We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Value for your money!”
Review of Hotel Konradin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Konradin
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kuhtai
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We arrived from Toronto Canada in Innsbruck on December 24 at 10am and got picked up by the local taxi service, the driver was waiting with a sign in the Airport. The drive to the hotel was no problem, the driver pleasant. The hotel staff was friendly and we were showed to our room, which was the first disappointment, not at all what we expected. It was small and dark, the TV sat on a dresser next to the bed, so watching TV from the bed was nearly impossible, the bathroom was so small that only one person could be in it at a time and would bang elbows in the wall when blowdrying hair. Only a tub with a shower head mounted to the wall that was so low I had to wash my hair with the showerhead in one hand. The blowdryer only worked when holding the power button down during blow drying, very annoying...specially because this was the only blow dryer I could use as all my equipment is on 110 V and wouldn't work over there. No mini fridge in the room which we then requested and they put it in our room free of charge, just the drinks had to be paid for sure.
The pool and spa including the different saunas were very nice, the water was nice and warm and we used the hottub alot after skiing. Negative was, that only 3 out of the 5 Saunas worked and couldn't get the other two to work. Apparently there was a technical issue.
The Christmas Eve dinner was 7 Courses and took about 3 hours...far to long, specially when you travel with kids, the food was hit and miss, some courses were ok, but you needed a magnifying glass to find the food on your plate...small small portions, nothing for somebody that has been on the slopes all day and wants a good Austrian hearty meal at night...they were trying french cuisine but it did not work at all. One night almost the hole restaurant was upset because the food was so bad and the portions so small that the waiter came with a bottle of Snaps and glasses to calm everybody down. Lots of people went to kids buffet which was either fishsticks with fries, chicken with fries or Spaghetti Bolognese! Rotating every three days, my daughter was so sick of it after 9 days, looking foward to McDonalds (which we maybe eat once a year!) at the airport in Frankfurt on our way home! One night my husband ordered potatoes with salmon, well there was a tablespoon of mushy potatoes on his plate with a teaspoon of salmon. I took the plate and went to the front desk with it to complain to the owner...she stomped off to the kitchen with it "to take care of this issue". 10 minutes later the same meal came, exactly the same!! We complained again and got a bottle of wine and a free fondue that we had booked for my birthday. The fondue was really good, pretty much the only good meal we had all week in the hotel. One afternoon we ordered from the afternoon menu in the bar and got really good food as well, that actually came out of the same kitchen then the evening dinners that are prepaid with the half pension. We are not picky eaters at all and had excellent meals for lunch in 4 different restaurants in the village or chalets on the slopes. We heard during our stay that the whole staff of this hotel left 2 days before the season started and they had to find new cooks and waiters etc. in a very short period of time, maybe that was the issue with the poor food and slow service. Anyway, the positive was that the hotel was close to the slopes, you can buy your skipass right at the lobby which is very convenient. Watch your bills for drinks that you have them put on your room during the day. Check and make sure you remember what you had, one night we had 2 glasses of Champagne and a pack of cigarettes as well as 4 extra beers on our bill that we never consumed! The waiter took those items of the bill no problem but if you don't check you pay for other peoples drinks!
I know I don't have a lot of good to say about this place, but when you pay 300 Euros for a night for 2 people (incl. half pension which means breakfast and dinner) you expect a bit more!
Try a different place, we heard that the Moritz is pretty good, also a 4 star, right on the slopes so no walking to the lifts at all and apparently good food.
Enjoy your vacation in Kuehtai, great place, beautiful skiing and panorama, always good snow!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooke2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 52 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2010

I have just returned form a weeks skiing holiday at the Konradin, Kuhtai. I orginally booked the Astoria (as it had been recommended by friends) through Inghams who later changed us to the Konradin without explanation. W had a 6am flight from Gatwick and arrived at the hotel at 11am local time - we received a warm welcome and were told our room was ready which was a great relief to us as we were very tired after a 2am start. The room was very pleasant, the decor was a little tired but we had bathrobes and slippers and towels for the swimming pool and sauna. Good quality toiletries were also provided in the bathroom. Due to our early arrival we were able to sort out our lift passes and ski's, enjoy a glass of wine at a local cafe and use the pool and sauna before our 5 course dinner in the restuarant (we were half board). Unfortunately, the guests in the room next door were a little noisy and had their tv on full blast at all hours and after a really bad nights sleep I asked reception if we could change our room. The staff were very accomodating and found us a quieter room which turned out to be better than the one we had before with a bath as well as a shower and a balcony. It was also away from the lift shaft - I could hear the lift going up and down in the first room. The evening meal was two courses too many, for me the salad buffet, main course and dessert would have been plenty - there was also cheese and bread if you wanted it - there was a choice of the main course only but always good quality. We did feel rushed some nights though, and I'm afraid this is my biggest gripe with restaurants in general. As soon as we finished one course, the plates were whisked away and the next one immediately appeared. We asked the waiter to give us a break between courses which was not a problem, and at least two of the courses you went and helped yourself - the soup course (often cold though and not intentionally) and the salad buffet so we were able to pace ourselves. I did notice other guests whizzing through 5 courses within an hour of sitting down at their table and I'm not sure if this was because they enjoyed eating quickly or if they felt oliged to get through it as fast as possible. The breakfasts were really good, a huge choice of hot and cold buffet - fruit, yogurt, cereals, sausages and bacon , all the usuals you would expect from a four star hotel. The coffee was also good qaulity and a whole pot was brought to our table every morning which was a really nice touch. We used the pool every day, the spa area looked very new and modern and alot of money had clearly been spent on it. It did, however, get busy around 4.30pm after the ski lifts had closed. My only other gripe with the hotel was that our room was very hot and stuffy and we didn't sleep so well. We had to open all the windows and the balcony door to cool the room down so that we could sleep. We came to Kuhtai for the skiing of course, and the resort has a snow sure record because of its high altitude. Our trip however, seemed to clash with the Austrian school holidays and the lift queues could get very busy (not the 'queue free lifts' that the brochure had pormised), the slopes were also very busy and having been used to skiing in Scandinavia we found the runs rather challenging. We had good weather though and most days were sunny with blue skies. There is not much of a village, the resort had a man made feel to it and it did lack character. However, this is a good, small ski resort with surprisingly challenging runs. I would recommened the Konradin as a good base, the slopes are only a very short walk away, the staff are very helpful and the food is of good qaulity (but be prepared to eat fast) with comfortable rooms and a very pleasant spa.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
71
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank wekegi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank AlexanderUelhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Laurent_110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuhtai hotels
0 mi away
Alpenresidenz Mooshaus
0.2 mi away
AlpinLodges Kuhtai
AlpinLodges Kuhtai
#5 of 9 in Kuhtai
19 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Astoria Kuhtai
Hotel Astoria Kuhtai
#2 of 9 in Kuhtai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 9 in Kuhtai
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Kuehtai
Sporthotel Kuehtai
#8 of 9 in Kuhtai
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kuhtaier Schlossl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konradin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konradin

Address: Kuhtai 6183, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kuhtai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kuhtai
Price Range: $303 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konradin 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Konradin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing