We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landhotel Agathawirt
Ranked #1 of 14 Bad Goisern B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Althout the competition is not fierce we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food in the hotel restaurant. We stopped by on Sunday evening and ordered medium rare lamb with polenta, fresh fish and pork medaillons with pepper sauce. All meals were outstaning and I would definitelly come back to try other options. We ended up paying EUR 100 for 5 people which was a great deal considering the food quality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank H0nya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel three nights, paid extra for balcony room with mountain view which was well worth it. Great to wake up to sunshine on the Alps and birds singing. Nice size room and bathroom, refreshing small heated pool, with comfortable chairs on the lawn to enjoy the sun. Plentiful breakfast included; we also ate dinner there several times which was a bit pricey but food was excellent. In good weather, the outside eating areas are pleasant, and the inside restaurant is warm and cozy. Great location for hiking the Gosausee area, driving to Hallstadt and Bad Aussee.

The only drawback is no elevator, so you have to lug your suitcases up the stairs. A previous contributor called the manager arrogant; I would not call her that, but efficient and business-like. The hotel seemed short-staffed, because the manager herself was there morning, noon and night. Maybe that makes her seem short with customers. There's a Shell station across the street with a small grocery store, but no other stores or restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazareth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for one night , We got there after a tour near by at St.gilgen and Hallstat...and it's was a very good choice .The room was clean and comfortable.. the bathromm was spacious and surprisingly clean. The price was an average one and the view from our room was perfect.
Breakfast Included juice,various cheese and bread.
the only negative thing i can say is that the lady on the reception was arrogant and not that nice:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazmouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Friends informed us that at the Agathawirt you can have a really nice "Beuschel" (made of veal). Even Austria's president comes here to have this special dish when visiting this part of Austria.
Since my friend loves Beuschel we went there. We others had something different. Mushrooms with dumplings, walnut gnocchi and artichoke filled with risotto. The latter two dishes came with a huge salad. Everything was delicious.
Although the prices are above average one can recommend this place. (The price of the Beuschel is EUR 7,90 which is not expensive at all).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stef010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here with our two teenage sons as part of a cycling holiday in the Salzkamergut. We were given a very warm and friendly welcome and shown our rooms. The rooms were of a good size with everything we needed. The bathroom was a reasonable size with shower, basin and WC, hair drier and decent amount of shelf space for toiletries and wash bags etc. The beds were of good size and comfortable, but could have done with an extra pillow to make it easier to read in bed. For some reason one pillow seems to be the norm in Austria.
The facilities were good and included nice secure storage for our bikes, a swimming pool with sliding roof, sun room, sauna and solarium and a games room with table tennis. Plenty of sun loungers and cushions to use in the gardens. There is also a very pleasant outside dining area under cover. This cover was not good enough to cope with the storm that arrived that evening however and all dining was quickly moved inside.
The food was good and we had some of our best meals here, although my wife did comment that her vegetarian option on the first night was rather flavourless (the Austrians do not seem to cater for vegetarians very well, although are getting better). The same could not be said for the meat eaters and the following night we all had some excellent fish from the local lake. Desserts were very good with some nice wine to wash it all down. Service was excellent and courteous with out being over bearing. Breakfast was of the usual continental variety with pastries, breads, cold meats and cheeses or boiled eggs. Excellent coffee and fruit juice and plenty of cereals. The home made muesli was quite wonderful. It was difficult to tell who was staff at breakfast as they were all dressed in casual clothes, but this did not affect the service.
Our final day was marred by the most appaling weather and we were unable to cycle, however we were given a great deal of help with train times and routes etc, which allowed us to spend a day in Hallstatt visiting the town and Salt mines. This was a most enjoyable trip, if a little expensive but made up for an otherwise wet day.

Would I stay here again - yes, especially on a cycling holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_manDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of an Inntravel holiday. It was very well situated to cycle and walk, (although we were cycling). We were given helpful and good advice about where to cycle on our extra day there. The rooms were modest but ok, and the garden is very pleasant to lie in after a day on bikes. Breakfast was OK, but we were very disappointed with dinner in the evening. On one evening I had vegetarian option which consisted of very oily potatoes, a few onions and carrots and a fried egg on top. Fish was heavily battered on another evening. Pudding on one night was a heavy lump of chocolate coloured sponge which none of us could eat. I think the hotel needs to improve the cooking in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A warm welcome and escort to our room provided our first positive impression. Our room, which was clean and had everything we needed, also had a lovely pastoral view. WiFi was available in our room, which we had not expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, wine and beer in the outdoor restaurant. There was no English menu, but when the kind lady who had welcomed us noticed us struggling with our phrasebook, she translated for us, and we had one of our best meals of the trip. Although we were not biking or hiking on this trip, the inn offered lots of amenities that would make it a welcome stop for bikers. There is a small swimming pool, sauna, and recreation room for guests. Breakfast was a perfect start to our travels, and we wished that we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Goisern
1.8 mi away
Moserwirt
Moserwirt
#1 of 8 in Bad Goisern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle
Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle
#2 of 8 in Bad Goisern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#3 of 8 in Bad Goisern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Hotel Goldenes Schiff
#3 of 10 in Bad Ischl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Agathawirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Agathawirt

Property: Landhotel Agathawirt
Address: St. Agatha 10, Bad Goisern 4822, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Goisern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Goisern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Agathawirt 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agathawirt-hotel was built in 1517. The "historical" part of the Hotel is nominated by the Haager Konvention. In this historical part our guests enjoy our well-known restaurant with typical Austrian specialities. The rooms are located in the modern new-part of the hotel - quiet - view to the mountains and garden. The Agathawirt-hotel today not only is well-known for the restaurant, but although as a spezialized mountainbike- and hiking-hotel. ... But although for the central location within the area we are a good decission for your visit of the Salzkammergut-region with it's famous villages, e.G. Hallstatt, Bad Ischl, Ausseerland, lake Wolfgangsee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Landhotel Agathawirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing