We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find!”
Review of Haus Hepi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Hepi
Ranked #2 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

In June 2012, we spent 5 nights at Haus Hepi enjoying Lisa's and Larry's hospitality. We had never stayed in a guest house before and found that we enjoyed the experience immensely. What we enjoyed was the ability to decide each day what we wanted to do ( bike, hike, sightsee) while having Lisa and Larry describe options, provide maps, and offer instructions. It was like a self-guided tour with lots of support. Need a ride to the bus stop? Hop in Larry's car. Trouble with your bike? Call Larry and he will come to your rescue. There is also the convenience of having 3 delicious meals provided each day. At dinner each evening, we looked forward to interacting with people from many different countries - a wonderful experience we had missed out on in prior trips by traveling with groups of Americans. It was also a pleasure to talk to Lisa and Larry about their lives and experiences in Austria - a truly beautiful country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, Uk
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a superb week at Haus Hepi. Larry and Lisa made us very welcome and their help and advice was invaluable. We booked a walking weekend with breakfast and evening meal. The food was like going to a Michelin star restaurant every evening. Packed lunches available. The rooms were excellent with really comfy beds and great views of the mountains. The walks and scenery breathtaking. Would highly recommend.
Steve and Helen, Dorset

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A truly great place - forget about Halstatt, stay here. Larry and Lisa's hospitality was outstanding - from sorting out rooms next to each other (the family room was booked), indepth advice and recommendations, great food and even a needle to remove a splinter.

Rooms: spotless, very well maintained, high standard, great ensuite bathrooms, superb views.

Food: great breakfasts, highly recommend taking the option for the superb evening meals and if you happen to stay on a Saturday night when evening meals are not provided the recommendations on where to eat were right on the mark. There is also a fridge with drinks available with an honesty sheet.

Location: excellent, great views all round, easy access to the lake for a refreshing swim (changing rooms and showers available at the lake), cable car just up the road, quiet and peaceful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Haus Hepi, hopefully we will get the chance to return!

Room Tip: Just tell Larry/Lisa what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notasmadasafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just finished four days at Haus Hepi and we had the time of our lives. The setting in Overtraun is splendid with phenomenal scenery in every direction. We were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding hospitality of Larry and Lisa. The friendly knowledgable advise helped us make the most of every day's bike ride. Yet we were propelled home every night by the vision of what creative culinary delight Larry would be serving. We are vegetarian but that was no problem. Larry served some of the best meals I've ever tasted. I can't imagine anyone not having an outstanding time at Haus Hepi.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

would just like to say how fantastic our holiday at Haus Hepi was. from our arrival to our departure we couldnt fault our stay, beautiful room, great surroundings and fantasic hosts. if your looking at this as a destination dont hesitate you will not be dissapointed thanks to Lisa and Larry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

There is only one word to describe this place - FANTASTIC! Larry & Lisa are exceptional hosts who warmly welcome you to their home. On arrival they greet you with a very welcome cup of tea & biscuits to chat about things to see & do in the local area. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always on hand with a bus/train timetable or map of any area you want to explore. Food is out of this world, evening meals were a very relaxed affair with a chance to mix with the other guests and exhange stories of the day!
If you are staying here go all inclusive - you will not be disappointed this is first class all the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWTTABBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

magic scenery wonderful reflections on tranquil lake surrounded by majestic mountains friendly town and fantastic hosts Lisa and Larry.5 star food and views from our traditional Austrian house breath-takingly beautiful.Visiting Hallstat the town across the lake is possible by cycle/walking/ferry -a wonderful charming world heritage village with lots of interesting houses and shops with lots of interesting wares.Good cycling and walking routes possible.Visiting the salt mine and ice caves is not to be missed.One of our most memorable holiday experiences ever.You will not be disappointed with this 5 star location and accomodation

Room Tip: rooms overlooking town/mountain have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maree c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.2 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Hepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Hepi

Property: Haus Hepi
Address: Stiegergasse 58, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, renovated guesthouse is beautifully located in the idyllic town of Obertraun in the Salzkammergut region, only a few steps away from the shores of picturesque Lake Hallstatt. The panoramic mountain scenery can be admired from the bedrooms south-facing balconies and from the terrace. The traditionally furnished rooms have modern bathrooms. The hearty breakfast buffet is served on the sunny terrace in fair weather. Some evenings dinner is served by prior arrangement. The dining room has views of the surrounding mountains and forests. Haus Hepi is close to the Dachstein Caves, the historic town of Hallstatt, and the spa town of Bad Ischl. The Krippenstein ski area is only 2 km away. The Dachstein-West region with 140 km of slopes can be reached in only 20 minutes. There are many hiking and biking trails that start at Haus Hepi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haus Hepi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing