We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”
Review of Hotel Post am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Post am See
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Pertisau
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is exceptional. The location is fantastic. The food and service were faultless. We were on a Thomson half board deal which means that there is a restricted evening meal menu but there is still a good choice and the food was always excellent.

There are a number of extras that may not be obvious when booking the hotel. The sauna and steam room are free, they provide free wireless internet connection and hiring bikes is also without charge.

Lake Achensee provides plenty of activities for a summer holiday - swimming, cycling, hiking, boat trips. I would recommend the 7 day Achensee Card (54 euros) which allows unlimited trips on the boats, cable cars, steam railway and local buses and entry to various museums.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a great view of the lake but are next to the road into Pertisau and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CamberleyCarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A very nice , family run hotel in a pleasant location. The spa and pool area is very good. Food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMH1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

- meals: excellent. I suggest you taking the half-board. On the evening, you will get rich and tasty meal. Either as a multi-pass menu or a bufet one.
- room: spacious enough for us two. With small balcony and see-view. The only things i have to mention about the room was dropping bib in bathroom and a strong light lighting onto the hotel facade. But they shut it around midnight and since than, there was total dark in the room - i enjoyed it greatly as there are not many such situations in my life when the dark is the same if you open or close your eyes.
- Wellness - outdoor pool with beautiful mountain views. I stayed in the pool when it was raining - again a very different experience when you dive into the water so your eyes are just above the waterlevel and you see every raindrop falling into it... If you go from whir/pool to sauna, you can use the swim-suit-dryer. A practical small thing on the right side of the floor from the inside pool which dries your swimdress so it will not make your things wett when you leave them in sauna.
- hiking: we are hikers and as we stayed only for 4 days, we just hat to argue where we'll go each day - there are so many ways. Marked and for everybody - from small loops around the hotel to a long ones for very experienced hikers. Once we used the cableway onto a near hill where the paragliders were taking-off, the other day we hiked 900 ltitude meters and back.....

Nice stay i a friendly hotel. I would recomend to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_trvlr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We are both vegetarians (one with a nut allergy) and stayed for a week. Every evening we were presented with a different delicious meal. We would definately recommend the food! Our room was spacious and the staff were friendly. We also went on a segway tour which we really enjoyed a lot. They have a inside and outside pool with a gorgeous view. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zalaegerszeg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We traveld from Hungary and spent a week with our 4 month old baby there and were very satisfied with the hotel services. You have everything what you need for an excellent holiday or even more...:-) Kitchen is very good as well! What we liked specially the outdoor pool, was unforgetable that we were swimming on the fresh air by 14 degrees , wonderful mountains around....
There are lot of possibilities there and around to use your time and spend an active holiday.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire, South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks from the end of June '09 and could not fault the hotel - great, tasty, wide variety of food (and plenty of it!), beautiful room with a lovely modern bathroom (and a handbasin each!), a lovely seating area with a comfortable sofa and fantastic views over the mountains!! Who could ask for more? The location is just perfect, with the lake just across the road from the front of the hotel, and situated at the less busy end of Pertisau. We loved the peace and quiet of the nights - no blaring music from local bars. Bliss!! An added bonus was the free packed lunch which was a special offer at the hotel. We were able to take a selection from the breakfast buffet for this purpose. The staff were very helpful and attentive throughout the hotel. The maid was excellent - our room was kept spotlessly clean, and was always ready as soon as breakfast was over!
The breakfast buffet was delicious - a variety of cereals, tasty juices, large bowls of fruit salad, nuts, cheese board, delicious variety of bread and bread rolls, a REAL toaster, a yoghourt variety, with various jams/marmalade, croissants, and cakes. There was also a separate area with bacon, pate, cold meats, salads, boiled eggs. Here there was also a chef in attendance who made hot cooked breakfasts and omelettes to order!
The evening meal was an experience! Five courses every night consisting of a salad buffet, a starter, choice of two soups, choice of three mains including vegetarian and a choice of dessert or cheese board. All delicious!
The location offers such a wide variety of activities! Achensee region has a wonderful offer where you get a card from the hotel which you take to the tourist information or to the cable car office, and they issue a card which allows you to: ride the ferries around the lake; go on the old steam train to Jenbach; go up on the two cable cars either side of the lake; and ride the buses in the region, all free!! All unlimited use for the duration of your stay. Considering the ferry ride - just once around the lake- costs 14 euros per person, this is really a very good deal indeed. We saved a lot of money and enjoyed the freedom of using these facilities over and over!
If you decide to visit the area, I would recommend a trip to the Hintertux glacier. For me this was the highlight of the holiday. It cost just 20 euros for the bus, but another 22 euros to ride the three gondolas up to the glacier. However, since this was our first visit to Austria, and having never seen a glacier before, it was a truly magical experience sunbathing at the bottom, and to be out in the snow at the top! Well worth it!!
I had waited many years - 53 to be exact - to make this visit to Austria, and it lived up to my expectations, and exceeded them by far. The location and the Hotel Post are highly recommended for ALL ages.
I almost forgot to mention the pools at the hotel!! They were WARM!! I enjoyed going into the water to splash around for the first time for many, many years. I HATE pools with cold water, and would go back to this hotel just for the warm pools alone! Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor pools were all beautifully warm! The hotel also provided every guest - not just the ones in superior rooms - with a robe. There was also a spinner which was simple and quick to use, and which made carrying a soaking wet bathing costume back to the room to dry a thing of the past! Great! Fabulous hotel and fabulous location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Everyone has mentioned this hotel in the winter but i would like to recommend it as a summer vacation.The hotel has a fantastic site opposite the lake and just a short walk to the main town.We went for 10 days in June and had fantastic weather.There was snow on the mountains when we arrived which made swimming in the heated outside pool with its view of all the surrounding mountains an absolute joy.The snow soon disappeared as the days got warmer and transfomed the scenery to alpine meadows which was no less picturesque.We hired an electric buggy for a couple of afternoons and went into the heart of the mountains.Everyone waved as we went by at a sedate 10k,s an hour.My husband even got us to the top of one mountain with me clinging on for dear life.They also have a road train that takes you up there and a vintage coach that will take you into the heart of the mountains.There is not a lot of nightlife but if you have been out all day you will probably find like us that a couple of drinks either in the bar or your room that you will fall into bed with a smile on your face.As they say "its a hard life in the mountains but not hopeless."My favourite country ever and i defy anyone not to have a good time.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pertisau hotels
0.1 mi away
Entners am See
Entners am See
#6 of 20 in Pertisau
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
0.2 mi away
Travel Charme Fuerstenhaus am Achensee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Wellnesshotel Karwendel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rieser Aktiv & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
The Pfandler
The Pfandler
#10 of 20 in Pertisau
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post am See

Property: Hotel Post am See
Address: Pertisau 82, Pertisau, Eben am Achensee 6213, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Eben am Achensee > Pertisau
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pertisau
#7 Spa Hotel in Pertisau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pertisau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pertisau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Post am See 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Post am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Am See Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing