We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg sightseeing and skiing”
Review of Landhaus Lilly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landhaus Lilly
Ranked #1 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Salzburg sightseeing and skiing”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for five nights with Liz and Paul and could have stayed much longer. They are great hosts, taking an interest in all their guests and making them feel really at home. The four rooms are newly decorated and fitted out with high quality furnishings including the modern en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is served in a separate dining room and there are a couple of additional alcoves for one or two people to sit and read or enjoy an aperitif as well. All the rooms are on the first or second floor and have access to the balcony with mountain views all round, including the Krippenstein, well worth the two cable cars to the summit even if you don't take the 11km ski route back down (lots of high level walking in summer).
Obertraun is a 20-25 minute drive from the Gosau ski centre giving access to the extensive Dachstein West skiing area. Paul or Liz will advise on all aspects such as ski passes, equipment hire, lessons and so on. You can leave your skis and boots in the heated lockers or store them overnight at Landhaus Lilly.
We took up their recommendations for evening meals and weren't disappointed with the local restaurants serving mainly local fare, although you may have to work on the menu to escape schnitzels and dumplings once you've sampled them a couple of times! Also ask for advice if you are sensitive to smoke - many places still allow smoking inside and the separation of diners who do and don't isn't always effective.
Hallstatt is a very well known lakeside village, picturesque and not to be missed. Drive or as we did take the scenic local train to Bad Ischl, a spa with all the relevant facilities (make sure you book in advance), and visit the Kaiser's Summer Palace where the First World War was effectively initiated - guided tour unfortunately only in German, maybe if you ask later in the season they might find an English speaker).
We finished off with a day in Salzburg - a real gem worth a full weekend - have a guided tour of the old city, take in a Mozart piano recital and visit his home, climb or use the funicular to the magnificent castle overlooking the city and river.

All in all a lovely part of Austria and we only saw a small part of it. With a smart new high quality B&B and hosts like Paul and Liz you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie_and_Paul, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your interesting and valuable overview of your time in Austria and for your kind comments about your stay with us.

This is our first 'ski season' running Landhaus Lilly - and many people visit the area either purely for skiing at this time of year, or for sightseeing. It is great however that you successfully combined the two during your stay - something that we now hope to promote for next season!

Wishing you well and hope to see you again in the future -
All best wishes - Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
99
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Obertraun is a wonderful place. Full of montains, attractions and breathtaking landscapes. Should be your next destination. You will love Austria.
Landhaus Lilly is the key point to make your experience even better. Knowing that they have excelent facilities, localization and fair prices, will certainly help you on your next decision. However, Paul and Liz are the ones that will make you be sure, that your travel was worth.
As mentioned by St. Augustine - The world is a book and those who do not travel, are stuck in the first page.

Room Tip: wherever you choose, you will be fascinated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie_and_Paul, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review Renan - and what a fabulous quote by St. Augustine - how true!

We hope that you may come back to visit us again one day - and in the meantime, enjoy your travels and adventures. Sending you sunny and warm greetings from Obertraun.

All best wishes
Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were among the first guests of this brand new B&B and the experience was more than enjoyable. We were picked up at the station on arrival (and in two days back, of course), introduced to the house and advised on local sights and all practicalities. Accommodation was really great - big comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, convenient location, unforgettable sceneries. At evenings Paul lifted us up to local (advised!) restaurants. We felt better than at home - with friends! Thank you!

Room Tip: I've got an impression that all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzzieT, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - and for being one of our first guests at Landhaus Lilly!
We enjoyed meeting you and were so pleased we could help you make the most of your stay here in Obertraun.
Sending you all best wishes from the lakes and mountains!
Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avila Beach
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were fortunate to spend our last days of a wonderful holiday in SudTirol and Austria with a stay with Liz and Paul at "Landhaus Lilly." They did everything they could to make our stay homelike. They offered rides "into town" or just join them for a drink. They had just recently opened and we were among their first guests. They were very interested in honest feedback to continue to improve on their guest's experience there. The room was wonderfully equipped, with large comfortable beds, the bath was state of the art. Liz worked to make breakfast both a welcoming environment as well as presenting varied and hearthy food options -- all very fresh and tasty. The location is lovely and quiet, across the lake from Halstatt accessible by ferry or car. Obertraun is a pleasant community located with easy access to the mountains with footpaths, biking opportunities and the "salt mines." Thanks for the great stay Liz & Paul

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size so if size matters inquire as to the availability of "larger room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zekefcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzzieT, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind comments. We were delighted that you were amongst the first people to be guests at Landhaus Lilly, as your positive feedback gave us such encouragement when starting out on our new venture!
We have found that our larger rooms ('double room with balcony') have been very popular for couples when booking accommodation in advance, which has been excellent.
The slightly smaller twin room (with separate beds, but without a balcony) has been particularly popular with friends travelling together, and when children (over 10 years old) are travelling with their parents (who can stay in a separate larger room with balcony next door).
We wish you well and hope that you'll be able to visit us again one day at Landhaus Lilly!
Sending all best wishes - Liz and Paul :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Lily and Paul are wonderful hosts who are really attentive to our every need. Paul came to the station to pick us up upon arrival and send us off to the station when we leave. The location is abit far off from the station and from Hallstatt Village but we felt that is totally fine, given the beautiful view we got from our balcony, neat/clean/well-maintained room stocked with everything we need & more as well as great hosts who helped us through out the stay. We definitely regret that the stay was only for 1 night, would love to stay longer! The breakfast was lovely as well. Everything was prepared so perfectly, I find no flaws at all. Thanks Lily & Paul for such a pleasant stay. We'll 100% recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzzieT, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for posting photos from your visit. We are delighted that you had a good stay here with us and enjoyed the views from your balcony too. We hope to welcome you back again one day (perhaps for more than 1 night next time!)
Sending all best wishes
Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Plessis-Robinson, France
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Liz and Paul renovated this house to make it the B&B of their dream, and they succeeded. They are very kind, considerate and full of attentions (they drove us to the train station,...), the rooms and beds are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is excellent. Even in November the landscape was magnificient (we went hiking and had a wonderful view over Hallstatt). It was our best memory in Austria. Thank you for this wonderful stay, and we wish you the best in the future!
Nadege and Wil

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadege K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie_and_Paul, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted (and truly impressed!) that you managed to hike so high and so far in early November - we hope you can return for some more hiking and exploring in the future :-)
We wish you well and send best wishes from Obertraun - Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We planned to stay one day, but after arrived at there, we decided to change our routine because the scene there is fantastic for us. at same time, Lilly and Paul's considerate service like at home. we always remember this period! thanks Paul and Lilly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yihong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie_and_Paul, Owner at Landhaus Lilly, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - we were so pleased you decided to stay with us for longer!

Wishing you well and sending warm greetings from Obertraun -
Liz and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
1.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#8 of 8 in Bad Goisern
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krippenstein Lodge
Krippenstein Lodge
#3 of 12 in Obertraun
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus Hepi
Haus Hepi
#2 of 11 in Obertraun
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Lilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Lilly

Property: Landhaus Lilly
Address: Obertraun 69, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in peaceful, natural surroundings at our friendly B&B, in the heart of the lakes and mountains of Austria. Delightfully spacious rooms with large luxury beds and bedding, with modern en suite shower rooms. Open views of mountains, forests and the River Traun. Fabulous walks and cycle route from the doorstep. Lounge area with complimentary tea and coffee and minibar available for guests. Sightseeing locally in Hallstatt (5km away - walk / cycle / bus / ferry ride). Krippenstein Mountain Cable Car - for Ice Caves, Five Fingers is just 3 mins away by car (15 minute walk). Bad Ischl (for Imperial Villa and one of 3 local Thermal spas ) by train or car (30 minues). 5% Reduction when booking directly - please email to confirm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Landhaus Lilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing