off to the train station. Fay didn't want us to rush while eating our dinner so she offered to drive us to the train station....such as super lady.

And as you can see...it's really not the rooms or the bed or the food or the place that made our trip memorable...it's the people. Thanks to Debbie, Trevor, Fay and Rob...Obertrauner Hof will always be a sweet and memorable place for me :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a welcoming environment with large rooms, comfy beds, good pillows, phenomenal views, and a good breakfast all for a great value, look no further than the Obertrauner Hof. My husband and I are so happy with the lodging here! They have a fantastic restaurant attached called the Restaurant Reba that offers a divine dinner, and the view from our room (number 7) looks at the Dachstein mountains. We can even see 5 Fingers from our balcony!

Every room really is good sized with a nice balcony and private bathroom and the floors share a mini fridge and coffee service any time of day. There is a nice little grocery store virtually across the street, and the train station is only a 5 minutes walk away.

You can easily take a bus to the Dachstein Ice Caves or you can walk 30 minutes to the first ski lift/ticketing office. Obertrauner Hof gave us coupons worth a savings of 3 Euro per person.

I'm actually really glad we didn't stay in Hallstatt as we first intended. Hallstatt is very easy to get to from here, but you get to see a more authentic part of living Austrian mountain life in Obertraun.

The village is charming and a good value. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and breakfast was very satisfying. Free wifi was great too.

Perfect stay! Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

this stay in Obertraun was the perfect start to our vacation. Debbie and Trevor are most attentive and keep a clean and well run hotel. the seating area on each floor with tea kettle and small fridge make things all the better and convienient. Fantastic resurant on ground floor. thoughtful and well prepared food with excellent service. The Debbie and Trevor provide a wonderful and welcoming breakfast. Great shower, fresh clean bathroom all with beautiful views. Small and well stocked grocery around the corner. I would certainly visit here again.

Room Tip: rooms over the main street have vehicle noise. everything else was so perfect we decided this wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkino86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. It is owned and run by a couple from the United Kingdom. They are very friendly and nice. The hotel is clean and we would certainly stay there again as it is reasonably priced and in a quiet area with a grocery store across the street. We would suggest that a small table with 2 chair would be better and a wastebasket situated in the room would help as there is only a small one in the bathroom. Bikes are available at a reasonable costs but could use maintenance so that the gears and brakes work better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely bed and breakfast in perfect location, Trevor and Debbie were very welcoming. The local supermarket is just across the road, it's a 5 10 minute walk to the lake which isn't bad as you get to walk through the village and across the train line. Would recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynSmylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Obertraunerhof.
Trevor and Debbie are great hosts, very helpful; the rooms are spacious and always spotless; we appreciate the free tea and coffee and the great breakfast.
They now have the restaurant run by Rob and Fay, who serve fantastic food at great prices.
Thanks for making our holiday enjoyable including the hire of bikes to go round the amazing picturesque lake.
We'll be back soon!
Andy and Scott

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Ody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
13 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertrauner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertrauner Hof

Property: Obertrauner Hof
Address: Obertraun 90, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertrauner Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Obertrauner Hof ‘Home Style’ hotel, offers a homely, relaxed and comfortable environment in 10 spacious en-suite rooms, many with balconies opening onto panoramic views of the Dachstein Mountains.Positioned at the heart of the tranquil village of Obertraun on the Hallstattersee Lake, surrounded by the stunning Dachstein mountains, a little over an hour away from Salzburg. Our position ensures easy access to local amenities; shop, bank, tourist office and restaurants, all of which are within easy walking distance. We are pleased to offer our guests free WiFi and Car Parking.Restaurant Reba, hosted by Rob and Fay, offers locally sourced and home-produced produce with an international twist. Our aim is to offer good honest food and service in relaxed, homely surroundings. 3 course Half-Board packages available from 12EuroThe Obertrauner Hof is a non-smoking establishment. To minimise our impact on the local and World environment, we have recently invested in a new Wood Pellet burning heating system, so reducing our CO2 emissions. We are also keen recyclers of cardboard, all cans, plastic bottles, glass, books, newspapers and magazines, using the facilities and services provided by the local authority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Obertrauner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing