We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vegetarian food! Friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Post am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Post am See
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Pertisau
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food! Friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We are both vegetarians (one with a nut allergy) and stayed for a week. Every evening we were presented with a different delicious meal. We would definately recommend the food! Our room was spacious and the staff were friendly. We also went on a segway tour which we really enjoyed a lot. They have a inside and outside pool with a gorgeous view. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zalaegerszeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We traveld from Hungary and spent a week with our 4 month old baby there and were very satisfied with the hotel services. You have everything what you need for an excellent holiday or even more...:-) Kitchen is very good as well! What we liked specially the outdoor pool, was unforgetable that we were swimming on the fresh air by 14 degrees , wonderful mountains around....
There are lot of possibilities there and around to use your time and spend an active holiday.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire, South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks from the end of June '09 and could not fault the hotel - great, tasty, wide variety of food (and plenty of it!), beautiful room with a lovely modern bathroom (and a handbasin each!), a lovely seating area with a comfortable sofa and fantastic views over the mountains!! Who could ask for more? The location is just perfect, with the lake just across the road from the front of the hotel, and situated at the less busy end of Pertisau. We loved the peace and quiet of the nights - no blaring music from local bars. Bliss!! An added bonus was the free packed lunch which was a special offer at the hotel. We were able to take a selection from the breakfast buffet for this purpose. The staff were very helpful and attentive throughout the hotel. The maid was excellent - our room was kept spotlessly clean, and was always ready as soon as breakfast was over!
The breakfast buffet was delicious - a variety of cereals, tasty juices, large bowls of fruit salad, nuts, cheese board, delicious variety of bread and bread rolls, a REAL toaster, a yoghourt variety, with various jams/marmalade, croissants, and cakes. There was also a separate area with bacon, pate, cold meats, salads, boiled eggs. Here there was also a chef in attendance who made hot cooked breakfasts and omelettes to order!
The evening meal was an experience! Five courses every night consisting of a salad buffet, a starter, choice of two soups, choice of three mains including vegetarian and a choice of dessert or cheese board. All delicious!
The location offers such a wide variety of activities! Achensee region has a wonderful offer where you get a card from the hotel which you take to the tourist information or to the cable car office, and they issue a card which allows you to: ride the ferries around the lake; go on the old steam train to Jenbach; go up on the two cable cars either side of the lake; and ride the buses in the region, all free!! All unlimited use for the duration of your stay. Considering the ferry ride - just once around the lake- costs 14 euros per person, this is really a very good deal indeed. We saved a lot of money and enjoyed the freedom of using these facilities over and over!
If you decide to visit the area, I would recommend a trip to the Hintertux glacier. For me this was the highlight of the holiday. It cost just 20 euros for the bus, but another 22 euros to ride the three gondolas up to the glacier. However, since this was our first visit to Austria, and having never seen a glacier before, it was a truly magical experience sunbathing at the bottom, and to be out in the snow at the top! Well worth it!!
I had waited many years - 53 to be exact - to make this visit to Austria, and it lived up to my expectations, and exceeded them by far. The location and the Hotel Post are highly recommended for ALL ages.
I almost forgot to mention the pools at the hotel!! They were WARM!! I enjoyed going into the water to splash around for the first time for many, many years. I HATE pools with cold water, and would go back to this hotel just for the warm pools alone! Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor pools were all beautifully warm! The hotel also provided every guest - not just the ones in superior rooms - with a robe. There was also a spinner which was simple and quick to use, and which made carrying a soaking wet bathing costume back to the room to dry a thing of the past! Great! Fabulous hotel and fabulous location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Everyone has mentioned this hotel in the winter but i would like to recommend it as a summer vacation.The hotel has a fantastic site opposite the lake and just a short walk to the main town.We went for 10 days in June and had fantastic weather.There was snow on the mountains when we arrived which made swimming in the heated outside pool with its view of all the surrounding mountains an absolute joy.The snow soon disappeared as the days got warmer and transfomed the scenery to alpine meadows which was no less picturesque.We hired an electric buggy for a couple of afternoons and went into the heart of the mountains.Everyone waved as we went by at a sedate 10k,s an hour.My husband even got us to the top of one mountain with me clinging on for dear life.They also have a road train that takes you up there and a vintage coach that will take you into the heart of the mountains.There is not a lot of nightlife but if you have been out all day you will probably find like us that a couple of drinks either in the bar or your room that you will fall into bed with a smile on your face.As they say "its a hard life in the mountains but not hopeless."My favourite country ever and i defy anyone not to have a good time.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank esmerelda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Hotel Post am See is a marvellous place to stay. We had mid January 2009 a great DeLuxe room in the utmost left corner of the 2nd floor with lake view. Although not shown on their site with panoramic views of the rooms, probably because of the corner location, this room has a bathroom only with shower and toilet with a small door entrance to the bathroom. However, that did not bother us to enjoy the beautiful room and it's amazing view over the lake from the spacious balcony. In our half board program we experienced a great breakfast buffet with a variety of warm bread, toast and croissants, live cooking (scrambled) eggs with ham or 'speck', and anything you would like for a sweet or meat topic on your bread. The other breakfast choices of yoghurt with or without fruits and cerials, coffee or a wide choises of teas complete the start of the day while overlooking the lake and meanwhile reading the weather forecast and the dinner menu with three choises (also vegetarian). Any choise you make for the dinner is worth while. As a matter of fact the four course dinner was sometimes for our stomachs a bit too much. So occasionally we skipped a course. The serving staff at breakfast and dinner in short days knew how to feel us at home. On some nights there is entertainment, like a music or a casino with a lottery. As a matter of fact we won some local Stone Oil souvenir. And as we are ski beginners this haven of real enjoy, with a spa, indoor and outdoor pool and sauna is a great place to start explore the closeby mountains. The room staff as at the front desk are superb.

  • Liked — the room, the view, the food, the staff, the pool and sauna area, skiing to the hotel
  • Disliked — I can not say.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan_Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We booked our stay in the Post hotel for two reasons- 1. it was mentioned in the Chalet School books which were the reason we were visiting Pertisau and 2. the staff seemed very helpful and friendly when dealing with them on the phone and email.

We booked a suite with half board which was approx 200 euros a night. The food was delicious with a different main offered each night along with an extensive salad buffet, soup, dessert choice and cheese platter. Breakfast also had hot options such as bacon & eggs as well as cereals, fruits, yoghurt, many bread types, fresh jams and cheeses.

We requested a lake view suite and were given one with a balcony facing directly on to the lake with stunning views to the south (Maurach) and north (Achenseehof).

The room itself had a double bed frame with two twin beds inside it (common in europe but not always comfortable), a separate living area with table, love seat etc, an ample, well lit bathroom and separate toilet and a vanity mirror with a tall cupboard next to it. The balcony was quite large with a small table, rocking chair and two wooden chairs also.

Note: most hotels in this area do not have airconditioning but it's usually unnecessary anyway. We were there at the end of june/beginning of july and it was still very cold at night and one of the days when it rained nonstop it was absolutely freezing! There is no fridge in the room but you can get a mini bar from the reception. It is free unless you want them to stock it with drinks for you.

The approximate age of the other guests was well over 70 which did make myself and my boyfriend feel a bit out of place (being 26 and 31 respectively) however since we didn't intend joining any hotel activities it didn't really matter.

The indoor & outdoor pools are heated and fairly small- probably 10m but water is lovely and the view from the outside pool over the mountains is nice too.

The hotel is situated right on the lakefront and within easy walking distance to the main points any visitor is likely to need- ferry terminal, karwendelbahn (cable car), shops & tourist information.

We loved our stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The food, old fashioned decor, comfort and proximity to everything, view from our balcony
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kavi_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2006

For Chalet school book lovers, I recommend a trip to Pertisau the "Briesau" of the books. It's a lovely big blue lake as described in the books and is surrounded by mountains. Again, just as described in the books there's a sweet little steamer that chugs across the lake and the steam train takes you down to Jenbach, the town below. I stayed at the Hotel Post in Pertisau. Its a big hotel with a charming old wooden dining room where they served delicious food. They had a smallish indoor pool and an outdoor pool but it's right on the lake so you can swim there too. The views from the hotel are good, especially if you ask for a lake view room & you will get a balcony. The rooms are slightly dated, especially the bathrooms with brown tiles but everything works. Sadly I was given a room which had a partitioned off kitchen inside. The kitchen got the window instead of the bedroom so it was a bit dark. Also there werent any English speaking tv channels. But the service, food and wonderful location made up for that. You can go for wonderful walks along the lake shore or climb up into the hills (its possible to take one of two cable cars up & save your energy for the walk down)

Helpful?
16 Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pertisau hotels
0.2 mi away
Travel Charme Fuerstenhaus am Achensee
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
0.1 mi away
Entners am See
Entners am See
#6 of 20 in Pertisau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rieser Aktiv & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
The Pfandler
The Pfandler
#9 of 20 in Pertisau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Wellnesshotel Karwendel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post am See

Property: Hotel Post am See
Address: Pertisau 82, Pertisau, Eben am Achensee 6213, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Eben am Achensee > Pertisau
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pertisau
#7 Spa Hotel in Pertisau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pertisau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pertisau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Post am See 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Post am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Am See Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing