We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski holiday”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tux
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I have been skiing together for over 20 years each year and have visited many ski resorts all over Europe. We like to have a quiet small hotel with confortable rooms and good food.
Sonne not only provided a friendly homely environment but the breakfast and dinners were varied and excellent. The rooms were clean and kept like that throughout our stay of 6 nights. This is a family hotel and we were treated very well.by all members of the family. The location is up a hill some 250 metres from the bus to the glacier (Hintertux) and a main gondola lift to the higer ski areas. Even at 66 and 63 years old respectively we found no problem in walking up or down if we decided not to use the minibus service provided. It took a mere 5 minutes. Anyone complaining that the minibus was available for them at their convenience should learn to use the legs provided to them. Overall it was a pleasure to stay here and was excellent value for money and we hope for the opportunity of staying again. We hope to use the sauna/spa facilities next time but this time we did not seem to have enough time.

Room Tip: Did not have fitness or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel twice and always enjoyed excellent Service. The family run Hotel makes you feel welcome and not miss home for a moment. Food was excellent and we did enjoy using the Sauna/Spa area. There was a little play area in the back of the hotel for the kids to play and all in all had a pleasant experience. We certainly would like to go back and stay the next summer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The most unwelcoming and rude hosts I ever met!
This was my fifth visit to Austria for ski, and I never had such a bad experience!
If the hotel is full, they only make two taxi rides to the center of the town which is far from enough since the hotel is pretty far from any transportation means;
Dinner - there are only 2 meals to choose from (not 3 as they say) - meals are full of grease and salt, all the soups tastes synthetic;
Breakfast is very poor, only few things to choose from, no vegetables
The Internet station is very uncomfortable.
"a comfortable lounge" is far from comfortable!
And I should not forget to mention... If your child is not a really quiet one the hosts would be really disturbed!
The sauna area is indeed OK but the the rest of things mentioned on their website are not at all close to the reality!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roxana_cocariu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mathias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Benedikt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonneTux, Inhaber at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfgang_nusspickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tux
3.6 mi away
Alpinhotel Berghaus
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pinzger
Hotel Pinzger
#10 of 22 in Tux
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Sonnleiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler
#6 of 8 in Hintertux
98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gasthof Pension Madseiterhof
2.6 mi away
Berggasthaus Hollensteinhutte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Vorderlanersbach 126, Tux 6293, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Tux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tux
Price Range: $126 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing