We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two beautiful days in a nice house”
Review of Haus Rye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Rye
Ranked #5 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pension is near the town of Hallstatt and lift station Dachsteinhöhlen. The pension is very nice, rooms are standard 3 *.The rooms are very nice, with comfortable beds, with a view of the Hallstatt and a spacious bathroom. The owners are very helpful and speaks fluent English and German.Pension recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasb458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

When Hallstatt is too crowded and hotels are way too expensive, I choose to stay in quiet and peaceful Obertraun which is 5 minutes drive from Hallstatt. Haus Rye is a great choice to stay.

Greeted by the owner and their lovely cat, when check-in, the cat seems curious about the check in forms and room keys. The owner kept apologize for their naughty cat but that's exactly what lovely cats do.

The room is lovely and clean, no shoes on the carpet. I had a room with a balcony. Although there's no view of the lake, the view of the mountain and the flowers on the balcony was also perfect.

There are free coffee / tea and the breakfast is nice. Free wifi, free parking. The owners are very friendly and give suggestions about where to go and where to eat.

Before coming, the owner e-mailed me to inform that the bridge to their house are washed away and gave me a map of the alternative way. It's very clear to follow the map to find the lovely place. There's a supermarket in the town which is also 3 minutes drive.

Lovely place and hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went for a skiing holiday to Dachstein with a friend and Haus Rye was a good base for exploring the area. It is just three minutes drive to Krippenstein cable car but basically there is only one piste in Krippenstein. However, it is the longest in Austria and also off piste possibilities are excellent for freeride experts if weather is favorable. Dachstein west area (Gosau & Russbach) with 150 km of pistes is about 20 min drive away and also Schladming or Flachau are close enough for a day trip. Dachstein west was really quiet and no lift queues at all during weekdays in early March. The only minus was that the Obertraun village itself is almost dead during wintertime, i.e. there is not too much dinner options and only one small supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tontsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for a few days especially for business, but I have also time for exploring this area. Haus Rye is situated in the beautiful region so there is a lot to do. Due to my opinion this B & B is managed really well. New reconstructed building, clean and nice decorated and furnished rooms, quiet part of Obertraun. What is worth mentioning is the service and atmosphere. Adrian and Jillian make the best to provide whatever their guests need, advice, help, recommend... Every morning I talked with one of them and feel like at home. Thanks again a lot for this pleasantly spending free time.
Do not hesitate to book room at Haus Rye, you will definitely enjoyed your holiday.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view of the valley is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Haus Rye! good rooms with balcony, very good breakfast with amazing views to Dachstein and Alan was always so helpfull and kind. 100% recomendable if you want to have some nice holidays in Salzkammergut.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Haus Rye was the perfect place to stay for our trip to Hallstatt! The property is beautiful--modern and clean! The balcony with each room was such a treat. Breakfast was generous and delicious. The real strength of Haus Rye, however, is the remarkable service provided! Though we checked-in early we were able to safely store our luggage, and again when we left, as our train departed well after check-out. Jillian even generously offered to drive us to the train station! She took the time to help us figure out the bus timetables for our trip into Hallstatt town (easy and only about a ten minute trip!) and also to the 5-Fingers lookout. We couldn't have asked for a better or more worry-free time here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Haus Rye is a fantastic place to stay. Beautiful scenery, lots to do and the entire first series of the Vicar of Dibley to watch on the DVD player. Seriously watch that. We spent three nights there and will certainly be doing it again sometime. We did several walks from the Haus to other places, such as the Five Fingers and the Ice Cave. The owners were very kind and were very helpful in helping us choose our activities during our stay. You should also look out for their two cats, who may come to visit you at breakfast. The owners told me that the cats always go for the smelliest guest. That explains a lot.

Eddie aged 14

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obertraun hotels
0.2 mi away
Landhaus Lilly
Landhaus Lilly
#1 of 11 in Obertraun
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Appartementhaus Simmer
Appartementhaus Simmer
#4 of 12 in Obertraun
4 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Haus Am See
Hotel Haus Am See
#9 of 11 in Obertraun
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferienhof Osl
Ferienhof Osl
#5 of 12 in Obertraun
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Rye

Address: Oslweg 296, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range: $96 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haus Rye 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Rye is an English run B&B in the heart of the Austrian Salzkammergut (Lake District). On the edge of Lake Hallstatt it is the perfect central location for visiting Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haus Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing