We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Thannegg
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grobming
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We are a Family of 4, one eighteen year old and one 13 year old for a skiing holiday. Have never gone back to the same hotel for summer holidays and didn't for winter holidays either until we came across the Castle. This i now the 4th time we have been back and could not recommend it highly enough.
If you want a home from home feeling - be completely looked after and spoilt - Spotlessly clean - Great Food and have 4 of the best ski resorts on your doorstep, then the Castle cannot be beaten. The places to ski are stodderzinken region for the beginners and nursery slopes, Hauser Kaibling for experienced skiers, Galsterberg and Plannai for all abilities. Galsterberg has a great toboggan run from top to bottom which is great fun.
Ernst and Gellinde the castle owners are fantastic Hosts and make sure you have everything you could possibly need along with their dedicated team who are constantly making sure everything is running like clockwork. They are actually like one big family and you can really notice how different it is compared to where ever we have stayed before. They ALL want you have have everything you need and enjoy your stay at the Castle.
Sample the local pine schnapps, Austrian Wine and the schladdminger beer is also very good. There is a bus laid on daily to the ski regions and back so you dont have to drive and its back in time for coffee cakes and hot chocolate. They also have links with spas if you want to relax.
Our inclusive Deal included set menus with themed nights, breakfast and afternoon refreshments along with Ski passes and it is excellent value for money. There is no doubt we will be back, Maybe in the Summer as there seems to be a lot to do then as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a high standard. You can ask for apartments too which have separate bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
147
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the Schloss where we enjoyed fabulous breakfasts, delicious afternoon teas and incredible dinners. It was our first time at the Schloss and the welcome we received was as if we were long-standing customers. All of the staff are so kind and helpful and nothing is ever a problem. Ernst and Gerlinde are the warmest hosts and always greet you with enthusiasm and a smile....they also make great recommendations for your daily itineraries. The area also has some of the best skiing we have enjoyed anywhere. We shall definitely return again.....our children will demand it! Thanks again Ernst, Gerlinde and all at Schloss Thannegg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFlavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had our Valentines dinner at Schloss Thannegg,a beautifully restored castle,and i must say i was left in awe!!!The beautiful medieval atmosphere,the great service,and the incredible dinner,was nothing less than perfect!!!!We did not stay the night,but i would imagine that the rooms would be just as comfortable and warm,with great service as was the rest of our visit there..Congratulations to Ernst, Gerlinde and the rest of the staff!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantelis Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

There are not many unique holiday experiences, that leaves one longing to stay longer, and definitely wanting to return. A weeks ski holiday filled with memories of fabulous food, comfortable rooms, great service and the skiing was great too. Thank you to Ernst and Gerlinde's team for their great Austrian hospitality and making it another wonderful ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSchnablegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks ski holiday at Schloss Thannegg. It was a truly fabulous holiday. Ernst and Gerlinde and all the staff could not do more for us. The hotel is beautiful, a wonderfully restored castle, with very comfortable rooms and lots of atmosphere, including friendly ghosts! Although the hotel is not on the slopes, and we arrived by train so had no car, we had a private door to door transport to the slopes, which was great... No struggling onto crowded buses! Ernst and Gerlinde also arranged lots of interesting activities for their guests, including crossbow shooting in the dungeon.... I' m pleased to report that the British women did not let the side down!
Many thanks to Ernst and Gerlinde for making our stay so memorable. I would recommend the Schloss to anyone wanting a special holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We returned to the Castle for the first time in four years--how wonderful to be back!! Ernst and Gerlinde are tremendous hosts and go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and special. As guests, you feel more like you are staying at someone's warm home than at a hotel. Rooms are well appointed and cozy, and the meals and Austrian wines were fantastic. They always announce and organize a great variety of things to do each day, and they answer every question you have with a smile and great information. Truly magical. We will be back for a fourth Christmas as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had an amazing week with the family Schremp, amazing food, drink and company. I hope to come back and paraglide with Ernst sometime!

Snow was perfect for us, but hope it improves for the rest of the season!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnarShredder535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grobming
12.0 mi away
Hotel Schwaigerhof
Hotel Schwaigerhof
#1 of 4 in Rohrmoos-Untertal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.7 mi away
Natur und Wellnesshotel Hoeflehner
11.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Pichlarn
Romantik Hotel Schloss Pichlarn
#1 of 1 in Aigen im Ennstal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
14.4 mi away
G'sund & Natur Hotel DIE WASNERIN
14.0 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#3 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Thannegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Thannegg

Property: Hotel Schloss Thannegg
Address: Schlossweg 1 | 8962 Gröbming / Michaelerberg, Grobming 8962, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Grobming
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grobming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Thannegg 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to castle Thannegg-Moosheim, the idyllic lying romantically white dream castle in the middle of the Alps, with family-friendly and sporty spirit. Don`t dream your life, live your dreams! The dream of living in an unique Fairytale Castle in the mountains ... Once living like a knight, a princess, a count or countess feel or scare the parents as a castle ghost. These wishes come true during a vacation in our castle Thannegg! Our unique castle is situated in the most magnificent view location in the heart of the Schladming-Dachstein region. Feel castle romantic in the quiet, cozy, warm chambers, the candlelight dinner in the knight room, the cozy sun terrace at the Castle pond or the historic vault from anno 1150th. The many sports activities, the healthy "excellent cuisine" and "enjoyable, fine wines" from the more than 850 year old wine cellar will "inspire" you. Our varied summer and winter program for our castle guests, makes every individual holiday wish come true. Our castle is an ideal starting point for hiking and relaxing, adventure paragliding, motorbike and mountain biking, Old- and Youngtimer- trips, golf safaris, family adventure holidays for children and teenagers or for cuddly romantics. Experience Ski amadé - health and fitness activities additionally the unique over 100 inclusives of the free Summer Card from June to October which can be used for almost the entire infrastructure of the holiday region free of charge: mountain railway (also the Dachstein Glacier Railway incl. Sky Walk), transfers, toll roads, water parks, swimming pools and bathing lakes, leisure and adventure parks, museums, walking tours, family, children's and teen action... In winter, we give you a free shuttle to the Ski Amadé 4-mountain ski area, the Hauser-Kaibling / World Cup ski resort Schladming-Planai in only 9 minutes. Fulfill your winter wonderland in the castle with Alpine Skiing, Nordic & Snowboarding! Live action in Ski Amade with 860 km of slopes, 270 lifts and 360 different trails. Our unique vacation packages and other hotel offers are on our hotel website. We look forward to welcome you at our holiday castle! Your family Schrempf and the good castle ghosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schloss Thannegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing