We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elisabeth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AlpinLodges Kuhtai(Kuhtai)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
83
21
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
21
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinghams repafternoon teared runscakesbefore dinnerski schoolchair liftsoupskiing holidaynursery slopescouldn't do enoughthe hotel manageraustrian airlineslift passesfree busporridgecheeseboard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 112 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in kuhtai at the chalet hotel Elizabeth (Inghams run).

The great thing about this resort/hotel is the transfer- just 45mins from the airport so even our early morning return flight did not seem that bad.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by smiling chalet hosts and the manager. We were swiftly checked in and then offered a cooked meal (stew or sandwiches) which impressed our party, as we arrived very late in the evening.
We were taken to our rooms which were clean, tidy and 2/3 were vast. I think two couples in our party were upgraded as our room had two beds and two toilets which was a lovely surprise. The bathrooms were clean, included a small hairdryer but no toiletries. We all had a balcony, ours faced straight onto the mountain and the nursery slope.
On the night of our arrival Simon our host, ensured that we had our lift passes and informed us about the location of the ski hire shop (50m max from hotel)- this was very useful as we were all set to go on our first skiing day.

Breakfasts were great- eggs (hard boiled), fresh rolls, toast, fresh cut fruit, yogurts, cereal, ham, cheese, fruit juice, tea, coffee. There is also a hot option daily e.g. Pancakes or porridge or bacon, sausage and egg. This was a nice touch.
We opted for sandwiches daily, these were tasty but towards the end of the holiday got a bit repetitive.
Afternoon tea started at 4pm- this was a lovely treat after a long day skiing. The options included soup, bread, savoury bites and 2-3 cake options. Tea and coffee was on offer throughout the day which also was a nice touch as you could have a tea break in the middle of the day.
Dinner started at 6.45pm. This was started off by canapés and an aperitif (a different one daily). Dinner was served at 7.15pm. There was always plenty of choice on the menu. An example of typical menu would be: carrot and coriander fritters,
Duck with potatoes, apple strudel. Our party enjoyed the desserts the most. There was always a cheese board and tea/coffee offered after the meal. The selection of cheeses were lovely however as we were a party of 6, we had one board to share between us- we felt 2 boards would have been better as portion sizes were a little restricted- although this may have been accommodated if we had of requested it.
Wine is complementary at dinner and Dan is very attentive in filling up your glass- you won't go short.

1 day out if the 7 (Wednesday), the chalet staff have a night off- this means no afternoon tea, no housekeeping, no evening meal. We booked a meal at the Dorfstadl- at the end of the village and were not disappointed. The food however did take a while to arrive but we put this down to the fact that this seemed to be one of their busiest nights. There was live music planned- (tyrolean) and so during dinner the entertainment was great. We were most impressed by the Austrian dancers- (the audience). It was a really enjoyable evening. This is the same day that night skiing is available- but we did not make it as it was snowing heavily.

Now onto the day skiing - kuhtai is a great place for intermediate skiers/boarders. If you are a beginner I think you would get bored quickly doing the one blue nursery slope day in day out, or scare yourself silly if you venture further onto the mountain. The runs are mostly red with a few blacks. We had plenty of snow when we were there, so we did not have to contend with too much ice. The lifts are plentiful- mainly chair and drag. We hardly qued for a lift which was lovely. The location of the hotel itself is superb- it is definitely ski to door. The first lift is approx 25m from the hotel ski storage area. There are not many mountain restaurants- we counted 3. They were welcoming just the same.

One day we swapped our skis for snowboards free of charge, the ski hire shop were most obliging. One of the Inghams staff, Becky also made time to give us a few pointers.

One of our party did not ski and therefore she had to busy herself with walking mainly. At first this was easy but towards the end of the week, it became a little repetitive. This highlights that kuhtai itself is not that big. We were all looking forward to the toboggan run but were disappointed by the shallow incline. There are also very few shops in kuhtai- one tabac (very pricey) and the rest ski clothes shops. All the same it is very quaint and fine if your are prepared for it.

On the whole we had a wonderful time skiing in kuhtai- chalet hotel Elizabeth was a great base and outstanding value for money. We will all consider returning again.

Thank you Inghams team!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Elsie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dear trip advisor. We have just arrived back from a very good skiing holiday in Kuthai. The flight was short, the transfer shorter and the slopes are on your doorstep!

On arrival to hotel Elizabeth we were immediately greater by friendly staff who carried our luggage from the bus and served us a hot meal all at 10pm, lift passes were also provided.

Hotel
- positives 1. Ski to door 2. Cheap 3. Friendly staff 4. Regular meals, packed lunch daily 5. Unlimited wine with evening meals:)

Negatives - as the hotel was run by Inghams it lacked any authentic Austrian charm offered by other hotels (no lederhosen's in sight) the hotel staff have one day off, but they were all off at the same time, the hotel was full of used cups, plates and untidy by the end of the day, maybe a rota system would work better?

Food was ok. The breakfast was great, lunch repetitive and the evening meals were hit or miss (desserts hit mains miss)

Skiing

Positives - amazing long runs, we'll kept pistes and the off piste is excellent, no queues. Loved it!!!
Negative - the only negative is for beginners there is a very limited amount of blue runs as mentioned by other reviewers. My point is this always check the piste map before booking its clear this is an intermediate resort so this is not really a negative point

Après ski - doesn't really exist
One expensive tabac shop, lots of ski shops.

Would we come back? Yes it was amazing value for money and you get more here than what you pay for.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a fab week in Kuhtai. Right from the start things went well; from the Air Austria flight, which was very good, to our transfer and then the arrival in Kuhtai. We were amazed at the quality of the hotel as we were expecting a chalet similar to ones we have stayed at in France. This is not a chalet! The place was spotless, rooms a very generous size and the food and service were as good as you could expect anywhere. The hotel staff were superb and it was genuinely refreshing to see that there are such people of their generation. They seemed to take such a pride in their job and were genuinely interesting and interested people.
The food in the hotel was first class and after choosing our following night's meal we would look forward to it for 24 hours!
This hotel is family friendly and seats the children at 5.30 and adults at 7.15. Personally we thought this a good idea but could see some parent’s point that they wanted to eat with their kids. The staff were very sympathetic and managed to work out compromises to suit everyone. Our only downside to the week was one particular family who had no control, and didn't seem to want to have any, over their children whom it was apparent were annoying most of the rest of the guests. This was a shame as the majority of the kids were really well behaved.
As with some previous reviews do take with you what you need as the shop in the village is a joke, 5 euros for a pack of maltesers!
The skiing was also excellent as we had not realised our ski pass entitled us to use the sister resort of Hochoetz which was available on the free ski bus. The resort is probably not too good for beginners with very few blues but saying that it is very uncrowded so you have plenty of time to put in lots of turns and not feel pressured on the slopes.
Overall we had a super holiday and would highly recommend Inghams and this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pigmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived in Kuhtai on the 15th of December travelling with my two teenage children and my husband. The hotel was clean and welcoming with large rooms and excellent views of the slopes from the balcony. We had three days of ski lessons which were excellent. Dominic and Bernie our instructors were patient, encouraging and fun and made full use of all the facilities which catered for both my daughter and I, who were in the intermediate group as well as my husband and son who were in the beginner group. The staff all worked very hard and were very friendly and tried to cater for all our needs. The food improved throughout the week as the staff were new to the hotel and any problems were quickly rectified. Afternoon tea was very much appreciated with soup and an assortment of cakes which were served in the lounge creating a lovely environment to socialise with the other guests. This continued during aperitifs at the bar before dinner where the bar man Dan made excellent cocktails. Overall we had a great Holiday in Kuhtai, great skiing including night skiing which came free and excellent snow without the crowds. Our only complaint wouldn't be with the hotel but with the tour operator, Inghams, who we travelled with who were solely responsible for the complete disorganisation and chaos which lead to a twelve hour delay for us in returning home (and we got off lightly). It would put us off travelling with them again.

Stayed: December 2012
7  Thank Macnally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Chalet Hotel Elisabeth surpassed our expectations. We have just spent Christmas in Kuhtai and had the time of our lives, thanks to the professional, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Cora, the manager, and Jack, her assistant. Cora's husband is the chef and all of the meals were delicious. We were pleased to sample the canapes every evening and try a different aperitif before dinner, freshly shaken by Dan. All of the staff were friendly with the children and they all made the effort to speak to their guests at every opportunity, checking to see if everything was ok and if there was anything else they could do for us.
The rooms in the hotel are spacious and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the slopes and the church. The lounge proved to be a popular place for guests to relax and socialise after skiing, whilst drinking tea and coffee provided for the guests and eating a selection of freshly baked cakes. There was often soup on offer too which was well received.
Cora and our Inghams rep Simon, organised an evening meal for us at one of the mountain restaurants followed by a 2.5km floodlit toboggan run back down. This was a very entertaining evening and it was enjoyed by many of the guests from the Chalet Hotel Elisabeth.
The ski area is great for intermediates and the scenery is spectacular. Skiing at night down the floodlit slopes behind the hotel was a highlight for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LG142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews