We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from our balcony was outstanding”
Review of Hotel Haus Am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Haus Am See
Ranked #9 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The view from our balcony was outstanding”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We sat under umbrellas on the patio, relaxed, and had refreshments. I had a beautiful, wonderful Greek salad with lots of sizable chunks of feta cheese and brown olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, and nice lettuce like I grew in my garden. There were several resident dogs: one very well-mannered, white German shepherd, who made his rounds looking for fallen food. He never begged. He just stayed attentive. The breakfast was nice and pretty normal: boiled eggs, ham, cheese, jelly, loaf of bread where you slice your own, cereals, milk, OJ, and coffee. Our room was clean and small, and the bathroom looked like a travel trailer bathroom. The view from our balcony was outstanding. Plan to bring bug spray for the mosquitos. I wish I had. You have to ride a ferry to get to Hallstatt. The train does not stop there. The Dachstein Ice Caves are incredible if you survive the walk up half the mountain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwill3922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    49
    24
    10
    34
See reviews for
39
92
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is directly at the shore of lake Hallstatt. Rooms are simple and relatively small, but those facing west have wonderful lake view. Breakfasts are of a good standard for a three star hotel. We had a half board for our stay and really enjoyed - the food for dinner was great and plentiful (though there was no choice) and dining outside with the lake view at sunset was a pleasure. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The hotel is an ideal place for exploring the surrounding area. We did cycling and hiking trips around and the need to use the car was limited. The hotel is not having any storage for bicycles and you need to have them in the garden (almost unprotected from weather). There is a railway station nearby - we were afraid of the potential noise, but the traffic is limited to daytime.

Room Tip: There is no point staying there without the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Standa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Looked at the 360° panoramic view and the nice presentation of the hotel on their website, we thought this would be a great and nice spot to choose for our holiday. At arrival, the hotel was no way near how it was presented. Old rooms with the ceiling peeling off due to water ingress, absolutely rude and unfriendly welcome, evening meal which we booked in advance where a disgrace. We didn't found the room which is presented on the website! Burnt food, too less for the price, etc. Being at the edge of the lake, we could imagine some late night noise from people sitting on the terrace. We were kept awake by this noise as well as from their own personnel which found it necessary to cheer and jump in the lake at 2 am in the morning...We actually ran away after 2 days of stay. An absolute shame to the other hotels in the area, which did and do their best. This hotel is an absolute no go, we recommend to remove this from your hotel listing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Traveller726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Obertraun hotels

Boston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The lake view was fabulous. Other than that, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

I stayed at a room with lake view right above their restaurant for two nights. There was a humming noise came from the floor which bothering my sleep. I brought out this problem to the gentleman on his night shift at the reception desk. He was very impatient and rude. He went upstairs to check the sound and said that the noise was from the hot water heater. Nobody complained about this problem before. He kept repeating there's nothing he could do, the hotel was fully booked. He asked me to speak to the lady on the morning shift if I couldn't stand the humming noise and vibration.

The old lady at the morning shift explained that the noise was from the laundry of house keeping. It was absurd. Their laundry and dryer were right next to the reception desk. They were not running when I spoke to the service staff at previous night.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Certainly, I won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank jjjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

you have to take into consideration the rather low price and adjust your expectations to it and then you will have a perfect hoiliday ! the hotel is basic (no lobby, no sauna, ..) but you have free wii in the dining room where you can sit whenever you want and stay after dinner. the biggest asset is the view which is spectacular ! never seen such a wonderfull environment. it is without doubt very special and classified by unesco (the nearby town hallstatt to be moer specific). the warm welcome and personal attention is really nice ! the food is prepared fresh every day and although the choice is limited, it was always nice and honest food ! we can recommend it 100 % !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We wanted to stay at Lake Hallstatt and found a hidden gem in paradise - Hotel Haus Am See at Obertraun which is located across the lake from Hallstatt. Our room has the perfect view over Lake Hallstatt. We can't ask for a better location than one that is by the lake and surrounded by snowy mountains.

The hotel room must have been refurbished recently. It was modern and clean. We had dinner at the hotel and was happy with the meal. Service was a bit slow to start but the restaurant was busy and serviced by one person. The breakfast was basic. For €70 a night for a double room, I think it was great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzpe Yericho
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Superb location, newly furnished room, great view, free parking at the hotel, great coffee in the morning, many activities in short distance

Problem 1. On the second day of our stay we found the room uncleanded, and a bag of garbage on the floor. We asked why and the answer was the following: "We found breadcrumbs on the floor and a a used diaper in a bag in the bathroom. This is not our way so we didn't clean your room." So they punished us... I think it is outrageous, because the room was not disgusting, nor vandalized. And, of course they charged a full price for that day, although they did not give us full service.
Problem 2. One of the receptionist is a chain smoker, so entering the hotel you have to go through a heavy cloud of smoke. It is not fun, especially not with a baby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamalach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seehotel am Hallstattersee
Seehotel am Hallstattersee
#6 of 11 in Obertraun
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Am See

Property: Hotel Haus Am See
Address: Obertraun 169, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Haus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing