We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible views with high quality food”

Gasthaus Koppenrast
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Obertraun
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“incredible views with high quality food”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

we came upon this restaurant unexpectedly.. after walking through a beautiful valley we came out of the forest with this wonderful restaurant situated next to a quick moving mountain river. the beer was cold and refreshing the service kind and welcoming. we were not hungry but the menu was so tempting we could not resist the opportunity to sample a few items. we ordered the wild garlic pesto gnocchi with the house salad. to say it was the best gnocchi dish i've ever had would still be an understatement and came with a delicious blend of sauteed mushrooms. the salad was simple but so fresh i would bet they picked the lettuce out back, it had a wonderful light dressing and fabulously blanched carrots and cucumbers. it was a meal so expertly prepared and delicious it will never be forgotten. dont pass up a chance to enjoy this incredible and beautiful restaurant. try the Radler beer, a light and refreshing blend of lemonade and beer, you wont be sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkino86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Austrian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Everything we ordered was excellent. Local foods were incorporated into the menu and seasonal specials were available. I had the smoked salmon and white asparagus cream soup to start followed by the venison dish. The venison was drizzled with a delicious pan sauce and was served with a small souffle, seasonal vegetables: mushrooms, broccoli, more white asparagus. The lager on tap is also great. Worth the drive from nearby towns for a special meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DunerSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I went with two friends at a recommendation of our b&b owner. A cozy local restaurant. We ordered two main courses, wiener schnitzel and Austrian style duck with red cabbage, and a side dish as the portions of each dish were just huge. Every single dish is very tasty. Service was also excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLJ_CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too expensive but poor meals”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

By the Tripadvisor's comments we have chosen this restaurant to have a dinner. The comments has given a very positive vision of the restaurant. All in all, the dishes tried to be arty, but no taste. It can be possible, that only that two types of dishes have not fitted to our taste.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saliga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not open..”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just wanna advise travellers that this restaurant is not open all the time. when we tried to dine in, according to good comments on the webpage, we found it closed and were bit disapponted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamelka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Koppenrast also viewed

 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 
Obertraun, Upper Austria
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Gasthaus Koppenrast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing