We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel am Hallstattersee
Ranked #6 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Saarbrucken, Germany
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Scenery place to stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The time when we visited Hallstatt was the low tourist season. The price is not as high as it could get to, as it's really close to the lake. We were also lucky to get the lake view private room with a small balcony (see the photo attached). The room is clean and tidy, although it's not big. During the summer, the nearby port will be open, which is very convenient for taking ferries to Hallstatt. Obertraun is not so big, but there are few hotels closer to the lake than this one. It takes 10 mins walk from the train station, but the scenery along the way is enjoyable.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mars198356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    18
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ater reading reviews I thought I would give this hotel the benefit of the doubt , to my regret . On arrival we were shown to a room what overlooked the very untidy car park area , My wife started to cry as this was what you coulsd describe as a poor student let. I will give the gentleman on reception his due he moved us immediately without question to a room with views to die for. But even this room was very tired and in desperate need of some tlc . the work what had been done was badly done diy. The staff were fiendly. It is real shame about its state of repair because with location like it has it could be a beatiful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Obertraun hotels

London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this as it had reasonable reviews and we couldn't get a place at a decent rate in Hallstatt itself. The hotel is a 5 min walk from Obertraun train station, the rates are reasonable the room is sufficient. We had a ground floor Room which had a separate toilet and shower room with sink and a balcony facing the pool. the room was clean, the beds were comfortable. there is free wifi which worked ok in the room we stayed in. The breakfast was okay, sufficient and as we only stayed one night thus was fine. The lady at the reception during check in was very helpful. I think the bathroom though clean could do with some re grouting and an uplift, most part of our room had laminate or wood floors but a small part had an old carpet which needed changing. If this place could be spruced up a little I think it will stand out.

The dinner menu was veal and fish on the night I was there, no vegetarian option however they did say that they could and would make something for vegetarians which was very accommodating of them. I decided to go to the bowling alley nearby which had great food for veggies and non veggies alike. Fresh food great service and lots of choice.

Overall I'd say this hotel is good value for money and adequate for short stay a few niggles but apart from that all good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mppalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our first option was an inn at Hallstaat town, but being a group of 8, it is virtually impossible unless you reserve various rooms with plenty of time ahead. So, the only place with 2 Quads within two weeks of or trip was the Seehotel at the next town down the road - Obertraun. We were not disappointed. Although a few miles away, since we were travelling by car it was ok. Parking is easy and free. However, we noticed that a) the area train station is about 150 mts from this hotel, and b) there is a boat service also close by which takes you directly into Hallstaat for a few euros. Obertraun is a tiny town with its best days probably many decades ago, but is still an excellent and relatively tranquil place to stay if you are planning a few days in the area. There is a passive park with BBQ area bordering the lake and next to the hotel. Some locals were having a birthday party when we arrived. We took nice pictures here as the sun was setting, with the mountains and Hallstaat at the opposite side of the lake. Our quad rooms were relatively large but is because they are in the top floor with slanted roof, so you had to watch your head when getting off the bed in the morning. Furniture is basic, you can move the drawer cabinet with one finger. The TV, as someone else here also indicated, is a joke - 2 or 3 channels full of static, but then you don't come to Hallstattersee to see the TV. The bathroom fits only one person at a time, and there is another tiny room that serves as the shower area. Bring your own toiletteries as the hotel's soap and shampoo are like a fast food version of ketchup and pepper envelopes. The breakfast is adequate to start your day. If the ham, bread or cheese tray looks empty, ask for more because they kind of ration it, but will gladly provide it to your table. Perhaps it is because some tourists have hoarding customs. At night, it is very peaceful. There is a bookcase full of marine life themes so you can pick a book to facilitate you into sleep after a day full of activity in the Hallstaat area. Apparently someone here majored in marine sciences. The night attendant is very friendly. He will also be the one serving you a drink or tea at the veranda outside or providing more bed sheets when you are ready to retire to bed. In the morning, we woke up to the birds singing outside, with a wonderful view of the mountain scenery right outside the window.

Room Tip: The family room is Quad with bathroom, has nice view of mountain outside but is in third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citadelpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has only average facilities - small rooms, very small bathroom, inadequate bathroom provisions (soap, shampoo etc). The breakfast was ok, and could be taken on the deck, which was nice. We were told there was only a limited "fixed menu" dinner, so we ate next door at the Hotel Haus Am See, which was excellent (and probably a much better hotel too, though I think quite a lot more expensive?) The manager was helpful and spoke very good English. However "average" the hotel though, the location by the lake was terrific, and there is no better view than across to Hallstatt from Obertraun. Fantastic spot, and we were blessed with perfect sunny weather too. (storms had ravaged the area earlier, and also two days after we left)

Room Tip: A lake view is a must, and the only real reason for choosing this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent-flyer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel at the end of April for 4 nights, including half board. We chose the hotel through a Hungarian website similar to Groupon.
The location of the hotel is very good. Obertraun is a lovely village situated in the valley of the Traun river, by the Hallstatter Lake. If you are looking for a quiet place, this will be it (although it was pre-season, so i cannot say what it is like in high-season).
Hallstatt is only 4 kms away, so it is a good alternative.
Our hotel room was quite small and the breakfast was the same every morning which was quite boring for the 3rd and 4th time. The dinners, however, were very delicious. The staff was rather polite than friendly. Overall, I would say that it was good value for the money we paid, but the experience was not extraordinary. I decided to give this hotel an 'average' rating, because 'good' is not available and 'very good' would be a bit exaggerating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiggsyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Seehotel is located wonderfully on the shore of the picturesque Hallstattersee. Both buses and trains depart from nearby, making it a very good base for trips. Service is mediocre, food very simple, rooms vary but some are small (in mine toilet was literally in the corridor) and although the staff is very helpful they sometimes e.g. forget to bring new towels or move everything in the room during cleaning. Cheap price is a plus especially given the proximity of very touristy Hallstatt

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Haus Am See
Hotel Haus Am See
#7 of 11 in Obertraun
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel am Hallstattersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel am Hallstattersee

Property: Seehotel am Hallstattersee
Address: Seestrasse 152, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel am Hallstattersee 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Seehotel am Hallstattersee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Am Hallstattersee Hotel Obertraun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing